We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A great family stay'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Thermal Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Rock Thermal Motel to your Saves list
Red Rock Thermal Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'A great family stay'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our extended family stayed in 2 of the motel's studio units, these were great; lovely and clean, spacious with well equipped kitchens. We enjoyed the lovely heated pool and mineral spa. We would definitely stay again if in Rotorua and recommend them to others. Karen R

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
KarenR21Hinton - Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Perhaps next time our Cottage will be free for you and can accommodate all of you together. Until next time, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    55
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
69
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had a great stay in the motel, the owners Sue and Quentin really looked after us. The studio was spacious and clean with wifi, tv and a well equipped kitchenette. Close to all activities in Rotorua. Would highly recommend makes a great base to see around.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Rebtop - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are happy to enjoyed our lovely unit with free Wifi, geothermal mineral pool and swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we stayed for two nights in the delux one bedroom unit with 4 adults and one teen. The beds were really comfortable and the unit has everything you need. The pool is awesome. Have stayed here three times now and always recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Maree F - Thank you for your lovely review and it is so nice to have guests who come and see us regularly. We are glad you enjoy our newly renovated units and our swimming pool. Watch this space as we have plans to upgrade the swimming pool and give it a face lift in the next few months. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your wonderful recommendation of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in the cottage and it was a great size for our family of 5, with extra beds for more. The heaters were on and it was lovely and warm. The geothermal spa is great. Sue was the best, even tracking us down after we had checked out and left some items behind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Wendy M - Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is so heart warming to know that our guests appreciate Sue, our wonderful manager who is so friendly and helpful. We are also glad you enjoyed our warm cosy cottage with all the comforts of home and our mineral pool. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The studio room was great value for money being clean, recently upgraded with new furniture and a very comfortable bed. The kitchen is fully equipped. The bathroom has all new fittings and a very powerful shower.
The geothermal pool was great to relax in at the end of the day although upgrading the pool room would be advantageous.
Sue was an extremely gracious host both on my arrival and the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Roz M - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our lovely studio unit, our geothermal mineral pool and swimming pool. We will be renovating the swimming pool in the next few months and hope to give it a bit of a face lift. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Red Rock Thermal Motel is a bit out of the main part of town, well beyond walking distance for most, and it’s not really near anything in particular in terms of attractions, etc. I was greeted by a quite friendly and helpful lady at reception on check-in. The whole place is composed of a main section of half-a-dozen or so units, and a small back section with only one or two units, the laundry, and the mineral spa. In the back section the construction of the unit seemed a bit, well, temporary. I didn't use the main pool in the ads as it wasn’t exactly swimming weather, but it looked a little worse for wear. The mineral spa was alright, a little dingy but quite relaxing really, and you can have it all to yourself, just lock the door. Away from the main road fronting the motel the place was pretty quiet.

I had a fairly good sized room, including a small patio area off the main living area, and many basic inclusions for self-contained accommodation, including toaster, kettle, cutlery, crockery, teapot, microwave and frying pan, however no actual stove. There were also other bits and pieces, including a coffee plunger and coffee, as well as the standard instant coffee, tea, etc. The bar fridge was noisy, but fortunately not so noisy that it woke me during the night. There was no air-conditioning, but the room had wall 'oil heaters', although they may be done through the town's thermals somehow; it was pretty mild when I stayed so I can’t comment on how the room would fare in very hot or cold conditions. In general the furnishings were okay, but the lone chair (other than a couple of bar stools) seemed an old design and was really quite uncomfortable, so it could do with better there. There was a fairly good size Samsung flat screen TV with a range of free-to-air channels but no Sky pay TV. Free wifi was included at a decent speed, and as far as I could tell it was unlimited, but there was no information about it provided at check-in, I had to hunt around and find the code in the motel folder.

The bathroom all seemed quite new, with a wet room sort of set up. Fortunately with the sturdy shower curtain shut the floor didn't get too wet beyond the shower area itself. The shower was strong and with good heat; in fact the hot tap water gets super hot, maybe to do with the town’s thermals, which is not a bad thing, but just be aware of it and don’t jump into a straight up hot shower. The toilet paper provided was a bit cheap.

The most significant downside to the motel was that the bed was terrible, and unfortunately this is a very significant problem. The base was alright, but the mattress felt like it was about 30 years old and the springs were totally shot. I know different people have different bed preferences, but it wasn't just that the mattress was soft; the springs simply had no support. To confirm it wasn’t just an excessively soft bed I checked under the sheets, and it certainly looked old as well. Frankly you'd find better in a $20 hostel. In my books one of the main considerations for accommodation is a decent bed, so this is just not good enough and needs replacing. I woke up with a bit of a sore back which luckily wasn't worse. I wouldn't have stayed a second night even if I had it booked.

The other thing that really got under my skin was that although the lady at reception was friendly, the guy was a real smart alec when I enquired about towels for the mineral spa – if you expect guests to know you've got unmarked spa towels hidden in a bathroom cupboard you probably should tell them, not write in the motel folder to ask at reception for towels and then be a wise guy about it, trying to make guests look like fools for asking. The spa itself comes with a number of recommendations, including not to use it if the water temperature is above 42C; so how am I meant to know what the temperature is, should I have brought a thermometer with me, or is that also hidden somewhere you're not telling guests?

This is a bit of a toss-up for ratings. Many of the aspects of the room were quite reasonable and given the price of less than NZ$100 a night you could say 'what can you expect'. A decent mattress may have brought it close to a four at the price. However given how bad the bed was and how vital this is for accommodation, along with the rudeness from the man in the office, which you really don’t need after a long day on the road and has still left me with bitter feelings more than a month later, it brings this down to a two. Given the huge number of accommodation options in Rotorua, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Gosh - thank you for your lengthy in-depth review. Unfortunately, I feel the need to point out a couple of things about the innacuracies in your review. We do not advertise that unit 7 has a stove in the kitchen, nor do we say anywhere that we have air conditioning in any of the units. We find it hard to deal with complaints about things we don't have if we don't advertise that we have those things why would you expect them in the unit? Also, we DO have Sky TV in every unit and don't know why you would say there was none. We have FREE wifi in every unit and information is in every unit compendium about it. My manager assures me she mentions it to everyone on check in, but cannot possibly tell our guests everything at check in and that is why all important information is in each unit's compendium for you to read. We don't think it is unreasonable to expect guests to have to find this information in their room if they wish to use the Wifi which is free. Lastly, the unit 7 which you stayed in was newly built just 3 years ago and had a brand new Sleepy Head split king bed bought especially for it. We are sorry that you didn't find it comfortable, however, it is only 3 years old and nowhere near 30 years old as you stated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We've pre-booked the motel cottage for 2 nights for a group of 5 people. When we arrived on a cold and windy evening, we're received by a rather unfriendly and curt male owner. Next morning at breakfast, we discovered that the milk provided by him the night before was 2 weeks after the expiry date. When we complained and asked for a replacement at the counter, we couldn't believe that he was reluctant to give us a fresh one. It was finally sorted out.
We met the lady owner who was much more friendly and helpful.
Overall we're happy with the location and cleanliness of the rooms. But the attitude of the male owner does not help in promoting the business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
RE-TAN55 - thank you for your review. We are surprised and dismayed that you had an issue with Quentin - he is a lovely manager and we are sorry you didn't see this side of him. We are glad you enjoyed our clean motel in a good location and glad that Sue was much more friendly for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Thermal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.