We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aywon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aywon Motel to your Saves list
Aywon Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   18-20 Trigg Avenue | Fenton Park, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
1 review
“Felt like home!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am usually very picky about many things.I read all the reviews & then with my boss's referral, i have booked a 2 bdroom unit for a night. It was such a pleasant experience, and my stay was just superb.

Lady at the reception with such a beautiful smile, was welcoming. She also recommended some places to see & provided us with discount coupons.

Entered the room, and checked it out and found -
- Clean towels,( enough for 5 people, although we were only 3)
- Bathroom was very very tidy.
- Spa in the room
- 2bd rooms upstairs , with clean linen and comfortable rooms. ( cannot expect the mattress to be the one back home, which is the reason i have scored this place a 4)
- Milk in the fridge and stove utensils, cutlery everything was clean

I would recommend this place to all my friends and family. This is where you will find me when i'm in Rotorua.

I FELT BEING HOME!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We picked Aywon because it had spas in each room. Well, they are semi outdoor (covered but exposed to outdoors) and ours wasn't that warm, so that was just OK.

The radiator heater was nice and warm :) and it was mostly pretty clean. The bed was comfortable enough. Service was friendly and helpful.

The room was OK in general; typical old school motel really. The bathroom/shower layout is a bit odd and not that enjoyable, but it does the job.

Location is fair, it's in the main motel area so nothing special but not a problem either.

Parking was OK, but a bit cramped once full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We were 4 people staying for 3 nights over Queens Bday weekend 2012 in a 2brm unit with spa.

Had to make a point of reviewing this one after our stay this weekend - fantastic and friendly service, good sized rooms, a real homely feel. Some of the decor is dated but you soon get over that when you see how clean and warm the place actually is, and once you check out the AWESOME spa!! Didn't know it was possible to do 4 spa's in 24 hours but I just did!!

It really is exceptional value for money here - and thats a big thumbs up from a fussy accommodation person. Well done Aywon Motel - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I wanted to rate this as "good" but there was no option for that - it was certainly better than "average" but I would not rate it as "very good". However, the rates are good, the beds are comfy, the place is clean and the landlady was charming and very helpful. On the down side, it was nothing special - our bathroom looked new, but next door's was less so. The buildings are classic motel style and thus lacking in character. My daughter complained about the sulphur smell which she found very strong - the rest of our party were less affected by it. It was a bit further into the centre of town than I had envisaged, but easy to find and well located for heading South to Waiotapu or Waikite. No complaints - just didn't love it as much as some of the other reviewers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Aywon Motel was one of the best motels I have stayed at.
We arrived quite late on the date of check in, and the owner was more than happy to wait for us to arrive.
The unit was superb. Could not have been any cleaner or tidy, and had everything we needed plus more. On the night of arrival they had the heater turned on so upon entering was nice and cosy and warm.
Having the private spa out the back was even better it definately adds that relaxing touch to your holiday.
Overall would highly reccommend this place to anyone. Great value for money. If i was visitng Rotorua again I would not hesitat to choose Aywon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed 2 nights here during easter weekend. Even though the motel was extremely busy during this time, everything was well managed. Clean, with good sized kitchen, good heater/radiator. Very homey and cosy place to stay. The easter bunny and eggs provided was a very nice touch! we loved it. One of the best and most expansively decorated and designed hotel in this price range. The square LCD TV was not big but very usable. this is the only hotel we watched any TV in NZ. Host/Hostess was welcoming but not intruding. Great value, would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and would like to have stayed longer. The accommodation was first class and had everything you needed unlike some motels. Having your own individual spa was sheer luxury and after a long day out sightseeing in the sun, it was bliss to come back to. The bed was comfortable and the owners were really helpful from giving information, booking trips to giving a lift to the bus station. It is so lovely having a family run place, much better than large chain motels and hotels. I would recommend this motel to anybody and everybody.

Room Tip: It is very near Te Puia, within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aywon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aywon Motel

Address: 18-20 Trigg Avenue | Fenton Park, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aywon Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aywon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aywon Motel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aywon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.