We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn on Fenton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn on Fenton to your Saves list
Quality Inn on Fenton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Fenton & Victoria Sts, Rotorua 3045, New Zealand (Formerly Ventura Inn and Suites Rotorua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Tired but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed in a standard studio as part of a tour in NZ. It has a spacious bathroom - shower in bathtub, and plenty of towels. The room has a new flat screen tv, the bed is soft though and the doona was old (not covered either). Location was good - there is a supermarket called countdown across the road and it is about 5 - 10 minute walk to the main shops. It also has a pool and a spa. Woke up with a bad smell - but that is just Rotorua in general. Internet is free from the computer in the lobby. There is no hot breakfast available. Would recommend to a friend on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    82
    49
    14
    7
See reviews for
40
73
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Cheap motel, rooms a bit run down. No cooking facilities, only a fridge. Continental breakfast was included.Rooms were very basic, bathroom tired looking, with small spa bath & terrible shower over the top, with shower curtain. Rotorua is very smelly and this did get into the rooms at night. Good point - the room had air-conditioning, and there was free internet service in the hotel lobby. Good location for walking into town - plenty of restaurants & shops. Good choice of channels on the TV.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The location of this motel was very good. Opposite it is Countdown, this huge supermarket which opens till late. Beside the motel is Rotorua Central and the city centre itself. Although it has to be warned that shops around here close at 5pm. We also found it convenient to walk/drive to wherever we wanted to go.

Parking is plentiful and free. We also got free wifi for all the days we were there, though we had to get a password change every 24h. Quite alot of food at the free breakfast buffet and we loved that. My friend commented that the bed was too soft, though I found it fine.

Special thanks go to Madge who is most helpful and accommodating. She answered all our questions graciously and even made phone calls and bookings for us. Will definitely stay there again if we ever go back to Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We were slightly disappointed with the 'studio' apartment we stayed in, as to us, a studio apartment should include some sort of cooking arrangements,or at least have the means of making a snack, and this only had tea-making facilities. It is situated rght across the road from a large supermaket, and restaurants are only a short walk away, so the situation is good.
The continental breakfast was quite good, although the pastries left a lot to be desired.
When I tried to used the guest laundry duting the day, I found that it was being used by the hotel, so I had to wait until the evening. I am saying that I woud recomment this hotel to a friend, but with certain reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

we stayed here for the Bike the Lake ride.
Nothing was too much trouble. Bikes were stored safely inside in conference room.
We were 4 family menbers and were upgraded to luxury room at no extra cost,

allowed us a late check out until 1pm at no extra cost so we could come back after the cycle ride to get showered and changed before heading back to Auckland.

have stayed here previously for the Roturua marathon and received the same excellent freindly service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel is a good base point to visit Rotorua and it's surroundings. First of all, the city smells really bed - the Sulphur City - so a bit of the smell gets in the hotel, but you can't actually blame them for that. The room is basic, but comfortable, with enough space. Room and bathroom were clean. Mattress was too soft, though. Furniture and wall paintings a bit old. They have one computer at the lobby with free access to internet, but wireless internet is payed (about 10 NZD for 24h). Location is average - not exactly in the middle of the centre, but walkable. However, they offer free breakfast, and for 89 NZD/night, I guess it worth it. If you want more comfort (and don't care about paying for it), go some place else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Must be OK as the British Rowers Supporters Group stayed here for a week while the World Rowing Champions were being held near Cambridge about an hour away. We only stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. We drove around on a Thursday afternoon and checked out about 8 other places. All the prices were very simliar, but the Ventura Inn was the standout by miles.
Reception (Madge) was very helpful and allowed my wife and I to view two different priced rooms to check out. With three boys (11, 9 and 5) we chose the 1 bedroom over the hotel style.
The pull out sofa was great for kids, but I wouldn't recommend it for adults. Our 5 year old just slept on the sofa cushions (He's use to that - Most families who travel would know the world is not always built for 5) We just asked for bedding for 4 when checking in and tell staff that the youngest just sleeps with mum and dad still. Too easy and saves heaps!!!
Breakfast was great and so was the outdoor pool for the boys. Nice and heated!!!
Has FREE internet located in the reception area. Nice and handy
Certainly worth staying at when in Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn on Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn on Fenton

Address: Cnr Fenton & Victoria Sts, Rotorua 3045, New Zealand (Formerly Ventura Inn and Suites Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn on Fenton 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Our guests rave about our central location and you will too. Quality Inn On Fenton Rotorua is one of the closest hotels to the central business district, with Rotorua's best restaurants, attractions and shopping within easy walking distance. We offer 63 guest rooms with internal/lift access and keycard security locks. Choose either studio rooms, or suites featuring kitchen facilities and separate bedroom. Rooms with king-size beds and spa baths are available. All rates include complimentary on-site parking and free local telephone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn on Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On Fenton Hotel Rotorua
Ventura Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Ventura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn on Fenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.