We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham to your Saves list
WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 Hamurana Rd, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Scenic Circle Marama Resort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Really lovely, clean accommodation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a 3 bedroom chalet. There were 2 queen bedrooms and 1 twin single room - plenty of room for 2 couples plus one. There's a heat-pump which kept the apartment very warm. Although it is a little further away from the city centre, it is a pleasant drive out to the resort. Depending on the tourist activities you decide to do, they may have shuttle services which come to pick you up so you are not completely inconvenienced. During the summer, I could imagine it being a beautiful environment to go for runs, walks, swimming, kayaking, boating, tennis... plenty of options for outdoor activities. Staff were very friendly. Beds were very comfortable. Being out in the middle of nowhere, it was very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arash a, General Manager at WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the weather was not on our side. I look forward to welcoming you back to Marama Resort in the near future...maybe in summer next time and you can get out and do some kayaking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

I don't like that it has only one bathroom for 2 bedroom apartment.
It does nother work for us of 5 people as we had to take turn to us it.
The location is bad...it is about 20 min from city center.far from most attraction

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Front Office Manager at WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. With regards to having one bedroom - our two bedroom apartments have a maximum of four guests for this very reason, and we were not aware that you had five guests in this apartment. We receive a lot of very positive feedback that our location is perfect - only 15 minutes from the centre of town and situated on 10 acres of park like grounds. All literature on our property does advise guests of our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I am so glad I can take the credit for picking this one. We had 3 nights here, as others have said, you do need a vehicle as the Resort is on the otherside of the lake about 15 minutes out of Rotorua. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartments were very good, The kitchen, and lounge downstairs was spacious and quite well stocked with all the kitchen needs. The rooms upstairs are spacious enough and with a good size bathroom. Be careful if you have real small kids or elderly people as the stairs are quite steep. We had the stair lights on at night.. just in case.. The kids loved the pool and the adults loved the setting with the lake and the river running through the resort... Pack a fly fishing rod if you have one. The cafe is open on a few days, and we had breakfast on the Friday, the only day its open for breakfast.. The cooked breaky was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. The location and resort settings are excellent, a car is required. The apartments were clean however the apartment we had was showing signs of wear & tear. Carpet on the stairs was worn, knives had broken handles, shower head had rust. The apartment was not serviced during the stay. I found out later i could have had this done for an extra charge . We did enjoy our stay, however we had a special deal on the apartment, i think if i had paid full price i wouldn't have had value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This apartment complex is located at the opposite end of the lake to the actual town, so if you wish to go anywhere you need to drive. The location on the lakefront is sensational and it would be great to have a boat. Running through the resort is a river/channel flowing out of Lake Rotorua to the next lake. There are also several little canals, which tended to be cluttered with fallen leaves and branches. Great apartments, lovely beds, the reported bugs didn't bother us at all. Air conditioning would have been a nice addition. The couple running the place were very friendly, although, because it's apartments not a hotel, the rooms were not serviced. We'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

It was exactly like the pictures in the brochure! We had a 3 bedroom apartment which had a toilet downstairs and a toilet/bathroom/laundrette upstairs. The beds were very comfy, and all the linen clean and crisp. The living area downstairs was lovely, with a self contained kitchen, big dining table, a TV/DVD and sofa bed. Outside our deck was comfy and overlooking the jetty. The water was a bit scummy, but it was so much fun to sit on the deck and watch the baby waterbirds swimming up and down.

The pool and spa were just beautiful, with great views of Lake Rotorua. The restaurant and bar were right next to the pool and tennis court. On the other side was the gymnasium which was nice and simple with all the basics. The grounds of the resort were well maintained and it was a pleasure to walk around exploring.

The resort was only about a 15 minute drive into town to do our shopping, and a pretty drive at that. We all felt so comfortable in the 10 nights we stayed there and will definitely be coming back some time. We didn't see much of the staff, as it really is a self contained resort, you come and go as you please. However the reception clerk was fantastic in telling us all the good places to sight see, good local restaurants, activites etc. Another good thing was the free wifi, made it very easy to keep in touch with everyone back in Australia. A+++

Room Tip: The apartments overlooking the jetty are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We knew it was going to be good because all Worldmark properties are, and we were not disappointed. The apartment was fantastic. A self-contained 2-br apartment, it was a great base for our 7-night stay. Our mates joined us for half of that and we enjoyed the facilities and loved the surroundings together. The kitchen was well-equipped and the amenities supplied were sufficient. The washing machine and dryer were very handy during winter. The staff was friendly and helpful, a good source of local information and made excellent recommendations. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and had their own heaters. All units face the water which always has a calming effect. We had dinner at the restaurant twice, the service was fast and the food was superb. There is a small but well-equipped gym but we opted to get our daily exercise walking around the beautiful compound and watching the locals catch trout. It's a great base for exploring Rotorua which has so many touristy offerings we were so blown away. We managed to squeeze in a trip to Taupo which was a pleasant day trip. A couple of downsides---it is not wheelchair/roller bag friendly so I struggled a bit with my luggage; another is the internet is very slow, I hope they've fixed it by now. Nevertheless, a highly recommended home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner units so you get more privacy. If you have small children, never let them out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham

Address: 1420 Hamurana Rd, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Scenic Circle Marama Resort Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is truly like no other destination. It's a fascinating mix of culture, adventure and relaxation. Renowned for being a hotbed of thermal activity, Rotorua's hot springs and spas make it the perfect getaway for pampering, stress-release and rejuvenation. At the same time it's also a place where you can truly get the heart pumping. Adrenalin-raising adventures punctuate the Rotorua landscape from thrilling luge rides, white water rafting and even rolling down a hill in a giant translucent ball (zorbing). If all that's not enough for you, then you also have an area rich in Maori history and culture and friendly locals to walk you through it all. Located just 20 minutes outside the city to ensure your getaway is relaxing, WorldMark Resort Rotorua is the perfect base for whatever brings you to this simply wonderful area of New Zealand. With apartments sleeping 4-6 people in 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and lodges (utilising double sofa bed in living room), your stay will feel like your home-away-from-home. Located on the edge of the lake, the resort offers beautiful views right over the Ohau Channel. You can kayak your way back to your room or picnic at the parklands located right within the resort. If fishing is more your thing you'll be in heaven - the area is rich in fisheries and you'll be able to throw in a line from one of the various resort banks. The apartments include all modern conveniences, with the resort also boasting outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, gymnasium and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark South Pacific Club By Wyndham Hotel Rotorua
Wyndham Rotorua
Rotorua Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark South Pacific Club by Wyndham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.