We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish motel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Regent of Rotorua to your Saves list
Regent of Rotorua
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Europe
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stylish motel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Check in, welcome & parking: Staff/owner were very friendly, smooth check in, convenient parking area "just next to your room"
Room: small sleeping room, small living room and nice bathroom, separate toilet, mattresses were not good, nice interior design, but cheap in quality
Location: good, in the city center, near the Lake Rotorua
Concierge service: very friendly & competent

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    154
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
154
529
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Great place to stay, very helpful staff, central location, comfortable bed!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at the Regent for 2 nights. I was upgraded from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite. What can I say about Darren and Brett that have not already been said. They are brilliant. Nothing was never too much I have food allergies and that was ot a problem. The thermal spa was divine, the room was tastefully decorated .
The hotel was centrally located and within easy reach of shops and restaurants.
I will back in 2 years with daughter.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I endorse most of the comments made in other reviews. Darryn was most helpful and friendly. The room was outstanding - comfortable, clean, quiet and spacious. The restaurant was worth visiting in its own right - the food was excellent (I had the salmon both nights of my stay), the wine list carefully balanced and with wines also available by the (generous) glass and the service friendly and attentive. Overall, and at the price, this represented outstanding value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

In October I went to Rotorua for the first time in about 15 years to take my wife to see the famed geysers and mudpools. My previous experience with Rotorua was the rows of tacky and touristy motels that line Fenton Street. I couldn't face them and wasn't keen on the cookie cutter Novotel or Rydges experience so was delighted to discover a new boutique hotel had opened right in the heart of town and next to all the restaurants.

The Regent of Rotorua has only been open a few months and is already the most highly rated hotel in Rotorua on TripAdvisor and with good reason. Darryn and Brent are the perfect hosts and treat each guest with a personal touch. Genuine warmth and customer service in a hotel...who'd have thought!

The hotel has been stylishly designed and the rooms are beautiful with all the amenities you would expect and then a few more. They surround an elegant courtyard, which acts as a sun-trap, and a heated swimming pool. A perfect location to relax with a beer/wine/cocktail and the hotel's sharing plate of breads and dips.

Speaking of the food, the hotel boasts a fantastic restaurant. Our only regret was that we only ate dinner here once, opting (foolishly) to try one of the nearby restaurants on our other night instead...which was marginally cheaper but vastly inferior.

The Regent's menu is simple but the chef is outstanding. The fusion dishes they provide are outstanding and exceptional value from entree through to dessert. Locals have cottoned on to this gem of a restaurant and frequent it as much, if not more, than the hotel guests.

And if we had any doubts that their breakfast menu would meet the lofty expectations set by their dinner menu, they were quickly dispersed as we enjoyed some fantastic sweetcorn fritters (and making the hard decision not to have the buttermilk pancakes).

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and cannot rate the hotel or its owners highly enough. I'll have to find reason to visit Rotorua again soon although I'm not sure I'll venture far from the hotel next time around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

What more is there to say that hasn't already been said....Stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it very much, both the room but especially the service.

Location is also good, just on the edge of the town's center next to the Ibis. and you can easily walk to all the restaurants.

Price is probably among the top in Rotorua, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed here in the new 2 bed apartments, great decor, amazingly comfortable beds, wonderful bathrooms, service fantastic - Darryn couldn´t do enough to help even though we had 3 smallish kids, wonderful lady also helped out over lunches and breakfast. Literally nothing was too much for them, NZ has great accomodation but this is definitely up there amongst the best!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent of Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.