We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place - it is really special.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hamurana Lodge to your Saves list
Hamurana Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Hamurana Road | RD2, Rotorua 3702, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Canberra
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved this place - it is really special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just loved this place. It is a former private residence turned boutique hotel. The service is just amazing. They clearly saw us driving up the long driveway and were waiting for us outside. Showed us to our rooms without being intrusive, recommended some activities for us while we were in Rotorua and booked a tour for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely with warm croissants baked on site. They'd asked us the evening before what time we thought we would be up for breakfast so that they could be available fresh and hot! The room was really lovely. If you're looking for modern, chic you won't find it ihere. It was more cottagey but clearly at the top end. While the bathrooms are a bit dated they included L'Occitane toiletries, had great water pressure and a good quality hairdryer (I hate it when you get those little travel ones!) and they were very clean and perfectly fine - you have to go here knowing that if you want want 5 star slick and bland then this isn't the place for you. The bedroom was really quite large with a beautiful view out over their grounds and the lake. It was really stunning. There was a nespresso machine in our room as well as other little touches that made it really nice. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed walking around and petting the menagerie of animals which included the donkey, goat, pigs, chickens and an old lab called Sunny who happily ambled along behind you in hope of getting a scratch behind the ears! This place is really special. The staff are wonderful, the service is the best I've ever had anywhere and it is a quietly serene place that makes a fabulous get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure hosting you and that you enjoyed your holidays so much with our services and offerings. We love the description you make of the hotel and the positioning which reflects exactly what we are trying to offer. Sonny is still here for more cuddles and scratches as well as all the menagerie so please visit us again soon for some pampering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    27
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
195
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Super location with private grounds and well kept gardens...long drive so the house is well setback from the road so very quite...the interior is fabulous and opulent the staff are excellent and very attentive....the cold food platter in the evening was excellent but no hot kitchen which in my opinion is a missed opportunity.. It would be wonderful to have the option to have a leisurely dinner enjoying the views and peaceful environment....breakfast too very enjoyable but again no hot options other than the fresh baked croissants.....no good having hens roaming around if you don't serve a cooked breakfast with eggs! ....there are very few good restaurants in the area - make it open for dining and you will be full every night..... having said all that I would still highly recommend visiting the lodge just remember if you want hot food your going to have to dine out.........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Kia Ora Kate and thank you for your lovely feedback shared with our team. We are truly delighted to know you enjoyed our property so much and the award winning services of our team. We did have a restaurant in the past which unfortunately impacted on the hotel business too much due to noise and traffic of outside guests - as you mention the platter is an excellent casual dining option for guests and we also have such a good variety of restaurants in Rotorua that it enables us to re-enforce our community feel and recommend them as well as the amazing cultural evening nearby with transport.
Thank you for recommending our property and it was again a real pleasure hosting you so hope to see you again soon
warmest regards,
fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in Hamurana Lodge to celebrate our engagement and I can easily say that it is one of the best places we have ever stayed in! The house was beautiful and immaculately clean. It felt like stepping into a stately home but with none of the pretentiousness. The staff members were fantastic! They were incredibly friendly and helpful and made sure that everything was perfect for us. The food was exceptional - they were able to cater for my vegetarian requirements at short notice and provided us with a mouth-watering platter full of fresh ingredients and locally sourced produce. Our room was sensational with an absolutely giant bathroom and everything was decorated stylishly. We loved feeding the donkey and goat outside and saying hello to the pigs! The fresh croissants served for breakfast were a nice touch as well. Hamurana Lodge is a wonderful place and we can fully recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback - again our warmest congratulations on your engagement, delighted you chose Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel to celebrate it. The platters are a pure delight in the evening for a cosy time glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I were there as part of our honeymoon in NZ and it was amazing. The whole staff was very warm and close, they all helped us to prepare our trip in Rotorua. As the hotel was almost empty they upgraded us to the biggest room, an exceptional one with all the facilities! Also the food was excellent, the breakfast was delicious, JUST PERFECT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hola Kia Ora, Pleasure reading and sharing your comments with the team. Glad to hear you loved our services, room offerings and award winning hospitality. Come back soon for more croissants :) Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful property with a lot of charm and character. Rotorua is a dumpy town, so you'll appreciate being in such pleasant surroundings.

Patrick was outstanding and couldn't do enough for us. Lauren was more distant, but completely efficient.

Get the gourmet platter--it's excellent. Two areas for improvement: towels and amenities in the bathroom are weak, and the cold breakfast is repetitive and uninspired. The worst we've had in New Zealand though still not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the charm and character of the property and our team's services and hospitality. Come back and visit us again soon, Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a house! From afar, it looks like an old English cottage...and well, the Rolls Royce waiting for you just by the etrance door won't make you feel any differently. Very warm staff, always there to help without being too intrusive. The room was just a dream : very, very large, with full equipment (coffee machine, bathtub AND shower, hifi system...) and a lovely decoration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello and many thanks for your lovely review. A real pleasure to know that your stop in Rotorua while visiting NZ was filled with pampering and indulgence at the lodge and that you enjoyed the entire facilities and room amenities - especially the Nespresso coffee machine for that early morning wake up. Looking forward to your return. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My entire family of four loved the Hamurana Lodge. It was a great change from hotels and the long hours of flying to New Zealand from the US. Patrick and the entire staff couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional - on par with the Sofitel in Auckland. The lodge was charming and serene. Patrick helped us make the most of our three day trip to Rotorua. The only glitch was the distance from Waitomo where we went through the glowworm caves. But the roads were good and our daughter was used to driving in NZ as she had been there for her spring semester. Zorbing was tremendous fun - ten minutes away and the Maori experence was fascinating. Thanks to the entire team for a great stay.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top in the two room family suite - the kids loved the heated bathroom floor tiles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Kia Ora, Hello - Great to hear from you and the family. It was a real pleasure for all of us to host you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your extended stay. Delighted to know we have been equally compared to a large luxury brand - a real pride especially as being one of our favourite hotels in Auckland :) . Come back soon as many more activities are awaiting and more of the pampering at the lodge. Warmest regards, the entire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD2, Rotorua 3702, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamurana Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamurana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.