We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Rotorua B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

Excellent in every respect. Graham and Lyndsay couldn't have been more charming and helpful. Their breakfast was superb and their local knowledge benefitted us greatly to see the best sights there was in the short time we had.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigfishRotorua, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed Rotorua and your stay with us.
You were super guests' and we did enjoy meeting you all.
You say "can't wait to go back" . . . . let's hope it will be soon!
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hosts Lyndsay and Graham were welcoming and charming. The accomodation was spacious and very well equipped and included a big lounge with lakeside views providing stunning sunsets.
Our hosts were very helpful with local advice on what to visit in the short period of time we were in Rotorua. We had great breakfasts to start the day and the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities for a bit of self catering as needed. Ngongotaha is very handy for Rotorua and the other volcanic sites you might want to visit by car.
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice - the higher priced rooms have a lake view and balcony, but you get the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mildura
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our hosts Lyndsay and Graeme are wonderful and tendered to our needs with skill and offerred advice to make our stay more enjoyable. Beautiful surrounding overlooking the Lake and very relaxing. Will return and recommend to anyone wanting to make Rotorua a base for their holiday

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This b and b was a great option for us. It is a little bit out of town, but beacuse we had a hire car this was never even a problem. A beautiful view over the lake at breakfast, and our own living room area, so we didnt have to stay cooped up in our room to get some privacy. A lovely night's stay!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review of the time you spent with us during your NZ honeymoon. We are glad that you enjoyed Rotorua and that the rest of your trip went as well as you hoped.
We enjoyed your visit with us too . . . you were both SO happy and were lovely guests . . . we were sad to see go leave.
We wish you all the best of everything amd hope that your life together is long and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed three nights here in October 2010. Lyndsay and Graham were great hosts and they gave us discount vouchers to some attractions. The accomodation was first class in every respect. The lodge is right on the lake and is in a very quiet area far removed from the sulfur smells of Rotorua. The beds was most comfortable and we had use of the lounge room and balcony overlooking the lake. The Breakfasts were excellent and we really enjoyed our stay here. I totally recommend this B & B.
Thank you Lyndsay and Graham for a great stay. Say helloe to Bootsy for us. Don & Monica

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Two things I will always remember, the fantastic view and the kindness of the super friendly
owners Lyndsay & Graham.
Good rooms, excellent breakfast, very clean & neat.
It was a real pleasure staying (3 nights) in this very pleasant and outstanding B & B.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I just want to start off by saying that Lyndsay and Graham were wonderful. They were very accomidating and helped us out with trip planning and sightseeing around the area. Me and my wife visited on our honeymoon and it was such a beautiful place it would have been hard not to relax. The Lodge is literally steps from the lake and the views are amazing. We highly recommend staying here when visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Address: 41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, warm and friendly. "Hospitality Award" winning Bed & Breakfast on the shore of Lake Rotorua, offering quality accommodation away from noise, traffic and sulphur smells. Close to many major tourist activities and attractions and only a ten minute drive into Rotorua. Tastful ensuite bedrooms, with all toiletries provided . . In room flat screen TV's and tea and coffee making facilities. Start you day with a healthy, homemade generous breakfast. Fly fish for trout a few staps away at the mouth of the famous Waiteti Stream . . . We will smoke your catch for you to have with pre dinner drinks or pan fry it for your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.