We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Canopy Tours

Rotorua Canopy Tours
173 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
0064 7 343 1001
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$107*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tour. An incredible experience built and opened in 2012 this 3 hour eco adventure includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!!
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Such a fun tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was a cold and rainy day, so we got all bundled up (they weren't kidding when they say they have gear to keep you warm!) and headed to the forest. The guides were so much fun and gave us a ton of information about Rotorua as well as the forest. They were very serious about safety, but they still seemed like they were having fun themselves. Some of the platforms were scarier than the ziplines themselves, they were so small and had no guardrails! They keep you buckled in though so there's no real need to worry. It was hard to get a sense of how high you really were for some of the areas, which I think might have been good. I wish we had done this tour before we did any other tracks because we learned so much about the plants and birds that would have been good to know earlier in our trip. Even though it was cold and rainy that day we hardly felt the chill, between all of the layers we got and the protection from the trees we didn't get nearly as wet as I had expected. Don't let weather change your mind on this one! They took lots of pictures for us and then give you the info to download them, which is awesome. You can take a small camera and they will help hook it to your gear too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    33
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Adventure, fun, natural history and excitement all in one venture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a great experience. We got to zipline through the canopy of an ancient forest and learn about its grandeur in the process.

The van takes you from Rotorua office to the destination and returns you to the venue.

The instructors were great, lots of fun and informative.

Next time we come back ... we're taking the kids (7 and 10 years) ... for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We've already planned our next trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We brought the kids and my not-very-fit parents along, and we all absolutely loved this tour. It was the highlight of our time in Rotorua. We have overseas family coming in February, and we have put the Canopy Tour on the top of the 'Must Do' list. The guides are terrific; friendly, funny, and quick to put people at ease - but also quietly skilled and very safety conscious so that you can relax knowing that they have double-checked every harness, rope and attachment, so that you don't have to. You really get your money's worth with this one, and the views and experience are hard to put into words.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Its Got To Be A 10 out of 10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its not often you have an experience that cannot be faulted but the Rotorua Canopy Tours has hit the jackpot. The individuality of this attraction and the results the experience delivers are quite exceptional and I can totally recommend for all age groups.
The person who came up with this idea must have been a little 'way out there' and how they have managed to put this idea into reality doesn't worth thinking about.
In essence you are taken to a fabulous NZ native forest, taken up to the canopy heights, strapped into a harness, clipped onto a flying fox or what they call a Zipline and told to walk off the edge of a platform. One of the lines is 220 meters long and what seemed to be miles above the forest floor and over the tops of trees you fly.
What is great about this attraction is the total package. A bit of exhilaration, fantastic scenery and an educational aspect thrown in. The guides are totally professional and safety conscious and convey the bird life and on going conservation work which part of the entry fee is used for.
You have to give this a go, it will have you buzzing for days afterwards.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 hours close to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a fantastic time during our 3 hours tour through the most pristine forest we've ever seen! Picked up from our accommodation we went to the office and got first instructions to the tour and the safety equipment. With only 10 people we were a quite small group and got to know each other while driving to the forrest. We started the tour with a walk to the first platform and Gary and Jo gave us so much interesting information about the area, the birdlife and the conservation activities. Zipping from tree to tree, enjoying the amazing forest, meeting lovely people and learning a lot about New Zealand's nature was definitely an excellent experience we will never forget!!! THANK YOU!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Canopy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.