We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devonwood Manor

Devonwood Manor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Devonwood Manor to your Saves list
Devonwood Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   312 Fenton Street | PO Box 6052, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Beijing, China
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The room was nice and free wifi. The bed was confortable. The bathroom is OK, clean and tidy.

The staff is kind and efficient, they do their best to help me in a proffessional way, specially front desk lady. They are nice and helpfull.

The motel is comfortable, nice and clean and the staff is very nice. This hotel is a good choice, i will come back next time.

Room Tip: Service counter agent is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Elen, Thank you for your highly complement of our staff. That is the best picture we expect to see with everyone's effort. We wish you enjoyed your holiday in NZ. Hopefully, we will have you again in not far future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

it was a good experince at Devonwood Manor in my short stay. the room is big and clean, underground heating, private spa pool, every morning cooked breakfast was delivered to my room. clean sheets, comfortable bed give me a very warm, relax environment to stay, what else could i have? the motel facilites are good, laundry, swimming pool, children playground at back yard. the host managers are very friendly, and helpful, during my stay i was very lucky had some host managers made grilled lamb and beef , which was the best grilled food i have ever had, yummy! overall, i really enjoyed my stay in Devonwod Manor, thanks the Managers, i am sure i will came back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Xiao Peng, Thank you for your review. We glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will expect to have you again. Thank you:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice tidy, clean room, friendly staff. Bed very comfy and under floor heating superb treat in the chilly weather. The shower needed a handyman's touch and I would've expected something more upmarket than soap dispensers in the bathroom, but these were minor issues. Overall, lovely place, great location for touisty stuff. It is next to a busy road but I didn't notice any traffic noise at all. The only real down point was the cooked breakfast - toast was barely more than a slightly heated piece of bread, bacon and eggs very basic. Not worth the extra cost. Would definitely stay here again, but will be popping down the road to McDs for brekkie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Robbyn, Thank you for your comments. We glad that you enjoyed most parts in our premise. We are working on our breakfast recently and hopefully, it will bring our brekkie standard to a higher level. We got our handyman fixed that unit shower after we read your post. Thank you for giving us this improvement opportunity. Hopefully, we will see you in future:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

To celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary we got a GrabOne deal and headed off to Rotorua.
We had a nice unit with a spa pool off the bedroom. The red towels were nice and soft and the sheets on the bed were crisp and clean. We had a very pleasant stay. A yummy cooked breakfast was brought to our room in the morning. Devonwood Manor is on Fenton Street and was easy to find, a good location. The hostess was lovely, very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Thanks Devonwood Manor team, we enjoyed our weekend in Rotorua with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Donna for giving us this opportunity:) We glad you enjoyed your stay. It's pity that we got know at the end it was for your special celebration. Otherwise, we would have prepared a gift for you. Hopefully, we will see you again in future. :) Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We got a special deal off Yazoom so we paid very little for what we got. But there's no way it was a Luxury room and if we had been paying normal price we would have been asking for a refund. It was very basic. Nice new kitchen and bathroom, but spoiled by cheap fittings like liquid soap dispensers in the shower so no shampoo or soap provided, and a cheap toilet-roll holder that was kept together by having tissues stuck in it. The TV in the main room only got a few channels (mostly Asian) and the bracket was unable to be tightened so the TV pointed to the floor. The room had recently been painted, but it must have been done by a blind painter with Parkinson's disease. The shower was pathetic - one of those water saving devices that make you run around in the shower to even get wet and run it for four times as long. The bathroom door had velcro on the frame in order to keep it closed. The furniture was very basic and tired. The towels were old and tired.
It might be ok for Asian tourists who are used to cheap and basic package deals but it's not up to Kiwi accommodation standards and is certainly not "Luxury"as claimed. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for spending time to write us a comment. However, we believe people who read your comment realized, disability ang ethic groups have been discriminated in your point of view. It is meaningless to explain the condition of our rooms to someone who has bias . As a motelier, we welcome objective adivse to improve our business. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A really basic motel very short on charm and ambiance. We stayed for 2 nights on AKL anniversary weekend and paid a premium price for basic accommodations with no cake of soap/ no shampoo no towel rails so no environmental natural drying of towels or anywhere to hang hand towel. Cobwebs and spiders in bathroom, Stair bulustrade not up to code and unsafe for small children, TV reception terrible,beds very soft, sore back the next day, room not serviced. Located on main road and traffic noise loud. Pool is less than half the size it appears on web site and is located in the carpark with no gardens or beautification attempted. Not the kind of place I would choose to stay and was really disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are very sorry to hear your visit with us was not to your liking. We are, however very disappointed that not once during your stay with us you made us aware of any of the issues you state in your review.
Firstly, our tariff is visible before you make a reservation. According to the booking docket we got here, your booking was made for 2 people. On arrival it turned out that there were actually 4 people staying. Extra guests were charged, as per our policy, on arrival. We are sorry that this made you feel you were staying at premium cost. Secondly, to support eco-tourism, we do have shampoo and hand soap dispensers in the bathroom of each unit. They all are topped up by our cleaner daily. Thirdly, there is no TV reception problem in that unit. We do have different settings for Digital Freeview and Sky channels. If you would have taken a second to read our guide booklet, you would have realized that all the information you needed was in there. Even if you would have contacted our receptionist, you would have got the help you needed straight away. As for the size of our swimming pool, we have never received anything but raving feedback on our swimming pool so we were very surprised that you felt that it was not big enough. All in all, we encourage of all of our guests to let us know when they feel we have not provided the best possible care. In the future, please let us know right away, if the issues are important enough to voice it online then they must be as important to voice at the time they take place. Our staff is always willing to provide assistance where needed. Placing a bad review without giving us a chance to provide you with a solution or offer assistance is not fair at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was awesome. Pretty old fashioned with the furniture and linen but overall great. The lady at the front desk was very polite. The staff were pretty easy going. The pool was great. The rooms with 5 beds for 6 people are upstairs. Fairly big kitchen but only a 2 seater couch. Big round dining table with 6 or so chairs. Great location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonwood Manor

Address: 312 Fenton Street | PO Box 6052, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonwood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Devonwood Manor. We have 35 units in different type to satisfy our different guests' requirements. Our units have been refurbished in 2009. Great accessibility. Affordable price, friendly staff and multi-functional services make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Devonwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonwood Manor Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonwood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.