We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Rotorua” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Homestay

Serendipity Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Serendipity Homestay to your Saves list
Serendipity Homestay
3 Kerswell Terrace | Tihi-o-Tongo, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 Rotorua B&B and Inns
West midlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home from home in Rotorua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Great hospitality from the host and hostess and a comfortable spot overlooking the steaming fumeroles of Rotorua. A beautifully quiet spot with stunning views. Plenty of helpful advice and local recommendations to follow. Rooms comfortable but would benefit from being bigger.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Situated on a hill overlooking the Rotorua thermal area, town and lake which are all only a short distance away, Serendipity is a modern, comfortable single storey residence with a beautiful garden maintained by the sociable hosts, Brian & Kate. Two good sized rooms with great views are offered as accommodation, but only one party is accepted at one time. So, as we were, you can be sure of their undivided but unobtrusive attention during your stay. Breakfast is a treat, customised to your own preference. These are well travelled hosts who are more than happy to share their knowledge and if necessary, make suggestions for an enjoyable stay. The perfect hosts!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We spent the month of March 2009 traveling the North and South Islands of New Zealand. All our accomodations were B&B's and this B&B stands out as one of our fondest memories. Brian and Kate, the owners, made us feel like we were family members who happened to drop in for a couple days. Whether it was sitting out on the deck admiring the spectacular view of the thermal springs or sitting around the breakfast table we were always impressed with the wealth of knowledge Brian and Kate had to share with us. The breakfasts were always great (everything was homemade)!
The only thing that was disappointing was having to leave. We wish we would have stayed a couple more days as there is so much to see in and around Rotorua. Brian and Kate made reservations for us well in advance to attend a Maori cultural evening. If we were to return to New Zealand we would definitely stay at Serendipity for a longer time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

The B&B is on a hill overlooking Rotorua town, the geysers and the lake. You can see the geysers shooting up from their patio.
The rooms were clean and spacious. We had access to their computer and living rooms. We were greeted with a cup of tea and biscuits.
Brian and Kate are a wealth of information about the local area and the Maori culture.
Their B&B has easy access to the town and airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Homestay

Address: 3 Kerswell Terrace | Tihi-o-Tongo, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marvel at unsurpassed panoramic views of the city, lakes, thermal activity, farmlands and beyond. Relax on sunny decks, in the garden or the conservatory. Indulge in home comforts and home-cooked cuisine. Let us share our extensive local and national knowledge with you. We can advice you on the best to see and do in Rotorua and while exploring our beautiful country. We are close to all ammenities, including the wonderful mountain biking tracks now famous in Rotorua. A warm welcome awaits your arrival at Serendipity -- "A surprise waiting to be discovered." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Serendipity Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.