We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robertson House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Robertson House to your Saves list
Robertson House
70 Pererika St., Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room last minute for a weekend in rotorua, john the owner was beyond helpful and booked shuttles and attractions for us and was full of recommendations for things to do in the limited time we had. The house was clean and the rooms were beautiful. It's in a good location just a 20m walk from the center of town and the isite. I would definitely return! Thank you so much for making our weekend amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited Robertson House in Rotorua several weeks ago on a weekend away from home and I have to say what a fantastic place it was with the most welcoming service.

The house itself is a beautiful old colonial villa which has been done up and is really, really comfortable and homely. It is about a 10-15 fifteen minute walk from the centre of town and is nice and quiet. The house has lovely grounds to spend an afternoon in with a glass of wine.

John, the owner, made sure that we were really well looked after, but it no way invaded our space. He recommended some really good activities and some great cafes and restaurants. He has a beautiful and gentle dog Loki, a samoid, who seems to be the true boss of the place.

Everything here was great- the rooms were clean and tidy, the beds were comfy, the breakfast was fresh & delicious and the vibe was lovely and relaxed. We felt it was great value for money and will definitely be returning next time we visit Rotorua.

Thanks John and Loki!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in the red room at Robertson House at the end of 2012, and had a wonderful experience. The building is charming, the rooms are period and the atmosphere is spacious and elegant. John is a really friendly guy, and is helpful in telling you some of the nearby places to visit. Tip: Ask him about some of the hot springs out in the wild you can visit.

The room itself was warm and sunny and the bath was big enough for two people to eat fish and chips in. Mmmm, soggy chips.

I wish I could have stayed longer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

No doubt, John is the friendliest guy and very helpful. But this was the most expensive place we stayed at in New Zealand and we regret spending the money ($175 for 2 ppl) for a mediocre experience. Don't know if all B&Bs are like this in NZ, but breakfast was lacking (toast, cereal, cheese slices); I expected something hardy and cooked like an omelet, like all of the other B&Bs I've ever been to.

The room was freezing cold at night in winter, we couldn't wait to leave to get in the car and control the heat. He said it was on a timer and should be toasty but it was freezing still after he gave us a space heater. We tried to take a hot bath but the water cools down too fast since the room is so cold. He did let us use his laptop which was nice, but internet was spotty. Bed was super squeaky.

He gave us good suggestions for free hikes to do in Rotorua, but his suggestions on paid tourist experiences were extremely underwhelming and a little outdated (oh, they *used* to let you do this...). He did not book our experiences for us, which we kind of expected after reading other reviews, but that's fine.

I feel bad giving a mediocre review, as John was such a great host and guy, but I honestly expected more for the money...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnloki, Owner at Robertson House, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
I think this couple from Texas was expecting Las Vegas, instead of RotoVegas. I love what I do and try my best for all guests.

I do a big continental breakfast with vogels bread, fresh fruit salads, cold meats, cheese, home made cakes etc

We have full gas central heating and the house is warm. I did put extra oil heaters in their room when they said they were cold.

I didn't get any feedback at the time except for being cold which I acted on straightaway.

I always want people to enjoy their stay here. I try my best for everyone and sometimes there is nothing you can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleeuwijk, Holland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

A nice old building in "art Deco style"we entered when arriving at John's place.
He showed us the room with a small terrace, viewing the garden. We got a lot of information from John who was very helpful in every way. He made a reservation for us for the Maui show in the evening. He even called the buscompany when we told we forgot the tripod when we left the bus and it was brought back in 10 minutes. Breakfast was simple but good. And here we could use the laptop as well, whenever we wanted to.
A very pleasant place to be.
Bert and Willemien Ruiter from Holland

Room Tip: Choose a room downstairs; there's a small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had been recommended Robertson House by some Europeans we'd met in a Queenstown B&B, we were not able to consult Trip Advisor by this time in our month long trip so recommendations of any sort were greatfully received. We were headed for Rotorua so contacted John and booked two nights.

To be honest, we may not have ventured down Pererika Street as it seemed like a mixed residential street with some houses needing attention BUT we'd have missed this beautiful place and wonderful host, so for once, Brits grateful to Europeans!

John (originally from Worcester) has the background and experience to know what a traveller is looking for from accomodation when travelling and he has seemed to have used that very well He is a very giving person and through his general tips on what to see where to go and where to eat recommendations added so much to our trip to Rotorua.

Our room was fabulous. comfortable, large, well maintained. The bathroom was just as good with enough room for two to get ready at the same time.
The house itself is wonderful, off street parking, breakfasts to die for!

Our only regret is that we only had two nights, for the first time in 18 nights we really didn't want to leave - we'd have been happy to spend the rest of our holiday with John amd his Samoid Loki.
I don't recommend without knowing someone is going to deffinately enjoy a place, but with a month long trip through NZ I can say that without a shadow of a doubt this place rate equalled by only one other (much more expensive) place we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed only one night in Rotorua and John was kindness itself and couldn't do enough for us. Best place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robertson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson House

Address: 70 Pererika St., Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic house only 2 minutes drive from city centre built by one of Rotorua’s forefathers in 1905 renovated retaining its colonial charm our friendly host will be happy to assist with information and bookings for Rotorua attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Robertson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robertson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.