We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what the reviews advise - Pay the extra $$ and stay elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Six on Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Six on Union to your Saves list
Six on Union
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Nowra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not what the reviews advise - Pay the extra $$ and stay elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Although we didn't stay the night - first impressions count. We arrived early and decided to see if it was possible to check in. It was ok by reception so we drove around to the back of the premises and got our bags out. We were on the top floor and the owner I presumed walked in front, meanwhile myself and mother had to carry our heavy bags upstairs. The lady asked the man to help with our bags and his response was I have something heavy in the hands he was holding his cup of coffee or tea. The room was average, no electric blankets on the bed, the room was cold and the heater was on. The door on the room was frosted glass which is not appealing. I booked this hotel from the reviews of Trip Adviser I was aware it was not 5 star but thought it would be ok for the night. I received a call from my partner who was in Taupo and that I would need to go back to Taupo for the night. I am glad that we didn't stay as I think I would have left regardless of our change of plans. I went downstairs to advise and ask about cancelling and the man advised that I would have to pay the full fee. I paid the $99 and we got our bags and left. If we were to stay I would have asked for our money back. We were to stay in Rotorua the next night coming from Taupo but just headed to Auckland. I would not stay here, pay the extra $$ and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Yes, it was okay by reception(me referred to as 'the man' the owner) to check in early. I asked you to drive & park around the back, while I got the key & a jug of milk. My partner, who was walking passed as I came out of the office back door said carry their bags. I replied that I had to put the milk in the room & would come back down for the bags, but you followed directly behind me with your bags. I then returned to the office & heard your phone conversation about not being able to stay because someone in Taupo couldn't drive (which you confirmed when you came to the office to check out, no mention of you wouldn't have stayed here anyway). When asked I explained the cancellation fee which you were aware of having booked via a website. This is a standard charge made by the majority of accommodation providers.

I feel this review is unfair & based on the fact that you were charged because your plans changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
32
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We picked this place as it was recommended in our Lonely Planet guide for places to stay. It was freezing cold, didn't seem to have a working heater. Sheets/linens were old. Too cold to actually use the shower. There are plenty of other places to stay in this area that aren't much more in terms of expense, so I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
I'm sorry if you were cold but all of our units have a large radiator which most people feel is sufficient to heat the room, these are all in working order. It's a pity you didn't mention it at the time, we want our guests to be comfortable & have spare portable heaters available. As for the linen, all of our sheets, bath & hand towels were replaced in February of this year (when we changed laundry supplier) so I find that comment very unfair.
Feedback is important to us but it is helpful if it is made at the time so that we can at least attempt to rectify any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We happened to drive by, looking for somewhere good to stay, owners were very welcoming and friendly even though we have not booked. We have 2 children so ended up with a room with 2 beds in the rounge and 1 in a separate bedroom. Room was clean, tidy with kitchen and bathroom. Pretty much everything you would expect from a Motel at a good price. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Really quiet location but within easy walking distance to everything. The owners were very helpful with recommending & booking activities for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel is tired and run-down. It's also in a neighborhood that seemed pretty economically depressed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The rooms are basic, but it is a motel so I guess they are what you can expect.
The owner was very nice, he even took us to a place we wanted to see with his car when we asked him about how to get there.
The town itself is a smelly but very interesting place, don't miss the geothermal parks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Check in was quick and staff was extra friendly. Had a 1 bedroom unit (2 double beds), so we could spread out in the front living space. I love having a kitchen to make breakfast before heading out on a busy day. The grocery store is conveniently located just 1/2 block away. They had a private small pool we did not use but looked nice, but we used the large jacuzzi tub which was great after a day of walking. The area is quiet and a couple blocks off the main street of Rotorua. You can walk safely walk to the CBD but it would take10-15 mins. All the tours we went on had someone pick us up right at the motel. They had a washing machine we could have used (I think it was $2 per load). We didn't have a car, but there was parking available. Small motel which is why we picked it. Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Six on Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six on Union

Address: 6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six on Union 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Six on Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six On Union Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six on Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.