We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tresco Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tresco Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Tresco Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Toko Street | Victoria, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 49 Rotorua B&B and Inns
fife
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 1 night here in December, and it was great. The room was spacious and comfortable. Everything was provided that you could ask for. Lovely, enthusiastic hosts who couldn't do enough for us - we could have talked for ages! Great breakfast and very close to the centre in a quiet street. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
45
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Frank and his wife were fantastic hosts, with good recommendations for local restaurants and attractions. In addition to being a lovely place to stay with a delicious, cooked-to-order breakfast, they did have a room to accommodate a group of 3 (which was rare in our experience). The spa pool, complimentary internet service, and full bathroom amenities were added perks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Tresco Rotorua. Frank and Monica were lovely, and we felt very well taken care of here. The hosts take great pride in their B&B, and we felt as though we were special guests in their home. The whole establishment was very clean. Added bonuses were the spa pool and the excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights, mid-September and really enjoyed our stay. Frank and Monica were so welcoming and keen to make sure we had a good time. They are obviously very proud of their B&B and want everyone who stays to be comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing and the spa pool was just what was needed after a full-days sight-seeing. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a twin-room on the ground floor with our private bathroom opposite. This was really good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at here in June 2012 for 3 days 2 nights. It's a charming little bed and breakfast,very homey : ) It was really clean and comfortable and quiet. Even though I stayed at the blue room which is considered one of the biggest room in the B&B but I still find the size to be considered at the small side. Also, I found that the B&B did not has good noise partition, so some people might find their privacy was being affected.

Apart from that, I could barely receive any wifi in my room (Blue Room). Instead I had to go online (with the use of Wifi) at the common area which has a warmth and home style ambience. However, it has an excellent and central location, 7 mins walking distance to the city centre and restaurants, cafes as well as supermarket.

On top of that, they provide complementary airport pick up which is a bonus too as the airport is far away to the city and the airport shuttle is not considered frequent, almost 1 every 30 mins. Frank, who is the host, is a friendly and helpful guy. My flight was delayed for almost 1 hour and I did not have a chance to notify him but he was really nice and understanding. Also, he was aware that I did not drive at rotorua, so he gave me a brief city tour so that I would have a brief idea towards rotorua city. Appreciated!! Gave me advice on my trip before arrival and was pretty flexible with the time to send me off to airport too.

Overall, it was a comfortable staying experience- excellent location, clean and comfortable, friendly host and affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My 21 year old daughter and I stayed for two nights during July 2012. Our room was on the small size, but perfectly clean and comfortable. We had exclusive access to the bathroom across the hall, making it effectively equivalent to an en suite accomodation. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, though communication was sometimes difficult since English is a second language to the Asian hosts. The location is off the main thoroughfare, making it quiet inside and out. Walking to markets and restaurants would convenient. There is a car park plenty adequate for a facility this size.

Breakfast was excellent, with cereals and yogurt, a couple of types of bread/toast, and hot dishes (eggs) made to order. The house is heated geothermally (hot water from the ground piped through radiators) and we especially enjoyed the private thermal spa, relaxing in it each evening. Free internet was provided on a "public" computer.

On top of the quality of everything we experienced at Tresco, it was extremely reasonable in price. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was in 2006/7 when I was initially passing through Rotorua and was desperately looking for somewhere to stay. The information centre managed to make me a last minute booing at Tresco which was then owned by Trevor and Trinka. They were also brilliant hosts and made their B&B home from home. I have had to put 2011 to enable me to submit the review.

The only slightly off putting thing about Rotorua is the hydrogen sulphide smell from the thermal activity but in a strange way it grows on you and becomes less noticeable after a short while.

The location of Tresco is very convenient walking distance to local shops and restaurants, but if you have a car everywhere else is a short drive. Anyway I enjoyed it so much, I have stayed there twice since and am considering staying there again. I will miss Trevor and Trinka but this time with new hosts Frank and Monika.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tresco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresco Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 Toko Street | Victoria, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tresco Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Tresco Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresco Hotel Rotorua
Tresco Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresco Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.