We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay for those special occasions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua to your Saves list
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place to stay for those special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had a very comfortable 2 nights in Rotorua at Peppers on the Point. Wow , what a place to stay. The hosts were fantatsic , David and the ladies were very helpful. The billiard table is worth a go , it plays pretty true in a fantastic games room. There is even a library with a telescope. We stayed with 4 little people, and they placed us in interconnecting rooms , which provided privacy for the parents and very secure access to the little people. This demonstarted some very good thinking and consideration from the staff.
This is place for those special occasions with those special people in your life, and I think is quite good value for money.
The kids loved the spa bath, and the breakfasts were fantastic. It is handy for the other attractions in Rotorua.
My Garmin had some trouble finding the place , so make sure you have the address handy as you may need to key that in. The lovely ladies organised for the bus from te Puia to pick us up for a really cool Maori show and meal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Staying at one of the cottages at Peppers on the Point was a highlight of our honeymoon in New Zealand! Picture yourself returning to your cottage after an excellent private dinner in the main house to take a soak in the jacuzzi on your porch which overlooks the lake and has a terraced yard dropping off below where lambs graze just below you. Do yourself a favor and stay at Peppers on the Point!!! And tell the alpaca hello from his friends in the U.S.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Peppers on the Point for a weekend and were absolutely blown away! It is absolutely beautiful - what a stunning location. The weather couldn't have been more perfect and to see the sun over the Lake was quite amazing. Such a peaceful and luxurious spot.

Our chalet villa was absolutely amazing. Sitting in the hot tub overlooking the lake was incredible. It was so spacious and beautifully furnished and so private as well - what a perfect retreat for honeymooners.

Everything about Peppers on the Point felt generous - lots of lovely white, fluffy towels in the bathroom, huge bottles of luxurious toiletries and so spacious. David and his team were all incredibly warm and welcoming throughout our stay.

We had a lovely time walking through the grounds, which are filled with friendly sheep, donkeys and alpaca, roaming freely around. It's such a lovely touch that makes Peppers on the Point so unique and special for families too.

There is also a beautiful private chapel in the grounds, with a breathtaking view from the windows overlooking the lake. I'm not surprised it's a very popular destination for Weddings.

Dinner & breakfast were both delicious. I can still taste that amazing parsnip and truffle soup! It was a lovely, well-balanced meal and the service was excellent. We topped off the evening with a couple of games of billiards and a lovely walk on the beach by the lake.

We've been very fortunate to visit some incredibly luxurious and amazing lodges/hotels around the world, and I can honestly say that Peppers on the Point is right up there with the very best. It really is a beautiful and most memorable property, and we both wished we could have stayed longer.

I'm already trying to find a way of being able to return! I really can't recommend it enough and it would be the most fabulous place to take a partner for an anniversary or a special treat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Booked my honeymoon through the website and paid in full - and got told that the website rate is wrong and I need to pay the differences ! Would advise travellers to be careful when you booked Peppers , they may decide to charge you for extra later on before your trip !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, November 7, 2009
Thanks Obiwanmy for your review. Yes, unfortunately the Peppers booking engine on our web site was corrupted and incorrect rates posted against all Peppers properties, all affected clients were contacted and rates honoured where necessary. It was not a scam but a computer glitch. Thank you for your feedback.
David Smail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Booking into this lodge was really a second choice however we were extremely happy with our decision. A hoenly feel is the first thingthat strikes you about the main lodge area and within hours you will be walking around the place feeling as if it is your own.
The rooms are stunning, in neutral colors with lovely little touches including bathbombs, organic juices and plunger coffee. We stayed in a Garden View room which was one of the most beautiful rooms in the lodge (it just didn't have a view of the lake) but we were lucky enough to be able to compare with some of the other rooms which were vacant.
To top this place off the service is what makes it! The staff are just like part of the family with David being the ever affable host. This place is fantastic if you are looking for a comfortable place without having people over your shouldner all of the time - but you do get to mee some great guests too!
Dinner I found was a little over priced for the money but nothing nicer than crawling up to your room at the end of a few ports!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stunning location (you can walk down to the lakeside without leaving the grounds) and a very comfortable lodge – stayed two nights in July. Room was of a very high standard: very spacious and with a superbly appointed bathroom. Only ate one night – food excellent, but service at dinner was very slow, even by fine-dining standards and quite pricey. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our stay and what we have on offer here :at Peppers on the Point. We also love that we are part of your memorable trip to NZ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

Peppers on the Point is a 1936 mansion that has been converted into a Lodge. Its close to Rotorua in a suburban area that has all the upmarket houses and lodges, but far enough away that you feel like your a million miles away from anywhere. Spectacular views over the lake, immaculate gardens, peaceful surroundings and very comfortable suites made our stay unforgettable. The small staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and important. We opted to include the evening meals which were of a very high quality. As a total experience we felt that Peppers was within the top 5 places we have stayed at around the world.

I guess the only downside is that its expensive (much more than we would normally pay), but even so, the experience was so good that we didnt end up giving this aspect a second thought.

Highly recommended for a special occassion.

  • Liked — The spectactular lake views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our stay and what we have on offer here :at Peppers on the Point. We also love that we are part of your memorable trip to NZ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular exclusive lakeside luxury lodge with panoramic lake views. Set in 5 acres of private grounds yet only 5 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Guests may combine the pleasure of exquisitely furnished accommodation, exceptional food and wine and indulgent spa treatments, all from the luxury of one of New Zealand's premier lodges. Offering nine luxurious suites plus the 4 bedroom Lake Villa and the 2 bedroom Lake Villa Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.