We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed stay near town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyons Lakestay

Lyons Lakestay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lyons Lakestay to your Saves list
Lyons Lakestay
8 Okareka Loop Rd | Lake Okareka RD5, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great relaxed stay near town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April. The place was spacious and self contained. The kids loved the room with the bunk beds. Well stocked kitchen with pots, pans and almost everything that you needed. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Pluses:
Great views of lake Okareka from the backyard.
Very spacious unit.

Minor cons:
Not really close to town so a car is a must.
The rooms were a little dark. Wish the lighting was better.
No toiletries were included. Luckily we always carry extras.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you Gina ,great to hear you and the family enjoyed your stay. Feedback is important to us so i have noted comment about the lighting and try to remedy.Some toiletries always availble in bathroom cupboard.We are a budget accommodatiion, so dont focus on the extra "frills".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while touring NZ. It was OK and in a lovely area for walking (though a fair distance from the town) but the room was quite small and as it was off the driveway, under the house, there was no view at all of the lake. Perhaps a bit pricey in terms of value for money compared to other places we stayed and we were very disappointed in the breakfast which didn't even include real coffee ... help yourself to the instant. (By that time we had got used to really good fresh coffees at many places.) We were strongly recommended to go along to the Hangi meal at the Mitai Mauri village on the night we arrived, and although very "staged", the food and entertainment were good. However, we found out the next day that we could have had a much better deal from the tourist office.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you Fiona for your review. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.I am not sure why you expected a lake view from your room as they are not advertised as Lake Views ,but garden views, which your room had out 1 window and although next to the drive ,it does look out to Native trees and ferns ,planter boxes along the drive.There are lake views from the Courtyard and front garden.NB comment by guests following you in next review.
I am very sorry you were not happy with the breakfast and I must say very surprised to hear as ,you are ythe 1st person to complain about the breakfast.
They are very wholesome,Organic,free range eggs and bacon,Homemade bread ,jams.
I am not sure wat happened re the coffee .There is Fresh coffee available in the lakestay with a plunger ,but I usually do offer freshly made tea and coffee with breakfasts ,so i do apologise .Not sure what happened there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Tea, coffee, fresh veggies from the garden, well stocked kitchen with basic staples in a quiet lovely setting, with a strong commitment to green travel. We had a lovely stay, topped by fresh smoked trout, a delicacy I thought I'd never get to try in NZ, which was a special treat! We had a lovely stay. I strongly recommend that you stay more than one night. Do be aware that you may be sharing the kitchen, depending on who else is staying there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

As a family of 6 we only just fit in the wee (and I mean tiny) apartment that is underneath the owners house. It was damp and musty smelling as soon as we walked in. The towels that were provided for us and the bed linen also smelt like mildew. In all fairness it has been a very wet summer, but we do not think the amount we paid to stay here per night in any way reflected value for money. There is no lounge so the only place to hang out is either on one of the beds or the kitchen table. There is no freezer, dishwasher or oven. You have to pay extra to use a washing machine and the kayaks that were advertised on the website as being available to hire for a 'nominal fee' were $30 each per day!!! We had the dehumidifier on most of the time we were there and it extracted a lot of water from the place. On the third night our daughter (15) discovered fleas in her bed. There was nothing we could do except use insect repellent overnight. The next day we inspected all the beds and found fleas in 3 of them. We decided to leave at that point even though we had 4 more nights booked, as with the dampness, cramped quarters and fleas we had had enough... We contacted the owner, and while being shocked at us finding fleas, she did get back to us promptly and refunded us nearly all of the portion that we cancelled. She was very apologetic that the accommodation wasn't up to 'their' usual standard. We do however still believe this is not a good place for large families to stay as it is not big enough. In our experiences of staying in baches and holiday homes as rentals, this should not go in the same category. (We booked through holidayhomes.co.nz) We had friends who had booked two houses right on lake edge Rotiti with everything this place was missing at quite a bit less than Lyons Lakestay cost, and they had kayaks free to use! It really is backpacker lodgings except all linen is provided.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
WE are very sorry that this family were not happy with the Lakestay .It is unfortunate that they didnt seem to be aware of the facilities.We are advertised as a Holiday Unit (not a house) most families that have stayed here have enjoyed that it is not too big and easy to look afer while they are here.The Kitchen/dining area combines as the communal area with cane armchairs as well as kitchen furniture and opens on to outdoor courtyard area(not good in rain).This family had older children ,the weather was and had been "atrocious"!! The worst I have ever known here in over 20 years .It was constant rain for days,weeks. Obviously the drying of towels had been difficult but all had been put in drier.I only wish they had said about the towels would have been happy to replace.The Lakestay is not a damp unit it is well built and insulated with double glazing.Despite it being summer the windows were left closed which added to the problems this family had.Due to thebush surrounds ,you can get a musty smell in and outside when it is wet.Just natural for the area.I had the dehumidifier on in the rooms before the family arrived and yes there was moisture ,not excessive but would be in any home in the weather conditions.Obviously more moisture with a family in the unit and all windows shut(no airflow).The windows do have secure locks on so you can have them open a small amount and still secure.I acted on the report of fleas immediately,found a couple in 1 room only.This was a problem purely due to the weather had been a problem in many homes this summer.Obviously not what you like to have when you are on holiday.We have not had a problem like this before and I can guarantee it will not happen again. The rooms were all treated safely and ready to ocupy within 2 hours.We dont advertise that the Lakestay is suitable for large families.We also have kayaks and Bikes FREE for guests .The lakestay has all linen provided and some daily servicing ,taking care of rubbish etc.The properties at rotoiti,were cheaper due to having to [provide your own linen and they are considerable further from the city.We are only 12km ,a 10 min drive.Lake Rotoiti is more like 25-30 mins away from the city.The Lakestay has a high standard of cleaning,as it is also used as a B& B so cleaned daily when guests are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Thankyou again Cheryl for being very fair after i had messed up the booking!Cheryl's homemade bread & muesli is superb!We all loved Possum the cat...after we actually caught him. Lake Okareka has to be seen to be appreciated-this is tranquility.The house is very neat & comfortable.Will have to come back again to explore the local area-it really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed over in a double room. We were the only people there, so had the whole place to ourselves, which was brilliant. Facilities were really good and the place was super tidy.

Kitchen was great and there was tea and coffee there as well.

Everything worked really well and we were looked after the whole time.

Cheryl was really helpful and showed us where lots of different places were in Rotorua, really went above and beyond what she needed to do as a host. We made it to the secret hot pools, so thanks a lot for that guys! :-)

We had a great time using the kayaks in the morning and the kayak trolleys were great, really good! We were even able to watch the Ireland vs Australia game on for the RWC and were a big fan of the rain water in the fridge.

Keep up the good work guys – If we come to Rotorua again, we will be back.

Thanks a lot

Andy and Annie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

i enjoyed my solo visit to Lyons Lakestay. I was in Rotorua for a conference and my initial motivation was to find cheaper accommodation than the conference hotel. I wasn't prepared for the beauty of Lake Okareka. I "stole" some time away from the conference to hike the trail that goes half-way around this beautiful lake. The Lakestay is not a B & B but more like a high-end hostel with private rooms (double beds) and common areas such as kitchen and bathroom. Its got all that you need at a very affordable price. Cheryl keeps the place spotless. To me, it felt like I was in a B and B. This combination is a rare find in an up-market luxurious lakeside community. Because of it's location out of the way, it'll never attract the young low-end backpackers that is often the downside of many hostels. It's all very well appointed and very clean. Cheryl is very hospitable, friendly, and helpful. You'll inevitably want to spend more time here than you allotted!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyons Lakestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Lakestay

Address: 8 Okareka Loop Rd | Lake Okareka RD5, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, eco-friendly accommodation that is quiet, but only 12 kms from Central Rotorua. Nestled on the hill in Native Bush, opposite Lake Okareka (20m).The lakestay has 3 rooms suitable for Double and single B& B,or "boutique budget" self catering option in the 3 or 4 bed room suitable for those looking for "backpacker style" sharing facilities, in a modern ,well designed facility. Also suitable for small groups 4-8 persons to have the Lakestay as a holiday unit for yourselves. The Lakestay is an evolving Organic business and a member of the Rotorua Sustainable Tourism Charter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Lyons Lakestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyons Lakestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.