We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Nights stay one night free” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Rotorua to your Saves list
Ibis Rotorua
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    340
    187
    26
    10
See reviews for
145
315
63
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A pleasant hotel, with friendly helpful staff and a great location. It is close to the centre of Rotorua, so an easy walk to cafes and restaurants. It is also close to the lake and a lovely lakeside walk. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet. Not a luxury hotel, but more than adequate and I would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you. Your comments and praise are certainly a trend felt and reviewed by a lot of our guests so it is great as always to receive positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Small rooms, but you expect that from any Ibis, clean and tidy, good sound proofing in room.

TV volume was way too low (couldn't turn it up very loud at all) and aircon had a slight rattle going on.

Over-all this is a well run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are proud to have rooms that are fully functional and comfortable so it is great to read your comments in regards to sound roofing. I will have maintenance look into the TV volume as this seems unusual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I can't comment on the location of the hotel as we only stayed for 1 night and we had the Maori village excursion, so were picked up from the hotel. It was fine, our room had 2 double beds (interesting arrangement!) so it felt quite small. The view from the room was of roadworks which there were a lot of around the time of our stay! I can't recall the price of breakfast, but it seemed expensive so we didn't have it. If in Rotorua again we would consider other options. Nothing was that bad, but nothing stood out for us either - sorry!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
It is a little unfortunate to read that your stay was just OK and you felt nothing really stood out for you. I apologise for this and as you can see from the majority of great responses we get that this is a fairly isolated situation. All the same we use all reviews as a tool to ensure we are continually striving to offer the best service and facilities to all of our guests. So for this, thank you for taking the time to post your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service at reception was very warm and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and also quiet. having no problems at all staying at this hotel I would recommend our other friends and relatives to stay at Ibis Rotorua in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
It is fantastic and comforting as the manager to read of the warm welcome you received and that your stay was both quiet and comfortable which I can appreciate led to a great night’s sleep allowing a fresh start to explore the surrounding Rotorua and Bay of Plenty area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Rotorua is located on the shores of Lake Rotorua. The hotel features 145 rooms, a restaurant, bar and Internet access. The city centre is only a short walk away, offering easy access to the convention centre, Energy Event Centre, cafes and restaurants. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighbouring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.