We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vitamin Korean Restaurant

Vitamin Korean Restaurant
1145 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 153 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprise!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the first time to visit Rotorua and I was really surprised to see Korean restaurant and it was really tasty too! Double bonus!!

We had a dinner there in 18th Dec 2013 and the owner was Korean lady( I assume she was a owner) she was very nice, the food was impressive as I am a Korean.
I wasn't expecting to find Korean restaurant in Rotorua and the taste of food was above average!

When we had a dinner, we saw some Korean people looks like they lived there having a meal there too. They seems know the Korean lady and seems enjoy the food.

The restaurant has some of Korean- Chinese food menu which is very common in Australia & NZ Korean restaurant. We have our version of Chinese food restaurant in Korea everywhere so it is very common to see Korean version of Chinese food in Korean restaurant.

Overall, the food was very good and service was good and will definitely going back to eat again if i visit Rotorua again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tasty but pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The food is very tasty, with large portions and tasty side dishes. However it is quite pricy, as there's not much competition in Rotorua.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not an authentic korean restaurant.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It says korean restaurant but it's owned by Chinese who don't have a clue on how to make korean dishes. Rice was dry, vegetables were the frozen stuff you buy from the supermarket. The shrimps were dehydrated so I'm assuming it's also one of those cheap packets from the local supermarket. The side dishes were tasteless and aren't very "korean"

Not authentic at all, very disappointed. Will not be eating here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua District, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

i tried other korean restaurant here in rotorua, but like Vitamin. Reasonable price, big servings, delicious, yummy and i love it! il be back on my birthday!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tung Chung
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Korean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Simple eatery but good, honest Korean fare. Stone pot rice, Kimchi and Tofu soup and Squid stir fry all delicious, fast to the table and a decent price. Good selection of options on the menu and they will probably put a good hotpot together if you ask. They also have Cass and some Souchu options if you fancy a tipple. Don't be put off by other reviews, if you are used to simple real deal Asian food then give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vitamin Korean Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Vitamin Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vitamin Korean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.