We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but not tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Victoria Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Union Victoria Motel to your Saves list
Union Victoria Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Old but not tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

An old motel, but well cared for. All the fixtures are well maintained. New curtains and carpets maintained the care. The studio room had an odd layout mostly due to the aged style. A two story Motel where the only access is via a narrow staircase. Very convenient to shops, town and included in the pickup run of main attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you cant manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Lou, Thanks for the nice review, yes it is an old Motel [built 1978] and we do try and keep as up to date as the Colonial design will allow but it does have nice big rooms and a great feel about it which is something that the modern Motels don't have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The accommodation was very good, clean, with TV, kitchen essentials included fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle and more - all you would need for a holiday. A homely comfortable-feel with flower baskets hanging from the balcony outside. The owners Bruce & Cheri Beesley could not have been more accommodating, helping with all our needs. The geothermal pools so inviting.

The location was so central to shops, restaurants, and local sights, even a racetrack. The Airport was only a 10-minute drive away, where we were able to fly home directly to Sydney.

I would recommend this Motel to my family and friends, because of it's central location and such great hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hi Lois, Thank you so much for the wonderful review I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer. The hanging baskets are lovely at this time of year showing off their colours. Say hi to Rhonda and hopefully we will see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Bruce And Cherri made me so welcome staying at there motel it is so centre to all the shops and attractions and they go out of there way to give me maps to places within the Rotorua . Ill be going back and stay at there motel with theres pools

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Alex, Thanks for the great review we 're glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to see what Rotorua has to offer and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Although a little 'older' in style, this motel was very central and provided a high standard of accommodation blended with extremely friendly and efficient service thanks to owners Bruce and Cherri who just can't do enough for their guests. They helped us with bookings and lots of recommendations for things to do. The unit was very clean and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended!
Michael & Lucy M.
Melbourne

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi Michael & Lucy, Thank you for a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good look at what Rotorua has to offer. We do take pride in our Motel and hope all our guest have a comfortable stay, thanks again and hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's hard to know how to review this hotel. Our room was comfortable and had most things that we needed. It was fairly basic and not very stylish. Some of the other guests were very noisy. I would usually rate this standard of hotel as average, but I will give it extra points because the warm pools were excellent, and our whole family enjoyed them.The staff were very nice and helpful, and the location was also very good. It's not The Ritz, but it had a lot going for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Anita, Thanks for you comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room suited our family needs, the hosts were welcoming and always helpful and they even arranged to send on some items that we left behind. I'd certainly recommend this accommodation. It is centrally located.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Paul, Thanks for the comments, they are nice big rooms ideal for families and with the Mall and Supermarket across the road makes it nice and convenient. I hope you parcel arrived safe and sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Quite a few positives. Very good location; well managed by the owners - Bruce and Cherri were spot-on with their recommendations for things to do for a young family like ours; clean and well maintained. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and mineral spas. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Quite a few positives. Very good location; well managed by the owners - Bruce and Cherri were spot-on with their recommendations for things to do for a young family like ours; clean and well maintained. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and mineral spas. Good value for money.

Hi Hanoze, Thanks for the positive review I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua and were able to see the things we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Victoria Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Victoria Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.