We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an excellent tour guide today Milly, very informative full of stories about Te Puia and growing up there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Hemo Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 348 9047
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$117*
and up
Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour
Ranked #10 of 31 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Iowa, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had an excellent tour guide today Milly, very informative full of stories about Te Puia and growing up there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Fantastic attraction. Beautiful people AMAZING GUIDE MILLY definately value for money I will recommend this to my family and friends.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hey there Maria,

Our Milly is an awesome guide thanks a bunch for mentioning that and we'll be sure to pass that onto her, She'll definitely appreciate it!

Thanks in advance for spreading the word to your family and friends we'd love to have them through and look after them also!

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    394
    119
    39
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked for a guided tour and the evening cultural experience...it was a wonderful experience seeing the geyser( not sure about the name, but there is one inside their property) and the bubbling hot mud pool, there is sulphur smell everywhere, in the place surrounding the geyser, the steam escapes in every possible hole/ outlet found.
The cultural dance was nice and I too got a chance to dance with the Maoris. Then we were treated to a hangi buffet which was good
Enjoyed the evening with the Maoris

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Tena Koe from Te Puia

Thanks for getting back to us about our Te Po experience, we love how we do the show for everyone, get them all fed up with our hangi buffet then we take them down to POHUTU geyser and fingers crossed she plays for you before you head home.

We'll pass on your great word to our team.

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed and ripped off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We only had 3 days in Rotorua and wanted to squeeze in a cultural Maori experience. We booked the Te Puia combo in advance and paid $135 with a voucher (originally $150). We were super excited since this seemed like one of the top cultural experiences you can have here, and the pamphlet was very attractive. Little did we know that we would be ripped off! The Maori so called "village" was more like just a lawn and just a couple of carved rooms. It was run down and dead that I didn't even realize I was in the village until afterwards. The performance was another huge disappointment. Half of the performers seemed like they were half assing it and it felt like a mini high school musical or recital... Also, aren't they supposed to have their faces painted??? And, I didn't know there were pale skinned Maori's??? The pamphlet shows the Maori's faces painted, and the real photos in the Maori house in the so called village has their faces painted. NONE of the performers faces were painted.. False advertisement!!! This show was super cheesy and small. Not only that, during dinner, the background music sung by a live singer was singing American pop/love songs, when they should've been singing or playing Maori songs in their own language(not English!). Another thing that bothered me was the host of the show. He should at least look like a Mauri by dressing like them, which would add some excitement to the show. Instead, he wore a buttoned down dress shirt and slacks... It felt like a total disconnect every time he would talk through the microphone to narrate during the show. I was embarrassed for them! This was the biggest mistake we've made this entire trip in NZ. I would never recommend this to anyone. It is such a waste of money and time. Where is all of our money going? I want my money back!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Tena Koe

I'd like to start by letting you know we don't take this type of feedback lightly; our Quality Assurance Manager is commencing an internal investigation and also starting the process of a renovation of our Model Pa.

Just a quick FYI though, there are definitely pale Maori. Actually there are only a handful of full blooded Maori left so, reflective of modern society many of us are a mixture of ethnicities therefore a range of shapes, colours and so on.

On that note too, your request that our host "look like a maori" is a tad uninformed. Not only given the explanation above but in most if not all societies dress changes with fashion trends and materials available. The Piupiu (dancing skirt worn in the show) was just for entertainment with performing arts and rather impractical for the requirements of a host.

Regarding the tattoo's on the warriors face there will be a realignment between our marketing collateral and product offering in the near future. We'll also look into the use of the microphone during the show (used for everyone's ease of hearing) but we will review it all the same.

I would like to re-emphasise the fact that we try our best to make the experience as educational and entertaining as possible but as a result of your displeasure please contact us via email (info@tepuia.com) and our Quality Assurance manager will be able to talk directly and make amendments from there.

Nga mihi nui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maori Arts & Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A great place to learn about the Maori arts and culture. You can also see plenty of thermal activities there. A nice gift shop selling reasonably priced items.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Ora from Te Puia

Thanks for your kind words, hope to have you back again someday!

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A good introduction to Mauri culture. Maybe a little resting on previous achievements when we went and feeling too commercialised.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Tena Koe David

Cheers for the feedback, we're definitely striving to keep improving our product but thanks for letting us know that we're working on a range of things to improve on this aspect.

Hope you can tell us how well they work next time you visit us? All the best until then.

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Puia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.