We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Coachman Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good value stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Last minute booking in rotorua over the holiday period. There was some confusion over our room and we didn't quite get the room we wanted but this May have been wotif's fault. Big rooms. Nice spa. Friendly staff. No complaints for the price we paid and would stay again. Cheers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a great time at the Comfort Inn Coachman and you are always welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
29
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The lady who checked us in did not speak much; it was like we were a nuisance to her day. When we arrived in the unit, it was spacious and looked good to start with. However, the single bed intended for our child was broken at the base, the dishes were dirty, the toilet and walls in that area needed a really good clean as did the corners of the room. Also a good quality bug spray should have been used; the first thing we noticed were the number of insects on the walls and the large number of webs. The shower head might as well not have been there; it was severely blocked and what water you did get, managed to spray everywhere. The mattresses on both the main bed and pull out sofa bed need replacing; they are both very well worn. For the cost of this room, we would have expected a reasonable standard of care in the maintenance of the unit. The TV size and number of channels were great although as we don't spend a great deal of time watching TV, they are not a necessity for us. The free WIFI was also appreciated although minimal in what you could use. The decor was pleasant and the other furniture was reasonably clean and comfortable. Some much needed tidying up around the property would improve and enhance the whole motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to drop your feedback. It is priceless.
This is Matthew and Aggie, the new owner and host of this motel.
We've just taken over this motel and started a makeover a month ago. We appreciate you've recognized the decor and furniture, which encourages us to continue to shake up the rest of the facilities in the units and around the property, a process we've already been pushing forward. That's why your input is valuable to us to ensure spot clean of the kitchenware, the room and enhance sleep comfort and stay experience.

As an Internet-native owner, we would like to offer boundless wifi. However, it is subject to New Zealand provision of Internet offering at public places. What we can do is to encourage guests to come back to Reception Desk for more data which is free of charge as well.


Again, sorry for not living up to your expectation. Hope that you could come back sometime later to check out the progress and share with us another piece of valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stay at Comfort Inn Coachman for 3 days, really enjoy the BBQ lawn surrounded by all kinds of green plants with lot of privacy. Room is spacious with very clean and neat furniture. Wake up every morning with bird tweet is really something we were looking for. Good value for money compare with other motels on the Fenton St of Rotorua of similar Qualmark 4 star level.

Room Tip: Ground room with easy access car park, bedroom is located at back end of each room so don't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review. It's wonderful that you enjoyed the stay here.

Wish you all the best.

Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's difficult to find a great hotel in Rotorua for a great price, but Comfort Inn and Suites is about as good as you can do at balancing quality with price. Stayed just one night, but had everything I needed. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice kitchenette with clean dishes and glasses. Clean bathroom. Excellent TV with over 50 channels (something well appreciated, since I'd been out of touch with civilization for a week). Friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi up to 100MB of useage. My only mild complaint was that they bed was too soft for my liking, but still OK. Price was better than most in Rotorua for comparable quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay.
This is Matthew Shi, the new owner since 02 Dec.
We would like to initiate a makeover of Comfort Inn Coachman however maintain the great value for money. The changes will be new furniture such sofa, dining table & chairs, highlighted by cozy ambient LED lighting, presenting a brand-new rustic and chic look.
We will go extreme lengths to ensure an enjoyable and comfortable stay for every single one of our guests. Looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on business. This motel is very close to Whakarewarewa and the thermal area so that is a plus - and the rooms are very spacious with SKY tv, good tea and coffee making facilities, and also toiletries. The room i was in has a large spa bath, but the decor of the room is rather dated now.
The manager/owner was very helpful and very friendly and nothing seemed a problem. Happy to recommend restaurants also. You can get breakfasts at the motel, or cross the road to the large chain Hotel there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

This is Matthew Shi & Aggie Zhang, the new owner of Comfort Inn Coachman since 3rd, Dec, 2013.

We've done the retrofit for all the major furniture and all the lighting in every guest room, which would present a warm and chic atmosphere for every of our guest.

We really hope we could have your stay with us again in the near future.

Regards, M&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I had been looking forward to staying here for some time however this hotel is average at best. In the description on wotif I was under the impression we would have an outdoor spa in a private courtyard with our 1 bedroom unit. Well, we DID have a private courtyard however the spa was inside. The bathroom was really disgusting - i didnt even want to use the spa because it smelt and i was unsure of the clealiness. My partner decided he was going to have a spa as he gad been looking forward to it for such a long time however without adequate ventilation the bathroom walls and ceilings were covered in evaporated water in no time at all. When we arrived we noticed the bathroom had an unpleasant mouldy smell - this would explain why. It was also advertised as having a 'full kitchen'. It is barely a kitchenette-2 hot plates, 1 pot, 1 saucepan, a microwave and the worst utensils I've ever had the unfortune of using. As we have been traveling for 10 days now, we were quite looking forward to a home cooked meal. It's great that there are so many tv channels to choose from however the couch is so tiny that my partner and I couldn't comfortably sit on it together and watch a movie (no we are not over weight!!) we ended up dragging the mattress out so we could both have enough room. In general the place is just super run down, in need of a serious coat of paint and some renovations. The service was great, the lady we spoke with at check in was very friendly and helpful but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend this place to anyone. I've read other reviews which say this place is great so maybe it was just my room? I stayed in number 11 so if you do come here, try a different room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

This is Matthew Shi & Aggie Zhang, the new owner of Comfort Inn Coachman since 3rd, Dec, 2013.

We've done the retrofit for all the major furniture(including 3 seats fold-out sofa bed, wood dining table&chairs, bedding articles and etc.) and all the lighting in every guest room, which would present a warm and chic atmosphere for every of our guest.
We really hope we could have your back and check the new look and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Comfortible big bed sparpool out side room good clean faciltys easy axcess from road. a little dated but still in good condishon.close to every thing with car can walk if you wish but best with car or bike.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

This is Matthew Shi & Aggie Zhang, the new owner of Comfort Inn Coachman since 3rd, Dec, 2013.

We've done the retrofit for all the major furniture and all the lighting in every guest room, which would present a warm and chic atmosphere for every of our guest.

We really hope we could have your stay with us again in the near future.

B.R
M&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman

Address: 335 Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Coachman Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decored 19 spacious private Spa pool suite and studio units with full-sized kitchenett. Free large BBQ lawn. iPhone/Android music dock station and FREE WI-FI. Stay connected or unplugged! Caring hosts stand ready to help plan trip in and beyond Rotorua with a complimentary cup of NESPRESSO capsule coffee available upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Coachman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.