We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent a great afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcanic Hills Winery

Volcanic Hills Winery
185 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
+64 21 750 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 72 Activities in Rotorua
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rotorua now has a unique wine experience in its tourism repertoire with our new Volcanic Hills winery. The winery is established at the base of the Skyline Rotorua site, visitors are able to see how the wine is made before taking a gondola ride up to Volcanic Hills HQ to our tasting and wine sales room. Situated high up within the popular skyline tourism attraction's mountain-top complex. (Tasting Room open, Winery will open end of March 2013)
Rotorua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spent a great afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The weather was bad so no views but the wines and staff were awesome. We ordered a cheese board to accompany the wines. It was the best value cheeseboard I have ever had and the cheese selection enhanced the flavour of the wines to perfection.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Shame you missed out on the View but great that you enjoyed your Volcanic Hills Wine tasting experience and Cheese Platter.. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Regards
Jo Beer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papakura, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous wine tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

At the top of skyline you find the volcanic hills where Annie will look after you and provide an interesting commentary whilst you quaff wine.
Whilst the grapes are from elsewhere it is Annie's warmth and the brilliant setting that makes this a fabulous place to taste or eat drink and while the hours away.
Annie you are a star !!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your review.. I will pass on to Annie your comments.. Regards Jo Beer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A winery with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This winery has been open just 1 year so we opted to go to a wine tasting before eating at the Skyline restaurant. The wines are all from the Marlborough region and tasted lovely. We tried 5 for $12 but if you buy a bottle the tasting is free. They also do an excellent Port and food platters. The views are amazing and I could easily have spent hours up there relaxing. Annie our host was knowledgeable, funny and welcoming and we had a great laugh with her. We will enjoy our bottle and will visit again next time we are there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Sounds like you were well entertained by Annie. Pleased you enjoyed your Wine Tasting and thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind Regards Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must do for any wine lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Great wine tasting and wine to buy. Staff were so friendly and very knowledgeable about wine and the local area with things to do and places to eat. Excellent!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks Jodie for your review..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Laid back enjoyable wine experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I purchased the gondola and wine tasting package and found it to be a well worthwhile way to spend an afternoon.

The whole experience from when we walked into their tasting area until we left was excellent, they were friendly and knowledgeable, and more than happy to talk about any wine related subject, as well as give us ideas of where else we might like to travel for a similar experience.

The best thing we did in rotorua!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Wow the best thing you did in Rotorua.. great feedback.. Thanks for taking the time to review us . Kind Regards Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanic Hills Winery also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Volcanic Hills Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcanic Hills Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.