We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Guy & Gal Challenge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Save Saved
You added RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 , New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #5 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Tough Guy & Gal Challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently took part in the Tough Guy & Gal Challenge and RotoVegas Motel was perfect.
Great location with the supermarket and liquor store right across the road and just 5-10 min walk to bars, pubs, and restaurants.
Having the spa in our room and the heated outdoor pool to relax in after the race was amazing! It definately helped our recovery so we felt well enough to enjoy the nightlife Rotorua had to offer.
The service was really helpful and friendly. I would definately recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Kia Ora Liddy,

Thank you for staying with us again and we look forward to seeing you in Oct for the hockey. It was a lot of fun watching all the Tough Guy & Gal Challenge guests come and go over the weekend. Rotovegas Motel is in a great LOCATION on FENTON street to the city and shops and of course the night life, so I am glad you made use of them all!

Thanks again for your lovely review, it does help other guests BOOK WITH US for the 2013 TOUGH GUY & GAL CHALLENGE!!!

Cheers Nat and Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    65
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
78
91
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked a 2 bed room for 6 friends coming to the Tough Guy/Gal challenge. The room was great, and had everything we needed, the only motel of 8 I visited that had a big enough room available for 6. Having 2 bathrooms was really handy for the girls, especially gettting ready for a night out and the spa was much appreciated after the race. Thanks Bryce for your awesome hospitality, you were friendly and helpful from booking the room to after checkout - holding onto stuff that had been left in the room for me.
Overall, great price, large clean rooms, excellent location, super friendly staff - highly recommend for anyone coming to vegas

Room Tip: There are different 2 bdrm rooms avail - ask for 2 bathrooms if you'd prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It is so great to see another TOUGH GUY & GAL CHALLENGE guest enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for the amazing review regarding our two bedroom spa unit. I am pleased to see out of 8 other motels we could exceeded on PRICE, CLEANLINESS, EXCELLENT LOCATION and SUPER FRIENDLY STAFF.

We hope to see the girls down in Vegas again sometime soon.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Rotovegas motel. Great friendly staff, fun rooms, warm pool, and wonderfully accommodating hosts. Close to town, opposite supermarket and close enought to ride to the Redwoods. Really appreciated ease in storing our bikes in safe secure storeroom after riding each day. We can't wait to head back and see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Karen,

It was a pleasure to meet you and your husband. I am glad you got to enjoy our great outdoors for Mountain Biking.
We look foward to seeing you and your family again next year in RotoVegas House.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed in the family economy room with my three friends and found the room perfectly suited, clean and spacious and at a great price. We loved the heated pool, our room was great with comfy beds, perfect central location and our hosts were lovely and friendly. It was extra nice being able to wash our clothes after completing the Tough Guy mud run and not have to worry about dealing with dirty washing when we got home. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We always appreciate our guests taking their time to write on tripadvisor, so thank you very much. Our FAMILY UNITS have recently been upgraded, with modern bathroom/shower facilities which I am pleased you enjoyed.
It is great to see you have done your research and discovered that our FAMILY units are GREAT VALUE for money and SPACIOUS (with COMFY beds) too! Yes the OUTDOOR HEATED pool is very popular in winter (at 35c - we like to think it's the biggest outdoor SPA pool in Rotorua).
Thanks again for the POSTIVE review.

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thanks Bryce and Nat for a great weekend. It was really good to have a big house that 3 families could stay in and the kids are still going on about having a pool like yours! Great to have the kids and bed and some quality adult time without getting babysitters and nobody has to drive anywhere. Missed the the underfloor heating madly when I got home! We have told quite a few friends about the place and we will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Hi Tara and Family,

Thank you so much for your 'warm' feedback regarding ROTOVEGAS HOUSE. Yes the underfloor heating is a real bonus over the winter months! Glad the family had such a great time.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Regards Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staffs were very freindly and pleasant to help us. They provided helpful informs for trevelling Rotorua and other places.

Room was clean, warm, highlighted by a large & private spa we really needed.
The bed was comfortable and hard.

Perfect location - there is a big supermaket across the road.

Good value for money!
I would recommend here and want to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely feedback regarding our FRIENDLY staff and GREAT location. It does help staying at a motel which in only a walk across the road to a supermarket and 5 mins walk to the city. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and have shared your experience with other potential travels to Rotorua and ROTOVEGAS MOTEL.

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay, clean and spacious rooms. Child friendly, even provided my 10mth old with a big tub of toys to play with in our room.
Helpful and knowledgable hosts made our short stay in Rotorua wonderful.
Wish we had booked to stay longer, felt like home away from home.
Oh and the spa was amazzzzing!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I do hope Penny will remember her first holiday to New Zealand and her stay with us at RotoVegas Motel (ha ha). It was our pleasure to host your delightful family. Thank you for the lovely feedback on TripAdvisor regarding our CLEAN & SPACIOUS units. We like our rooms to be a little fun for our guests while on holiday or business, so that is why they have a 'twist' of FUNKY or RETRO. As for the AMAZING HOSTS comments - again it is our mission to ensure all of our guests feel like RotoVegas Motel is a 'home away from home'.
All the best with the rest of your holiday.
Cheers Natalee Bryce & my two little men
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 , New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-7 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.