We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable and in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Save Saved
You added Regent of Rotorua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable and in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This accommodation looks like a motor inn from the outside but our one bedroom suite was spacious with 2 rooms and a large bathroom.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It was clean and comfortable. There was mini bar facilities.There was a lovely pool area with sun lounges.
Pool towels were available on request.
Regent of Rotorua is well located within walking distance to Lake Rotorua, the restaurant area and shopping areas.
Plenty of onsite car parking was available.
Note-
Internet connection timed out very quickly and was unpredictable. The first 100mb internet connection was free via zenbu but it kept timing out unexpectedly early and then the site requested payment for internet access. When we told the staff they gladly replaced the internet vouchers , on quite a few occasions, but it was bit annoying.
There was only a small number of satellite TV channels available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    115
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
413
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Don't be put off by the external appearance of the hotel. Once inside the reception area it's immediately obvious that a great deal of thought has been put into the interior design which is glamourous and fun. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and, after our long drive, were very welcoming. Our junior suite was decorated in quirky black and white (and made us smile) and the available space had been used to best effect. The breakfast was excellent and we wished we had tried dinner. We wanted to be centrally located in Rotorua and, for 2 nights, we felt it was a great choice.

Room Tip: The hotel is arranged along the lines of a motel so there are no lifts to rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our experience started with the disarmingly charming and helpful front of desk staff. Full of useful tips of the local sites, and also checked us in with efficiency!

We had the 2-bedroom family room, which is compact but perfectly formed (all manner of well appointed mod cons and tastefully decorated), the bathroom is huge (!) and beds very comfortable. Also free wifi!

We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent quality, of high standard and much better than the offerings of the nearby "Eat Street"

Exactly what a boutique hotel should be.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night in one of the studio rooms which had two adjoining rooms ..a double bed in the master bedroom plus ensuite and a separate lounge/ kitchen area that also had two single beds.
It was very clean and looked nice. But in the height of summer it would have been nice to have had air conditioning in the master bedroom as well as the lounge area, as bedroom became airless during the night.
Also shame there wasn't a second bathroom in the suite as there were at least 2 toilets around the extremely spacious suite. but only one bathroom which could only be accessed via the master bedroom.


Perhaps interior of hotel a bit too pretentious for my taste although staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was also enjoyable in the restaurant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had booked the Regent of Rotorua because of its central location (which it prides itself on). We were therefore disappointed to be told, on check in, that we were being "upgraded" to their sister property on the lake. They had a conference on so were obviously over-booked.The alternative hotel turned out to be super (the Black Swan - reviewed separately) - but we would still have preferred to be staying where we had booked rather than somewhere remote, meaning we had to drive into town for dinner. I can't comment on the Regent itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed 2nights in 1BR & 2 nights in studio in January 2013. Great facilities and very clean hotel. What's even better is the service! All our request for our 10mo old baby were looked into-excellent service particularly Darryn (owner). Thanks Darryn for helping our stay become a comfortable one!
Also located in a perfect location, just walking distance to the restaurants area and the lake.

I will greatly recommend and will stay again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at the Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel. It is by far the most comfortable and delightful hotel we have enjoyed in NZ in a very long time - and we travel frequently, both here and overseas. The attention to detail is impressive and the standard of food particularly high. The hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects - room design, inclusions, size and, comfort and the public areas are carefully planned and beautifully decorated. The choice and presentation of all food was outstanding and was a complete surprise for a hotel in this location - so much so, we didn't venture anywhere else to eat at all ! Darryn and Brent are the most discreet and attentive hosts - ensuring each guest is welcomed in a personal way and with complete interest in maximising their experience. All staff were most accommodating and generous and they clearly value the custom - so refreshing. For such an elegent hotel, our daughters were welcomed so warmly and totally looked after with swimming towels and food/beverage choices. We can't praise this hotel enough - we shall be back and for a longer stay next time !

Room Tip: The Executive suite was spacious and incredibly well appointed. Decor is stunning. It was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent of Rotorua 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent Rotorua where glamour, style and location meet. Rotorua's newest boutique hotel located in the heart of the restaurant zone...rooms have air conditioning, monsoon showers, stunning furniture and a touch of glamour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.