We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't really have wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn on Fenton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn on Fenton to your Saves list
Quality Inn on Fenton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Fenton & Victoria Sts, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Ventura Inn and Suites Rotorua)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didn't really have wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked three rooms the day before but got a call the following morning to say there had been a flurry of bookings and they didn't have the rooms we had booked available. We were given two smaller rooms with an extra bed added to one of the rooms for the fifth member of our party. The room with the extra bed wasn't really big enough for three adults and we had to go back to reception to get an extra mug.

The wifi only really worked in the middle of the night. Reception said it was because too many people were trying to use it. The hotel had a nice little pool that wasn't heavily used.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualinn, General Manager at Quality Inn on Fenton, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment. I'm sorry we could not accommodate you in the rooms you requested. We are in the middle of restructuring our WIFI and waiting for Chorus to connect Fibre to our Hotel. We wanted the change to have happened before Christmas but unfortunately this did not happen. We are now able to supply WIFI to all of the rooms. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you visit Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    76
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
36
67
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were practically walk in customers. The price of the room was good value for money especially when compared to other motels in the area. The amenities and facilities were pleasant. A few minor issues arose but they were quickly remedied by staff. The only recommendation I have is to replace the kettles. The one we had was dirty on the inside as the sealant on the heating coil was coming off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had two rooms at this hotel in between Christmas and new year and the price was great for that time of year. Both rooms were spacious and were in a motel style so we could park the cars right outside the room. There is a smallish pool but it's lovely and warm and there is a positively hot spa pool, although beware the pool may make your silver jewellery go black even hours after being in the sulphur but if this happens most jewellers will help you free if charge! Overall good hotel within 10 mins walking distance of the town centre!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

On the first day we discovered that the fridge was not closing (and therefore not properly working). No solution was given to that problem as no technician was available that day. On the second day there was an issue with the aircon which was making substantial noise even when turned off. After switching the rooms we figured, that there is no remote for the aircon in the new room. Response to that was that the remote would not help as the aircon is not working in that room...
The hotel in general has nor been renovated / maintained for ages and the rooms are not really clean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualinn, General Manager at Quality Inn on Fenton, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It saddens me to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel. I do understand your comments and I am happy to say that due to the recent change of ownership we are looking at an overhaul of the rooms but of course this can not happen over night. Your comments do help to action what needs to be looked at first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked online for a special rate and found the accommodation to be very good value for money. Tidy and good sized room, with a full sized bath in bathroom and handy location. Friendly staff and better than anticipated facilities - pool and spa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our stay for 5 nights at Quality Inn was really nice. It was a comfortable and pleasant stay for us. During our stay, we made some acquaintances as well with the guests staying at the hotel too. We also really enjoyed chatting with the hotel staff, which was very friendly. Even on our arrival, they made us feel at home with their warm and welcoming attitude and inviting smiles. Our room was towards the side where the road was running below and the room was on the first floor. Even though the road was very close, we did not have any problem regarding noise or any kind of dust. This was probably because the windows had glazing, double glazing to be more precise. The bed in the room was very soft, fresh smelling sheets and all. The hotel’s location was nice. There were a lot of shops, restaurants there and we had a nice time here. Our room had all the amenities along with the bathroom, that was well stocked with various toiletries. We also tried the supermarkets that were within walking distance from the hotel. It was a nice budget stay for us here and it was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualinn, General Manager at Quality Inn on Fenton, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. It's great to hear that our guests find everything they need while staying with us. We hope you choose Quality Inn on Fenton next time you visit Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked using "Booking.com" for 2 nights. Room was large, light & airy and well appointed. Bed was soft, but I liked it and had a good nights sleep. Bath took awhile to drain when having a shower & the hair dryer didn't work but was quickly replace with one from reception. The swimming pool & spa very nice except getting out of the spa was a mission as the step up rather high and nothing to hold onto for leverage and access was through reception which was a bit disconcerting as we are larger people. PC & internet access in lobby, wifi speed excellent. Ample parking on site. Easy walking distance to town. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualinn, General Manager at Quality Inn on Fenton, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We appreciate all comments from our guest. I am glad to hear your stay with us was satisfactory. It is a concern to hear about the difficulties you had getting in and out of the spa. I will talk to my maintenance person to see if there is anything we can add there for safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn on Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn on Fenton

Address: Cnr Fenton & Victoria Sts, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Ventura Inn and Suites Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn on Fenton 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Our guests rave about our central location and you will too. Quality Inn On Fenton Rotorua is one of the closest hotels to the central business district, with Rotorua's best restaurants, attractions and shopping within easy walking distance. We offer 63 guest rooms with internal/lift access and keycard security locks. Choose either studio rooms, or suites featuring kitchen facilities and separate bedroom. Rooms with king-size beds and spa baths are available. All rates include complimentary on-site parking and free local telephone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn on Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On Fenton Hotel Rotorua
Ventura Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Ventura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn on Fenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.