We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, natural area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Hemo Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
64 7 348 9047
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Te Puia like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$37*
and up
Ranked #10 of 66 things to do in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful, natural area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an amazing area. Even if you have been to Yellowstone, Te Puia will take your breath away. The geysers are almost continuous and they have many mud pools. Even their little kiwi display is informative. A quick stop in to the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute is worth it. The students were very eager to share their experience with us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    521
    160
    50
    25
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Interesting if on a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our few hours in Te Puia. For someone passing through and wanting to see the thermal activity and be given an entertaining description of the area and culture it was good worth doing. It is an expensive entry price but if our money is used for the purposes explained, then it is worth it.
Certainly the thermal activity is regular and for people who have never seen it, it is spectacular to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great family oriented tour and Maori lifestyle experience.
We did the tour of the geothermal valley and the hangi with Maori show.
A brilliant way to spend an evening.
Wonderful hosts looked after us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Learned a lot about Maori way of life. Watching the wood carving very good. The weaving most interesting. The walk around the site to see the volcanic activity a bit hot on such a warm day. Enjoyed the experience

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great guided tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was our only stop in Rotorua. We toured the guide geyser area and bubbling mud pond. We learned about Maori culture and attended the performance. The food at the small restaurant was great. If you go I would recommend a stop for lunch inside Te Puia.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Puia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.