We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch experience in a top notch hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Regent of Rotorua to your Saves list
Regent of Rotorua
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
brisbane
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Top notch experience in a top notch hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

What can we add to all the wonderful words that were already written? Darren and Brent have made our stay a dream comes true; nothing was too much or too difficult to fulfil. We have stayed in the new annex of the building in a studio room upstairs (no open windows!). We loved the royal black & white decor with a touch of lime to it. The mineral spa was a treat as well as the pool. We ate most of our meals there and enjoyed them all! Internet was complementary and so is the parking. We were sorry to leave and warmly recommend their kingdom to all. Good luck guys!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    131
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
133
467
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

You must stay here if you're gonna be in Rotorua. We had an amazing stay. The rooms were very very chic and clean. We had dinner at the restaurant, it wasn't cheap, the food was good (fresh), but being from NY, I would only rate it 7/10. The service is really good - esp. Darren. He was just so helpful and was always there. This would be my regular hotel if they had one in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This was not my first stay in Rotorua, but it was certainly the best. The atmosphere everywhere in the hotel is simply superb and the level of service is top notch. Nothing is too much trouble. The hosts remain discrete at all times. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and impeccably cleaned. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Don't be fooled by the re-born 60s motel outside look of this newly refurbished boutique hotel. From the moment we arrived the service from all management and frontline staff was exemplary. The rooms are beautifully decorated: food and wine quality is extremely high. The Regent of Rotorua is very well priced. Have stayed in hotels all over the world that have cost a lot more and been left far behind for value and service by this little gem. Stay three or four nights if you can (as we did).

It's also very well located within easy walking distance of a full range of shops, geothermal baths, museum, lake walks, cafes and the local i-Site visitor information where you can pick up a wide range of tours and attractions. There's plenty to do in and around the out-doors capital of New Zealand, and with all the geothermal activity this is spa heaven.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Regents looks motelisj in style and is in so far as the rooms are accessed via a communal balcony or straight from the courtyard if on the ground floor but there is nothing motelish about the quality of the rooms or the other facilities. The rooms are spacious (we had a one bedroomed suite) and very thoughtfully kitted out in the kitchen area in partiuclar. It's all black and white with green accents, including luscious green bath robes and slightly kitsch but in a very appealing way. The proprietors are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. They engage with their customers extremely well and are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was fabulous as was the lunch and dinner, infact we didn't eat anywhere else other than at a 'heritage evening' as the food at Regent was so good. It's a great place with a great atmosphere, food and hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Every review below is correct and I don't want to repeat except that I have to mention the front desk --management is superb -- we have stayed at hotels around the world and Darren and his staff far outshone everyone else. They make sure you know exactly what things are available to do and then will book it for you -- and check up to make sure everything is working well. They truly made our stay a fantastic one and I would recommend The Regent to all. Rooms are funky and modern and top notch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

It's not often you can recommend a hotel so highly as you can the Regent. This is a hotel with a face, with a personality and one that cares and makes every effort to make sure you have the best possible stay. The attention to detail is remarkable, the decor very funky and the owners are so helpful and always seem to be there whenever you need help but they are not 'in your face' but considerate and friendly. The beds are so comfy, the showers wonderful, what more can I say. The hotel is walking distance to the lake, to a fab row of restaurants and the town center. It has free wifi and plunger coffee in your room. I would definatly stay again and would highly recommend. We stayed with 2 children and we were made to feel most welcome. (Did I mention the heated outdoor pool!!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent of Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.