We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A BLOODY DISASTER!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Kurious Kiwi Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

The Kurious Kiwi Restaurant & Bar
209 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
00 64 7 3461105
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Kurious Kiwi is the place to come and toast the famous kiwi you know and love! We are open daily from 11.30am and pride ourselves on providing fresh NZ cuisine whenever possible. You can try our NZ Lamb Rump, NZ Pulled Pork, Roast Chicken & Mushroom Pie or one of our yummy sandwiches or burgers. We have an amazing NZ Wine List to try with some of the best NZ wines in the world!We can cater for any type of function with our private Moa Room and love to cater for big groups. Come in and enjoy a NZ beer or cocktail in our Kea Lounge Bar or sunny outside area or try one of NZ cuts of meat from our Butcher's Block or meals from our extensive menu.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WHAT A BLOODY DISASTER!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Poppas birthday was to be a special event, well NOT if you have dinner at THE KURIOUS KIWI. The manager, after asking us to wait for 20 mins, FORGOT us and an hour and a half later we were RELUCTANTLY seated. Monday night, mains were LIMITED they had RUN OUT of, fish, including the salmon, the burger, Sliders and the Fish of the day, also no pasta the vegetarian dish... 5 of the 12 choices UNAVAILABLE!! When we did get our mains the lamb steak was so bloody it was RAW and blood was dripping Into the salad and off the plate. Many of the dishes ingredients were MISSING also, no beetroot, no feta, no walnuts... Lucky to get that I suppose as the English manager an EXTREMELY RUDE young woman had actually THROWN the menus on the table and walked off. There was NO SERVICE just RUDE ATTITUDE from this woman front of house, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY AT THIS POORLY RUN< DISORGANIZED PLACE. The place was in near darkness as half the resturant had no lighting, this was blamed onto the building owners? Wouldnt blame them really you actually dont want people to see whats presented. PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF $300 AND DONT GO HERE IT WOULD RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY!!! We are locals from Rotorua and do not want our visitors to think this is how we treat our guests, Try EAT STREET.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    40
    30
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Found it driving by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat with friends and saw it while we were driving past McDonalds. Unfortunately parked in McDonald's so had to move the car into the shopping centre area which was quite a hike for a newby to town in the dark. However we were very pleasantly surprised with the menu which was varied and covered just about everything (considering we were expecting basic bar food). Apparently the restaurant used to be part of a franchise but then they set up The Kurious Kiwi. I am sure they will go a long way and perhaps even start their own franchise?? We did not have a booking but were able to get a table immediately. Service was with a smile. Food was delicious and well presented. Very good value for money. Would definitely visit again when in Rotorua. I'd recommend the mussels. I saw at another table that they even had miniature burgers (bite-sized) for the kids - really cute. And also they catered for the "small eater" on the menu which I thought was a real plus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Better than expected (especially desserts!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Expecting something like a Denny's, this was much better. Good range of menu items with interesting selections. The salmon was cooked perfectly and both nights I ate there I had really nice food. The dessert selection is very 'kiwi' and while some sound like strange mixtures of items, the one I had was great. Close to town and easy to find, more or less opposite Pak'n'Save. A great find.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food but it took 1 hour, 45 minutes to get our meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We had reservations for 6:00 pm. for 6 people AND we had a 3-week old baby with us. We ordered about 6:15 and were finally served at 8:15! Luckily, we had ordered fries as a starter and because they had a designated gluten-free menu which was what we were looking for, for our gf friend, we decided to stay. However, by 8:00 we were done. We inquired about our meal with the manager and she asked if she could comp us some drinks. We didn't want the desserts she offered since we don't really do desserts and we needed to get the baby home. Good food, but a two hour wait for our meal was ridiculous. She did comp the extra ginger beer my husband ordered. We will be trying other restaurants while visiting our family in Rotorua but will not be returning to this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good quality food for a reasonable price. the service was excellent, our waitress was knowledgeable. We did go on a quiet night and although they were quite keen to close, but they didn't rush us out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kurious Kiwi Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kurious Kiwi Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.