We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-do when in Rotorua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotorua Canopy Tours

Rotorua Canopy Tours
173 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
0064 7 343 1001
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$107*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tour. An incredible experience built and opened in 2012 this 3 hour eco adventure includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!!
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must-do when in Rotorua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Canopy Tour is one of the best activities I've ever found. The guides were brilliant and did as much to inform about the forest and wildlife as they did to entertain. Zip-lining across 220m of forest between 400 year old giant Rimu trees is quite an experience. Will be going again and recommend to everyone. A perfect trip for all ages.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    33
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, NZ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrific, virgin bush, thrills, peace all in one experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Canopy Tours is relatively new but the experience of the guides is extensive. They are helpful, knowledgable, encouraging, understanding. The flying foxes are fun and completely safe. Full harnesses are worn by everyone. Flying over the canopy of New Zealand forest is such a thrill.
'Must do' experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Canopy zip lines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed an extra day in Rotorua because we were unable to book our first choice and when i spoke to a lovely man at the I site centre he said it was well worth putting in an extra day to do the Canopy tour as he had done it just a week or so ago and loved it.
He was right of course. Right from the get go James came and got us and made us feel welcome. Garry and Colin our guides were friendly, professional and helpful and made me feel that i could trust them with the heights; I am not crazy about heights but no body had a problem zipping along the line. The forest is Pristine and beautiful and the eco education added to the spirit of the adventure. It was amazing to be up amongst the towering mature native trees, it felt a bit surreal and then to zip across the gaps was fantastic. We all loved it and have recommended to lots of others already. You will have to make sure you book though, as it is turning out to be very popular, with good reason. Thanks for the experience, and we are very grateful to you for sending through our jacket that we forgot, and also the photos were much appreciated. All in all an A++++++ experience. You do N.Z proud

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
“A great Eco-adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a fantastic morning, zipping through this pristine, unspoilt forest! For someone who doesn't have a head for heights this was a blast. A great adventure, but we felt safe at all times. The guides were brilliant, knowledgeable about ecology and conservation, and even the corny jokes on the bus were entertaining. Suitable for almost anyone really with average fitness. Great value for a three and a half hour adventure!!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top NZ Attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had an amazing time on the Rotorua Canopy Tours! There isn't anything else like zipping through pristine rainforest. Our guides were fantastic, and their spirit of conservation was contageous. I couldn't help but be awestruck at the gorgeous natural surroundings. We learned so much on the trip while having an unbelievably fun time. This is a must-do if you're in Rotorua!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Canopy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.