We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and fantastic rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Regent of Rotorua to your Saves list
Regent of Rotorua
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Lisarow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for money and fantastic rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here last Wednesday and found it to be everything the other reviewers had said. Great rooms with everything you could want, excellent service and very comfortable beds to sleep in. Location is great and so close to a large number of restaurants. Parking close to the rooms was also appreciated. We'll definitely stay here next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    130
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
132
465
31
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Exceptional staff made all the difference in this hotel. Our family of 5 stayed here while on vacation over the Christmas holiday break - although a bit of a trek to our start point for the Tongariro crossing hike, it was so worth it. Darryn rose in the middle of the night to pack delicious breakfasts and snacks for us, and had ample coffee and tea ready for our long van ride to the start point of the 9 1/2 hike on the Tongariro trail. Our three rooms were lovely and comfortable, beautifully decorated, and very clean. I so wish we had more time to spend in the area, and in the hotel. The thermal mineral pool is quite small, but the main pool is spacious with a lovely lounging area. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently stayed here and it was a lovely place .It was in very easy walking distance to restaurants and the main street. The hotel had an award winning restaurant, pool and hot spa. The staff were friendly and obliging. The only problem I had was the maintenance man who decided to cut trees outside our room before 9:00 am and on the other days clean our outdoor furniture right outside our bedroom window at 8:30 am. They weren't even dirty. I found it a bit creepy and as we like to sleep in so it was rather disturbing. I am sure he was only doing his job but...?The rooms were, clean and crisp and the bed extremely, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. I would have loved it if I had requested a single hotel room. Unfortunately my travel agent stuffed up. I had requested a one bedroom, suite .My husband tends to sleep in and I had nowhere to sit or go in the room except a chair in a corner with no light so I had to go for walks each morning while he slept. This is an older style building and we were very close to people walking past and car park noise. It's beautiful, quirky and immaculate but not what I ordered.

Room Tip: Ask for a one or two bedroom suite away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a magnificent hotel that is recommended without reservation or qualification. The staff, the accommodation, the location, the restaurant - all absolutely first rate. Nicely different without being quirky and with outstanding attention to detail, in service as well as decor

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Lovely room with A/C that actually works! Personal service by owners and wonderful staff. Great breakfast too. Can dine outside overlooking the beautiful pool. Great location -- short walking distance to Eat Street, which is the hub of town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This small hotel is a gem and our stay there made our Rotorua stay most enjoyable. A spacious and comfortable room, king sized bed, great A/C, and personable owners who are present and helpful. Darren was a pleasure. We ate great dinners there twice and enjoyed the breakfasts also. This place stands out as special during our three week trip to Australia and New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This boutique hotel is in a good location. The management and staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable. The dining service is great. This is a fun little place to stay at. Lots of attention has been paid to details.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent of Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Rotorua where glamour, style and location meet. Rotorua's newest boutique hotel located in the heart of the restaurant zone...rooms have air conditioning, monsoon showers, stunning furniture and a touch of glamour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.