We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Coachman Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Caldwell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for 7 nights and we couldn't be happier. Our Hosts, Matthew and Aggie, were absolutely the best. They would do anything to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I had a very dirty car and Matthew even let me use his Power Washer to wash my car. I have never been to a hotel to motel that would let me do this. Our room was large and very clean with all the necessary amenities and then some. The room had a small kitchen equipped with all the necessary utensils and kitchen supplies. The bathroom was very large with separate shower and a very large, deep jacuzzi tub, big enough for four people though the room was for two, plus all the hot water you could possibly use. An outdoor BBQ area with gas grills was provided for guests who wanted to grill outdoors. I did this on one of our days and Matthew even gave me some scallops to BBQ. One day was my wife's birthday and Aggie insisted on wrapping a box of chocolates for her. Matthew was very helpful in providing info, directions and maps to area attractions. We highly recommend this Comfort Inns and Suites Coachman for your next stay in Rotorua. Thank you Matthew and Aggie.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a jacuzzi except one. Sure to reserve one with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi, James,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Glad that you and your wife enjoyed the stay with us. Hope to greet you in your April visit to Shanghai.

Wish all the best in your life and journey!

Sincerely,
Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
29
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Browns Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Mathew and Aggie,
Booked for two nights and stayed for three!!! Great hosts and well done for your excellent efforts. We found our room to be clean and comfortable, didn't want for a thing. Staff very friendly. Morning coffee from your espresso machine, wonderful. Thank you so much for all your help in finding our way around. Good luck in all your ventures. You are amazing, both of you and will do well in life.
Marlene M.
Ps. The only thing I could suggest is that a small table next to the bed in the living area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi, Marlene,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Hope all was well with your car : )

We enjoy helping guests out with the trip planning and finding things to do. Speaking of which, we now know a place to recommend when asked about a boutique store to buy some little special things. Such a shame it haven't come to our knowledge when your girlfriend asked about it. Lol.

We are always keen to listening to our guests because we couldn't spend time in room for long enough to know what is needed. We will definitely work on your suggestion and thank you for this.

Wish all the best to you and your friend!


Sincerely,
Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

When it comes to staying in Rotorua we always like to stay at the Coachman (now comfort Inn).
During our most recent stay (January 2014) we found new owners who were in the process of rejuvenating the rooms. During our last stay we noted that the rooms were in need of an upgrade. So well done to the new owners. Obviously change will take time so we applaude them for their efforts.
Our stay was pleasant and the room we stayed in (unit 19) was clean and tidy and cleaned every day with towel changes daily. (this is a must in any establishment and not always done)
the room had everything one would need, and the staff were friendly approachable and the new owners keen to make our stay a pleasant one,however just a couple of small points to the new owners.

The kitchen could do with a tea towel rail, and the shower could do with a small hook just outside the shower door for ones towel.
On a more pickier note (and this is always a big one with me ,even at home) I would ask your cleaners to lift the centre plug in the shower pan and clean it out once in a while. Our's contained hair and was slow draining.
Apart from these MINOR points we would be more than happy to return to the Comfort Inn.
Martin and Roz Williams
Auckland.

Room Tip: Upstairs units are best, less vehicle and foot traffic past your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us as always and thank you for this review, not only because you recognize our effort, but also most importantly, for the improvement opportunity.

In the meantime, we've already let the cleaning girls know to clean the bath pan plug hole and put this in the regular check list of room readiness. And we will go on to work on the other points you've mentioned. Hopefully, when you come back next time, you will see the changes that you should take credit.

Wish you all the best.

Sincerely,
Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

overall it was a great stay the only thing letting it down was the dirty spa bath but staff were really friendly and would recommend to others. It was a great price i thought it was completely reasonable and really close to town. You dont get the rotorua smell and it is very quiet. Thanks for a good stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for the comment and the recommendation.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the spa pool and please allow us to explain to you that spa pool is maintained on a daily basis with specialized cleaning compound. However, due to the summer time, the breeze will bring leaves and flower seed, settling down in the bottom of the spa pool. We are sorry for this, presenting an untidy and dirty looks. We have bought a portable vacuum to make it easy for the cleaning girls to remove the fallen leaves so as to ensure a clean spa pool for our guest. Once again, thanks for your feedback, which helps us do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed only for one night last week and felt very valued and welcomed. One day trip with some friends and stayed at Comfort Inn. Fresh new furniture in my room and very clean bed sheet and towels which are normally my main concerns staying at motel. New business owner has got them all changed to new. Very helpful owner introduced up hill thermal spring which we have never been and it's a total different and new experience. Owner also provides the BBQ facility if u wanna have a party when staying. And totally felt like staying at home for one night. Owner also tries to update lots of facility and furniture in motel and even made us coffee when checking out. What else can we expect. Definitely highly recommended with the level of service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommendation. We are pleased to hear you and your friends had such a great time at the Comfort Inn Coachman and in Rotorua. We look forward to seeing you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Last minute booking in rotorua over the holiday period. There was some confusion over our room and we didn't quite get the room we wanted but this May have been wotif's fault. Big rooms. Nice spa. Friendly staff. No complaints for the price we paid and would stay again. Cheers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a great time at the Comfort Inn Coachman and you are always welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The lady who checked us in did not speak much; it was like we were a nuisance to her day. When we arrived in the unit, it was spacious and looked good to start with. However, the single bed intended for our child was broken at the base, the dishes were dirty, the toilet and walls in that area needed a really good clean as did the corners of the room. Also a good quality bug spray should have been used; the first thing we noticed were the number of insects on the walls and the large number of webs. The shower head might as well not have been there; it was severely blocked and what water you did get, managed to spray everywhere. The mattresses on both the main bed and pull out sofa bed need replacing; they are both very well worn. For the cost of this room, we would have expected a reasonable standard of care in the maintenance of the unit. The TV size and number of channels were great although as we don't spend a great deal of time watching TV, they are not a necessity for us. The free WIFI was also appreciated although minimal in what you could use. The decor was pleasant and the other furniture was reasonably clean and comfortable. Some much needed tidying up around the property would improve and enhance the whole motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to drop your feedback. It is priceless.
This is Matthew and Aggie, the new owner and host of this motel.
We've just taken over this motel and started a makeover a month ago. We appreciate you've recognized the decor and furniture, which encourages us to continue to shake up the rest of the facilities in the units and around the property, a process we've already been pushing forward. That's why your input is valuable to us to ensure spot clean of the kitchenware, the room and enhance sleep comfort and stay experience.

As an Internet-native owner, we would like to offer boundless wifi. However, it is subject to New Zealand provision of Internet offering at public places. What we can do is to encourage guests to come back to Reception Desk for more data which is free of charge as well.


Again, sorry for not living up to your expectation. Hope that you could come back sometime later to check out the progress and share with us another piece of valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman

Address: 335 Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Coachman Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decored 19 spacious private Spa pool suite and studio units with full-sized kitchenett. Free large BBQ lawn. iPhone/Android music dock station and FREE WI-FI. Stay connected or unplugged! Caring hosts stand ready to help plan trip in and beyond Rotorua with a complimentary cup of NESPRESSO capsule coffee available upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.