We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average B&B....funky but clean and tidy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation to your Saves list
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Jack & Di's Lake View Accommodation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not your average B&B....funky but clean and tidy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Diana's is close to the lake, nice shopping and dining but this is not your average B&B. First of all, it has several names attached to it and can be confusing. The exterior of Diana's is in need of an update and maintenance but the interior is clean and very uniquely furnished with contemporary and antique pieces. It's kinda of like a "do-it-yourself" design and use what you have. Funky but charming. Website states recently refurb'd but not the kitchen or exterior.

This is a self service B&B. You check yourself in and serve yourself breakfast and check yourself out. Simple and easy as that. Starting with a telephone box located at the front door which you call the number taped to the phone and then "check-in". You are then provided with a door access code The phone box is just a bit scary with telephone and line wires hanging everywhere. Especially since it's next to "caution" tape skirting the wonky sloping sidewalk to the entrance. Repairs might be happening but not recently. Cobwebs, everywhere. Not such a good first impression but let's see what happens next.

Once you get in the front door, the lounge room and guest rooms are actually quite tidy and clean. There is a large lounge room with a kitchen and three guest rooms and an attached deck on the lower/main floor. The neighborhood views are nice but the hot tub has the best view, only. The deck is also a bit tired, worn and a bit funky. It was fairly stuffy in our room/downstairs area from being closed up all day, we supposed. Definitely hard to get the breeze at night with all of the little bugs and biting flies. At least the bed was very comfy and the towels nice and clean.

For a recently refurbished B&B, our guest bathroom was in need of further consideration. The shower curtain did not fit and there wasn't a stall for the shower base so the water went all over the floor! The vanity is miniature (smallest one I have ever seen) and there aren't any electrical outlets in the bathroom (one close by in the bedroom) The kitchen has not been updated either. The faucet almost fell over into the sink! As for breakfast, frozen cheap white bread, trim milk and packets of inexpensive jams in the fridge. No juice, no fruit, no pastry. I know the room is rather inexpensive, but when advertising as a B&B, please try not to be dishonest.

Room Tip: Bring breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We booked the three bedroom apartment with the private balcony spa and it was amazing. I could stretch out completely in the spa and just float and the view was lovely. The bedrooms were spacious with large clean and comfortable beds. Plenty of pillows and blankets were supplied. The bed looked gorgeous but I chose to take most of them off to sleep. The lounge was incredibly comfortable and so huge while the kitchen was perfectly clean and functional. We were able to do some washing in the little laundry on the balcony and we even found upon returning to our room in the afternoon that the fridge had been re-stocked with milk and fresh towels supplied. Definitely a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our experience staying here last week was really good!!! We loved the location; it's so close to the town and with views of the lake and historic Baths, and overlooking the Maori Village. i really felt I was "in Rotorua" New Zealand!

I was surprised how big the place was, the lounge is a great size and I like the flexibility of using the kitchen to cook what we like and when we like it. I thought it was good there were basics of bread and spreads etc and cereals available. We could cook up a big breakfast and know we are not going to offend anyone or be disappointed.
The furnishings are quirky and everything is crisp and clean.
Candace, the manager is fantastic. She was really helpful and a If we rang she would be really prompt. Would definitely recommend this place and thought it was good value for money.

Stayed Fe

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudarg
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

First problem we had was finding the place! We had booked via Booking.com 'Lakeside Apartments'; nobody had thought to advise us that in the interim, the name had been changed!
Nevertheless, a not unpleasant stay in a idiosyncraticaly furnished apartment.
Comfortable room, nice deck & hot tub.
Good 'makings' for breakfast. All in all an acceptable stay.
On the down side, the slum between the end of the property and the lake. Open fires, caravans rubbish etc, what a shame.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Really liked this place - fab location - short walk to town, overlooks lake & 2 Maori villages, well appointed bedroom, but the hum from the spa in the unit downstairs is very loud - spa was turned off at 11pm but started up at 5am! Fab views to the lake, great bifolding doors, great double swing seat, new carpet throughout, airconditioning, apratment is light & spacious. Accommodation could be improved by having a decent sized dining room table. My friend says the fold out couch in the lounge is really comfortable and she liked that the sheets are clean, white & crisp. Kitchenette was fine for our needs - has a dishdrawer, microwave & cooktop. Comfy leather look lounger. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

In rating the property as we did we had come to terms with its thermal setting. At times the sulphur odour was very noticeable. The deck overlooks the lake and a Maori village with scattered thermal fumes arising.

A short walk into town provided many options for eating........and drinking.

We were aware that there was no on site greeting but checkin was easy and worked for us. Candace was very obliging, immediately responding to a call that let her know there was no ironing board ......one was supplied but not really adequate....a mini version only.

We also had to request extra glasses as there were only two unmatched wine glasses - one large and one very small.......not good. Two champagne flutes arrived next morning.

The penthouse is well renovated and decorated in general although the bathroom and kitchen are dated. The deck area is useful but needed some attention and an umbrella would have been useful.

All in all we were happy and would recommend to a others at the price point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Candace who is the manager of this property was brilliant & helped us in every way possible & was always friendly & polite. She was always contactable & on hand to answer questions or help out when needed so a credit to this place.
The apartments location was brilliant, it was spacious, quiet & had amazing views & parking was never a hassle though it was a first come first serve basis if you wanted to park in front of the Penthouse. There was plenty of parking over the road but to me when paying for a Penthouse one should get the parking space? As we arrived in the wee late hours of early morning Candace did arrange the space to be available for us which was a great help as we did not want to disturb people with hauling in luggage from over the road.
The apartment itself was very spacious though a tad tired & certainly not of what one would expect of Penthouse quality & it really should not be named this as it is very deceiving. Having said that it was partially refurbished & I believe this is a work in progress which is good to know & by now they should have new carpets which were badly needed. The couch was new & extremely comfortable & so was the bed which also had very nice linen & was made up beautifully.
It had a good iron but a ridiculous piddly ironing board which should be remedied as there is space to store it. Sadly no washing machine which would have been extremely helpful if staying there a long time. Perhaps a good hint when renovating the bathroom?
It had a great spacious kitchen with dishwasher, microwave & big cooktop but very limited crockery, cutlery, pots etc (2 of each) which was very silly as it meant you had to wash a glass or a cup etc after your first use which was annoying. Candace was very helpful & did go out & get us more cups but really the apartment should have a minimum of 6 place settings at least to be practical.
The bathroom was tired & in sore need of a spruce up so hope fully this has now been done?
The place was extremely hot & we would not recommend staying there in summer unless heat does not bother you but Candace did mention she is looking into reverse cycle air-conditioning so if this happens that would make a world of difference & it would be a very nice place to stay especially with the lovely lake views & the balcony to enjoy them from.

Having said all this we did enjoy our stay here, to me it was overpriced as it is not a Penthouse at all but if the renovations continue then it could become a very pleasant place & if Candace continues to manage then you could not go wrong.

Room Tip: If in summer check to see if air-conditioning has been installed otherwise it will be stifling &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation

Address: 21 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Jack & Di's Lake View Accommodation)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unforgettable Rotorua Lake View Accommodation. Welcome to Diana's Place, where we are delighted to offer you two unique holiday accommodation options situated in stunning Lake Rotorua locations on the North Island of New Zealand. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a trip with family and friends, or a corporate retreat, we can offer the accommodation you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack & Di`s Lake View Hotel Rotorua
Jack And Di`s Lake View Accommodation
Jack Dis Lake View Accommodation

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.