We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do it on your own” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Hemo Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 348 9047
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$118*
and up
Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour
Ranked #11 of 33 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“do it on your own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

while guided tours are available at no charge, i found it much more interesting to explore the site on my own (prerequisite is ability to walk for an hour or so)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    388
    118
    39
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buinen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The cultural show was very entertaining. Well organized and every person could see the podium were the performance was held. The explaining during the show made everything very clear. The guides are well known with the history and the whole park. The geyser was very impressive and although a lot of the surrounding is not very colorful it still is very beautiful to see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascot, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful performances.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited Te Puia and were rewarded by a wonderful experience, entering a meeting house and seeing wonderful performances of the Haka and Poi dances, by wonderfully talented performers. Everything about this trip was rewarding, saw the geyser and hot mud pools. Lovely.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip, cultural tour and hangi feast were brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The was one of the highlights of our trip. The cultural tour was eye opening and the passion of the staff shows through.

The maouri dancing and traditions was done really well and you learnt a great deal. The food was lovely and the hot chocolate at the end outside was a nice touch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Love the wood carving school!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This lovely spot was included as a stop on our Celebrity Cruises shore excursion out of Tauranga. We loved the wood carving school - my daughter has a mobility issue requiring her to use a wheelchair, and one of the wood carvers whisked her privately out of the main line of tourists and gave her an extensive behind the scenes tour of the wood shop - such a kind thing for him to do, and what a memorable experience for us! Additionally, we very much enjoyed the boiling mud pools, the steam vents, etc, of the thermal reserve. There is a lot to see here, an excellent venue to take in the deep Maori culture.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Puia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.