We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Thermal Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Rock Thermal Motel to your Saves list
Red Rock Thermal Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

great smaller motel block and therefore personal and friendly service, quiet location, great thermal pool, outdoor pool maybe a few degree too warm for swimming but great on a cool morning, refurbished unit was excellent. good value for money, compared to Rotorua is better value

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora Kevin. Thank you for the review. We are a smaller Motel with only 8 units so we do make an effort to get to know our guests. We have been adjusting the temperature on the pool as the days here are lovely and warm but it can still be cooler in the morning & evenings. Glad you enjoyed you stay. Take care - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    49
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
63
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Red Rock Thermal Motel and really loved it. The room was modern and spacious, and had a fridge and microwave which was useful! The location is perfect, close enough to the town centre but nice and quiet at night time. We loved the thermal pool, so relaxing and great the way you can use it at any time! We'll definitely be back on our next Rotorua trip :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora Jess, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comment about the property being quiet at night and the useful facilities in the unit. So glad you found the time to relax in the mineral pool and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic place to stay in town without that town noise. Rooms appeared to be recently renovated, very clean and tidy and quite spacious too. The hosts were awesome and the pool and spa on site were well used by my family. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend to all of my friends and family!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora Angela, many thanks for the review. Thanks for the comment about the town noise, we are only a few minutes' drive to town, but we have a wall around the property that greatly reduces the road noise. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying in the unit and made the most of the pool facilities. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you & the family again. All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in the 1-bedroom unit, which appeared newly renovated. The beds and furniture was comfortable, full kitchen facilities and excellent shower. Easy to find and close to town. Having a thermal spa on premises was a nice bonus. Only wished we could have stayed for a longer duration!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Red Rock Motel and that you found the time to relax in our private geothermal mineral pool. We too wish you could have stayed longer!! Many Thanks for the review - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Awesome family friendly motel, we went as an entire family group - 3 generations, youngest was a baby, just over a year old - many teenagers.

The cottage is a great place for parents with babies that take a bit to settle its away from the many units. Great full kitchen with indoor outdoor dining area's, we took that other bedroom and lounge units that also had stoves in them, so we could cook if we chose. However, the barbeque was all we needed.

Older generation needed the mineral pool, and as we also had Unit 1 - didn't disturb others when our lot enjoyed the outdoor heated pool. Parents could take littlies for walks, petrol - meat, vege, and great fresh baked cookies were also within walking distance - diaries for milk easily available.

We did the usual activities - split into groups, going in different directions - the kids were able to come and go - eat and swim as they pleased, while babies caught up on sleep after high energy packed days

Would return to this motel - even the other people staying there, were amazing, appeared to be alot of regulars - great, helpful hosts... who were really accommodating

Room Tip: Cottage is great if you are concerned that others with you might be noisy (such as children crying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora Candy. It was an absolute pleasure to have you & your family stay here with us for your family get together. The Cottage and One Bedroom units worked out well for everyone and it was great that the kids enjoyed the trampoline & pools and the BBQ certainly helped with meal times. Great to hear about your activities for the day and we love hearing the laughter of happy guests. All the best to you & yours - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hard to fault to be honest - nice newly renovated rooms, awesomely warm swimming pool, friendly easy to deal with hosts, nice laid back atmosphere. And extremely reasonable prices. Will be our first choice next time we come to Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora Duncan. Thank you so much for the totally wonderful review. We are so very glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay here with us at the Red Rock. We look forward to welcoming you to our property again - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Comfortable beds, nice shower, well equipped and new furniture. Big size rooms. Clean. Nice common garden. Friendly staff happy to help.
Good value for money compared to other places in the area.
The only problem is that it was very noisy a couple of nights: Saturday night due to some people coming back to their room at 4 am and on a week day a group of people were in the garden talking very loud until very late at night. Probably we were unlucky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Kia Ora. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our comfortable & clean unit. Apologies about the noise you experienced from other guests; as a suggestion for your future accommodation stays, there are always on site staff, so please always feel free to come and advise them of the noise or inconvenience that is being caused, we are only too happy to help to ensure your stay here is pleasant & enjoyable. All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Thermal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.