We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua to your Saves list
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 , New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We really enjoyed our short stay here. For $99 we got a room with a spa bath. We weren't expecting much, but it was modern, and clean, with funky decor. Thespa bath had loads o water pressure, as did the shower. The man at the front desk, owner I think, was super friendly and let us have our dog in the unit. They had free wireless too.

Room Tip: Ask about rates you've seen on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    78
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
94
114
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom with spa,Spa was in our ensuite with our own bathroom from the kids.Our own tv in our room away from teenagers,lots of space exellent room servicing with lots of fresh towels changed daily.highly recommended motel,quiet and family orientated.exellent hosts.many thanks

Room Tip: check rooms online first and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Call and ask for Bryce, he is not only a gracious host, but provided excellent recommendations for local dining, shopping and entertainment. It was like having our own travel agent for the price of the room. The cheesy toast was a nice touch for an early morning appetizer - what a treat. Awesome stay, delightful people, we plan to return next time we are traveling through the North Island. Great Value! Thanks Bryce for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanYeti, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review.

Regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed here with some friens and our children. We were checked in by the father in law of the owner who was very pleasant, but unfortunately the male owner of this facility did not have one ounce of customer service skills and we were treated like second rate citizens during our stay. To top off the disaster, on checking out, the owner said to me in a condescending tone "the credit card you provided didn't go through, how will you pay?" when it clearly stated on our check in card that we had already paid in cash, in full. I so will not be recommending anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Since my wife and I took over the running of Heywoods Motel 12 months ago we have created a fun and vibrant family motel which has been well received by all our guests. Testimony to this is the high level of feedback below “Top Notch Service”, “Huge Rooms, Really Helpful Owner”, “Best Stay in Rotorua”.

It does however sadden us to read the feedback from Charp8a which we take very seriously although we feel that it is heavily misguided and neglects to mention this groups inappropriate behaviour whilst at our property. In order to provide a good nights sleep we ask our guests to treat their neighbours with the same respect as they would like to be treated in return. On some occasions a client will not adhere to this requirement and in return, as in this case, they take exception to being asked to quieten down no matter how politely or repeatedly this request is delivered.

Heywoods Motel does appreciate valid feedback from all our clients however on this occasion we feel the clients claims are slander, their behaviour was inappropriate and our continued requests to quieten down, on behalf of our other guests were warranted. Needless to say we are disappointed that Charp8a lacks any awareness of their own behaviour and that we now have to defend our high levels of customer service in this manner. Again, for a true reflection of our service please view our feedback below. Alternatively, if you would like to experience our high levels of customer service and would like to kick back in one of our new ‘retro’ rooms please check us out on our website.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hotel is located just a little ways up from the "Pak and shop" grocery store. We were able to walk there from the bus stop at the Information Center (about 6 blocks). The owners are extremely friendly and very helpful. The rooms are huge with kitchenette.

Note, if your going by bus at the information center, and plan to walk to the hotel, the house numbers go down and then jump back up so it will seem like you are walking the wrong way (the other direction from the info center where the house numbers initally go up leads to the water)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Heywoods Motor Lodge was one of the best places we stayed in Rotoura. The rooms were clean and roomy and The hot tub in the bathroom was a perfect asset for rainy weather. The hosts were amazing and so welcoming. As soon as we arrived,we were told that we had an automatic upgrade because that is how they treat their overseas guests. We had to do laundry and our host( I wish I knew her name) taught me how to use the washing machine and the drying room which dried our clothes with thermal heat. She even offered to hang my laundry if we wanted to go out ! She told us the best places to go and booked our tour to the Maori "hangi" dinner and show and gave us 10% off. Wonderful lodging and wonderful people, What more can you ask for! Thank you so much

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful hosts who helped make our stay in rotorua very easy. Rooms lovely and clean. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 , New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-7 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.