We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before stopping here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Princes Gate Hotel - Club Restaurant & Memories Restaurant

Princes Gate Hotel - Club Restaurant & Memories Restaurant
1057 Arawa St | Princes Gate Hotel, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Princes Gate High Tea)
07 348 1179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 151 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Seafood, Dessert, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Whether it’s the traditional formality of Memories or the modern elegance of The Club, The Princes Gate has restaurants to tempt all palates. Dine a la carte in Memories, with its fine food, chandeliers and crisply starched white tablecloths, or instead opt for the spacious, fresh modernity of The Club.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Think twice before stopping here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

High Tea is an experience to be shared ... just not here.
My hubby and I saw the poster for High Tea and were keen to try it so in Feb 2014, reserved a table. The whole experience was a huge disappointment. What a waste of $56. If you read a review by disgruntled visitors from Tauranga, 8 Oct 2012, you'd be shocked that nothing has changed, except the price has gone up! We walked in and were made to feel like an inconvenience. The attendant ushered us into the 'lounge', which would've been a nice place to eat. Nope. After a long wait, we were asked to go in to the dining area. Very noticeable is the smell in the dining room which is very stale, musty and unpleasant. The huge lily flower arrangement in the middle of the room was old, dusty and had a few spider webs. The room is also in dire need of a renovation, due to its outdated, dull décor.

A group of 6 adults were already seated and waiting for their meals when we arrived. After another long wait, a chap brought a pot of tea, filled our cups, then walked away with the pot. He had a bad dose of B.O. (stinky body odour!). Service was poor and very slow. We waited ages before he returned with milk for the tea, which was now lukewarm. As I mentioned earlier, there were only eight people in the restaurant.The other table were served their meals, including a High Tea. Finally after 40 minutes, our High Tea arrived. The sandwiches were stale, crumbly and dry. They must've been cut with a very blunt knife, because there was still crust on some of the edges. All we had was a quarter salmon sandwich each and a quarter ham and tomato sandwich each. We had ONE scone the size of a small tomato to share with lashings of cream and jam! And for the sweet we each had one short pastry thing with custard and a mini muffin, both stale. What a let down. That was it. I would've been happier if we'd driven straight past Princes Gate Hotel and donated the $56 to the SPCA. What a dismal afternoon. I'm so embarrassed that the visitors at the other table also suffered the same service.

I suggest the person who made the Princes Gate signature High Tea, takes a visit to Langham Hotel in Auckland to experience a Tiffin Afternoon Tea. That's a real High Tea.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    5
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, classic dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Saturday, November 16, 2013 our group of 29 enjoyed a delicious lunch in the lovely surroundings and ambience of the 5-star historic Princes Gate Hotel. (http://princesgate.co.nz) Excellent food; superbly presented; attentive friendly service; in a quiet formal dining room. My entrée was Pan-fried Salmon on Bok Choy with Miso Buerre Blanc (32NZD), and my dessert was Chocolate & Raspberry Tart with Crème Fraiche, Mascarpone & Mixed Berry Compote (13.50 NZD).
After lunch we walked through the nearby Rotorua’s Government Gardens, where we saw an English Lawn Ball Game.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrific Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife & I were part of a tour group that had lunch in the main dining room. We felt as though we were under dressed as compared to the elegance of the dining room and the meal being served. The food was terrific and the service was spot-on. Wish we could have stayed longer..

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dated and below any rateable standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This facility probably had its days. Rust outside, dirty, outside walls crumbly down, dirty, food below the worst average, undrinkable coffee, but nice napkins, probably from the era when this hotel was popular. I wish I didn't have to say this, but I strongly recommend anyone to stay away from this place, until it's totally refurbished. I have to say that the waiter was apologetic, and ashamed on behalf of the owners. I hope he'll find a job at a better place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Attended the cabaret show which was wonderful.
The food was less than average and the waiting staff just did not get our orders right the whole way.
Breakfast the next morning was not much better

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princes Gate Hotel - Club Restaurant & Memories Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Princes Gate Hotel - Club Restaurant & Memories Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princes Gate Hotel - Club Restaurant & Memories Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.