We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Sandi's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
103 Fairy Springs Road., Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

This place was quite a surprise. The street appeal is not good. Busy street, truck filling up the driveway. But then we found the real story. Sandi is probably more nice, friendly, and helpful than any person in New Zealand. We were led to one of the two stand-alone cabins in the rear of her property. The rooms were spectacular and surround a swimming pool that is heated to perfection. Our neighbors in the adjoining room were also wonderful people, and we spent some pool time with them as well as Sandi and Sandi's husband. Breakfast was served to the four of us around the pool -- could not have been nicer.

We made the mistake of asking if we could do some laundry. Not only did Sandi do it for us, but she ironed stuff that has never been touched by an iron before. I had to sneak some dollars in the guestbook because she wouldn't charge me.

Rotorua is a very enjoyable town, and not just because of the thermal activity. Nice restaurants (Lewishams) in downtown, the Rotorua museum, St. Faith's Church, and free concerts in the band stand on Sunday in front of the museum. But the main attraction was the fun and hospitality that we enjoyed at Sandi's.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
41
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed two nights at Sandi's B&B in Rotorua. Whilst we may have stayed at more sophisticated accommodation during our NZ visit, our stay at Sandi's was the most memorable. The self-contained accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything we could need. Breakfast of was lovely. We were invited to use the swimming pool as if it was our own. What really made this place stand out was Sandi herself. She is a lovely lady and imparted her knowledge of the area to us which proved invaluable and sent us to local places we woldn't have found ourselves. She asked us to leave any washing we wanted doing and when we came back in the evening it has even been ironed. She really couldn't do enough. If you're looking for affordable accommodation with that little bit extra then give Sandi's a try.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Sandi's B&B is a lovely, comfortable place on the outskirts of Rotorua. When we arrived Sandi was away looking after her elderly mother who had just had an operation. We were greeted by the charming Mike (husband) and the lovely Chelsea (daughter) as well as the black cat, Sooty. There are a number of cats at Sandi's - the friendly ones come and sit on the chalet veranda and accept some petting and spoiling if you are in the mood for them. Inside the decor is comfortable, there is a queen sized bed, bar fridge, TV, reverse cycle AC, table & chairs and plenty of room for bags, as well as lots of storage. The ensuite was clean and the shower was adequate. Breakfast is served at a pre-arranged time and consists of juice, fruit, cereal, bread for toasting. Tea, coffee & milk are available any time you wish. There is a lovely inground swimming pool and the garden is full of interest reflecting Sandi's love for it. When Sandi arrived home she could not do enough to assist us. She was full of suggestions for places of interest to visit and was just so gracious and welcoming. The B&B is set on a busy road and the entrance is a little tricky but the chalets are at the back of the block behind the main house and therefore very quiet. Recommended for those who don't want the anonymous and sterile atmosphere of a large hotel or motel.

  • Liked — Eclectic and interesting - very homely feel but not daggy or dirty. Sandi & family are gorgeous
  • Disliked — If pushed to give a negative I'd say the shower wasn't great
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Okay - so if you are seeking the anonimity of a Motel 8 you shouldn't stay here. But if you want a kind and attentive host who is interested in ensuring that you have the most enjoyable possible stay and that you see the best of the area, then this definitely IS the place for you. The lovely cabins are comfortable and homely and Sandi is a generous hostess. Her breakfasts are delicious and brought to the room at a pre arranged time, and she does indeed do your washing which is fantastic if you are on a road trip around the island. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

What are your hopes for accommodation? Well mine are usually
clean, tidy and safe. I simply was blown away by the lovely Sandi, and her family.
Now, I travelled solo and I was thoroughly informed of all the
must see and do according to my taste. Moreover, I was given a mini tour of some of the highlights of the area such as Kuirau Park, the Polynesian Spa, the Museum of Art and Culture and the Redwood Forest Trail. Since the public transportation stops at 6pm. I was given a special late pick up by Sandi herself.
The breakfast was big and again catered to my dietary specification.
The lodging was very clean, warm and cosy. A daily chat with a cuppa was in order to see how the wandering visitor was coping.
Finally, just to quote a famous person "I'll be back" for some more of that pampering spirit.
Sandi please save a bed for me! Jennifer

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

As we drove up to Sandi's B&B we thought we may have made a mistake. The main entrance is off a main highway and it is very conjusted in the front and difficult to park.

But first impressions are not always right. When you meet Sandi you will know why. She was one of the nicest people we met on our trip. Very helpful and gave us many travel tips. The price of the cottages is also very reasonable.

The rooms are actually small cottages behind the main building and are new and very confortable. We did not hear any road noise in the evening. She has a pool for your use and the very generous continental breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning.

All in all it was a very pleasant surpise and we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Sandi
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This B&B is very clean and comfortable and an excellent value. Sandi is a wonderful host and does everything to please her guests. As soon as we arrived, she offered to do our laundry (for free) and had many helpful suggestions regarding things to do. The B&B is well located, close to the gondola and the Agrodome (worth seeing) and a short car ride into town.

  • Liked — Owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 103 Fairy Springs Road., Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandi's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.