We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua to your Saves list
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 , New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE Breakfast For Two
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

It's rare to arrive at a hotel and the first thing you think after 5 minutes is "I've got to write a review on TripAdvisor".

Arrived here for a one night stay and got a very warm welcome and help booking a Maori Night. Receptionist was full of great info about what to do.

Room was recently renovated, very well decorated, very clean and tidy.

We regretted only staying in rotorua for 1 night as there was so much to do.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Kia Ora Stephen,

What a fantastic review - thank you very much! We are happy you put your first thought in action and reviewed us on TripAdvisor. It is helpful to know precisely how we are doing and it brightens our days when we read such nice words.

It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and we picked the right attractions for you to do. We do make an effort to keep ourselves informed and pass on information for activities we personally enjoy.

Please come back and stay with us again so you can see all the things in Rotorua you missed the last time and maybe treat yourself with a private SPA pool in your unit.

Lovely meeting you and thank you once again for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!

Kind Regards,

the team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    94
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
134
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My friend and I stayed for one night at RotoVegas. As some have pointed out, the location is great and very close to lots of good stuff, but it's also never loud. Having a hot tub in the room was a nice change too. The rooms are a little small, but their layout is clever so you never feel crowded. Most importantly, Phil (I believe?) was extremely accommodating and helped us plan some of our activities during our stay. He even helped me change my tire when I got a flat!!! Needless to say, if I could give RotoVegas 6 stars, I would.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Kia Ora from RotoVegas!
Thanks for your excellent review. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great time with us. The team at RotoVegas Motel is dedicated to quality customer service and it is such a wonderful feeling to receive positive feedback, so thank you very much!

Rotorua offers so many activities and attractions. Our aim is to help our guests choosing the right things for their interests and creating a special trip to Rotorua. Great that we achieved that for your holiday! Although we'd have loved you staying with us for longer, we sure helped you with your flat tire! We hope you had a safe trip to your next destination and we would be glad if you find the way back to RotoVegas Motel another time.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The rooms very clean and the kitchen fully stocked with most required items.
The bathroom was also spacious & toiletries provided were not run of the mill.
The staff was very helpful and gave tips as to what to see & do without being asked.They also gave a few vouchers which would give us a discount for the local sights. I would suggest one should book the 3 bed rooms instead of the twin beds since the rooms are much bigger & if possible book one with the built-in spa. Very good property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Kia Ora Rajesh,

Thank you a lot for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We really appreciate it.
It was lovely meeting the four of your group and we were very sorry that we were only able to extend your stay for one more night instead of the two you asked for. Due to the Easter holidays, we were already fully booked.

All of our units are fully self contained and allow our guests to prepare easily small meals or cooked breakfasts. We always encourage our guests on feedback if they would appreciate more or different utensils for cooking, therefore we recently equipped rice cookers and chopsticks in all our kitchens!

We are pleased to hear your time with us fulfilled your expectations and our discount vouchers came handy - please come back again and treat yourself with one of our lovely and spacious SPA units.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This motel is great, it has large rooms which are very quiet. It's a very short walk to the centre of town. Although the hotel is off the main road there is no noise reaching the rooms. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Kia Ora from Rotorua!

Thank you so much for a lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. RotoVegas Motel is centrally located -just 10 minutes walk away from Rotorua's Eat Street, 5 minutes walk to the central mall with plenty of shops and only across the road from a large supermarket!
Our aim is to create the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible with continuously improving our facilities and great recommendations about sights and activities in Rotorua.
Have a lovely day and we hope to see you again at Rotovegas Motel.

Kind Regards,
Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here during the Easter holiday break. We got the two-bedroom apartment with a hot tub (maximum 4 people). The sizes of the rooms were descent and there was plenty of room for our toddler to play around. The hot tub is ideally located on the outside private-patio, though we wished we used it more. The kitchenette had enough utensils and supplies, for home-made cooking.
The motel is conveniently located; opposite the motel is a handy fruit and vege store, a butcher and a florist. Slightly opposite the motel is a liquor store and Countdown supermarket. Restaurants such as Cobb & Co, Burger King, McDonald's are about a 1 minute walk away, as well as department stores such as Rebel Sport and the Warehouse. Our toddler enjoyed the safe trampoline in the big grassy area, and we adults enjoyed the petanque set. The pool is a reasonable size that's warm, though we didn't try the sauna or plunge pool.
Plenty of parking (both inside the area and on the road). It was raining quite a bit, given Cyclone Ita's remnants were passing over Rotorua, so we were grateful to have free wifi and complimentary DVDs to keep us busy indoors.
Rotovegas motel is definitely a place I would stay next time I come down to Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
We are happy to hear you had a great time with us during Easter 2014. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best but as you said, we are trying real hard to entertain our guests on site for those miserable days.
We just recently stocked up our DVD and book library and just before Easter we increased the temperature of our outdoor pool to lovely warm 37 degrees.
In our compendium we have also selected our top picks for things-to-do in Rotorua while it is pouring down.
It was so lovely meeting you and your family and we hope you'll be back another time and stay with us at RotoVegas Motel.

Ngā Mihi nui, Nā

The whole team from RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our hosts at the RotoVegas Motel were helpful, friendly and considerate. The motel was close to town but the rooms were away from the main road and surprisingly quiet. We had a spa studio, which was very clean and bigger than we expected.

Our 6 month old daughter particularly enjoyed the spa (which is thermally heated, but not thermal water & ok for little ones) and tired herself out with excitement... Which meant a good night's sleep for everyone. No hesitation in recommending the RotoVegas Motel - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Kia Ora Jeremy,

We were so pleased to hear that you and your family had a good time in Rotorua and here staying at RotoVegas Motel.
Our retro studios are spacious units and ideal for couples with little ones. The spa pool is big fun - especially when the weather is not the greatest. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to be able to adjust the temperature in the spa pools as they like it, so even babies can have a dip with mum and dad.
We hope to welcome you again one time - maybe in summer when you can enjoy our great outside facilities with trampoline, sandpit, BBQ and petanque area.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!
Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We rented the RotoVegas House and there was plenty of room with all amenities that were needed. It was relaxing and perfect for our needs with a full kitchen and everything we needed to BBQ our own meals and eat dinner at one table together. The house itself is a bit worn but adds to the charm of the small city and was clean so that is all that mattered. We would definitely go back to the RotoVegas House.

Room Tip: this is a perfect place for large families and the Management was awesome in giving good tips for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 , New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-7 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.