We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Rotorua B&B and Inns
ENGLAND
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Graham and Lyndsay are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble and will do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay. It was quite a surprise to find out that Graham originally came from our own home town. We spent quite some time talking about old times, it felt like we were visiting family not staying in a B& B. Graham enjoys fishing for trout at the bottom of their garden just as much Lyndsay enjoys cooking it.When it came time to say goodbye it was quite hard it felt like leaving a part of home behind.This is a great B&B beautiful views of the lake. Well worth staying here but you will need more than one or two nights here.

  • Liked — Made to feel right at home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

What a gem! Location. Location. Location! Fantastic luxury , lake views from every window! Comfy bed and pillows! Breakfast supurb....Lindsay whipped up anything we liked! Even a few hours fly fishing thrown in ! Would highly reccomend this B&B to travellers to Rotorua, much nicer than a hotel!

  • Liked — The luxurious but comfy ambience
  • Disliked — wished we could stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Recently returned from a touring holiday in New Zealand during this time we sampled many different and varied B @ B's, Hotels,
and Apartments but nothing matched up to our stay with Lyndsay and Graham. The views from the lounge windows were stunning this was matched with the most wonderful hospitality and the best breakfast that we had on the whole of our tour,the homemade museli was fantastic.Would love to go back to New Zealand only hope the Butchers are still in Rotorua if we decide to make another trip. Sue Napper and the Pallisters.

  • Liked — all over excellent quality
  • Disliked — could'nt stay longer and breakfast was only once a day.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

Whilst this may not have been the most luxurious accomodation we stayed in during our trip (although everything well presented and spanking clean) the real treat at Ngongotaha was the welcome provided by our hosts; Lyndsay and Graham and the help they gave us in making our stay with them so special. Shortly after arriving, we were offered delicious wine and nibbles - cold smoked trout caught by Graham locally and smoked by Lyndsay. Having e-mailed Lyndsay a week before we stayed there and asked for suggestions on activites during our all too brief 1.5 days in Rotarua, she suggested and booked two of the best activities we did in NZ. The first was gong to the Matai - a Maori evening (great fun - picked up and delivered safely back to the lodge). After a great breakfast - all home-made but particularly recommed the eggs benedict - we went out onto the back lawn and waited for the arrival of our second trip (recommeded and arranged by Lyndsay) - a helicopter and jet boat trip. What a rush - the helicopter landing on the lawn to collect us and realising it was just us and the pilot on the trip- fabulous flight over the area including volcanos, landing at the river where we were taken on a superb jet boat trip (again, just us and the highly experienced jet boat pilot) being dropped back to the waiting helicopter and flown back to the lodge.......felt like Rock Stars! Highly recommended trip. Many thanks Lyndsey and Graham - we really enjoyed our stay with you. Fiona & Brian Gray

  • Liked — Hosts welcome and food, excellent suggestions for activities
  • Disliked — Clean and well presented but basic accomodation
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in the King Size room (worth the extra cost as it has a lovely view to the lake and and a brand new bathroom). There are 3 accommodation options - 1 King room, 1 Queen and 1 twin, all with ensuites. Guests share a lounge room with big windows looking out over the lake - during our stay we were the only guests so had this whole area to ourselves. Like being in your own home! The breakfasts are lovely - fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, muesli...as well as hot cooked eggs, bacon etc. The hosts were lovely and very helpful with tips on sights, activity etc. I'd recommend this place, and being 5-10 minutes out of Rotorua is a benefit as you can avoid the sulphar smell of the town.

  • Liked — The quality of the room
  • Disliked — Quite expensive
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for only a single night while it was raining. Despite the inability to take full advantage of the property the Butcher's made us feel so welcome we had a great stay. The house has terrific views of the lake and the mountains behind it. The beach is a few steps away and great for walks. Despite the rain the black swans were out in droves-what a sight! In better weather we could have taken advantage of picnic facilities and the canoe.

When we arrived we got immediate help with our luggage, offered tea and biscuits, and had a leisurely discussion about our options in the rain. We got advice on dining options, evening activities, and activities for the next day, complete with maps and pamphlets.

Our room was very comfortable, warm (unlike many of the places we stayed), teapot in the room, nice bathroom with towel heater, and nice soap, shampoo, conditioner.

Breakfast, like all of our breakfasts in New Zealand, was generous (read: more food than we could eat). This was our first B&B in the country and we'd not yet learned to upfront say we wanted a hot breakfast-by the time one gets through the fruit and bread there really isn't room for the eggs.

Finally-this is a great location-right next to the lake, about a 10 minute drive out from Rotorua so quiet, but easy to get into town.

Would highly recommend

  • Liked — The owners, the views
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

The lakeside lodge is a lovely retreat (especially for fishers - not that we participated).

Located in a small town just down the road from the noisier, busier town of Rotorua. Situated on the lakeside, it has stunning views and a quiet location.

The rooms are large (we had a balcony too), clean and modern. The guest lounge has amazing views across the lake too. Breakfast was a real treat with loads to choose from including fresh fish!

The owners were a wonderful couple and made us feel so welcome.

I highly recommend this place - you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Address: 41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, warm and friendly. "Hospitality Award" winning Bed & Breakfast on the shore of Lake Rotorua, offering quality accommodation away from noise, traffic and sulphur smells. Close to many major tourist activities and attractions and only a ten minute drive into Rotorua. Tastful ensuite bedrooms, with all toiletries provided . . In room flat screen TV's and tea and coffee making facilities. Start you day with a healthy, homemade generous breakfast. Fly fish for trout a few steps away at the mouth of the famous Waiteti Stream . . . We will smoke your catch for you to have with pre dinner drinks or pan fry it for your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.