We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Rotorua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Regent of Rotorua to your Saves list
Regent of Rotorua
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel in Rotorua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Perfect place to stay in Rotorua! Very friendly staff, nice rooms, very comfortable bed, good restaurant. Upon arrival, the manager helped us with some super fun excursions and other tips for our stay. The staff really puts in the effort to make your stay a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    130
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
133
465
31
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The owners greeted our tour bus and took care of us during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was charming--even a teddy bear on the bed!! Breakfast was delicious--don't miss out on the pancakes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great motel. The room was spacious and clean. The walls were a little thin, but other than that hard to complain.

The restaurant was good. Location central with ample parking. Staff are friendly and helpful.

All in all a good place to stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent one night in this oasis during a terrible weather bomb. We loved the retro conversion of an old fashioned two storey motel block into a modern black and white themed hotel. The staff were fantastic, especially Pierre who was graciously coping with overbooking for the Easter weekend. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both meals were excellent. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 23 which was on an upper storey overlooking the pool area. It was over the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisarow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here last Wednesday and found it to be everything the other reviewers had said. Great rooms with everything you could want, excellent service and very comfortable beds to sleep in. Location is great and so close to a large number of restaurants. Parking close to the rooms was also appreciated. We'll definitely stay here next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Exceptional staff made all the difference in this hotel. Our family of 5 stayed here while on vacation over the Christmas holiday break - although a bit of a trek to our start point for the Tongariro crossing hike, it was so worth it. Darryn rose in the middle of the night to pack delicious breakfasts and snacks for us, and had ample coffee and tea ready for our long van ride to the start point of the 9 1/2 hike on the Tongariro trail. Our three rooms were lovely and comfortable, beautifully decorated, and very clean. I so wish we had more time to spend in the area, and in the hotel. The thermal mineral pool is quite small, but the main pool is spacious with a lovely lounging area. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently stayed here and it was a lovely place .It was in very easy walking distance to restaurants and the main street. The hotel had an award winning restaurant, pool and hot spa. The staff were friendly and obliging. The only problem I had was the maintenance man who decided to cut trees outside our room before 9:00 am and on the other days clean our outdoor furniture right outside our bedroom window at 8:30 am. They weren't even dirty. I found it a bit creepy and as we like to sleep in so it was rather disturbing. I am sure he was only doing his job but...?The rooms were, clean and crisp and the bed extremely, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. I would have loved it if I had requested a single hotel room. Unfortunately my travel agent stuffed up. I had requested a one bedroom, suite .My husband tends to sleep in and I had nowhere to sit or go in the room except a chair in a corner with no light so I had to go for walks each morning while he slept. This is an older style building and we were very close to people walking past and car park noise. It's beautiful, quirky and immaculate but not what I ordered.

Room Tip: Ask for a one or two bedroom suite away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent of Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.