We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful in the mineral pools...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Union Victoria Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Union Victoria Motel to your Saves list
Union Victoria Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be careful in the mineral pools...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Only have a hand rail on one side....use it as you get out as tiles very slippery...I broke my wrist due to no handrail on both sides...

The manager despite giving my wife directions to hospital and then despite an ambulance pulling into complex didnt seem to think I had injured myself at the time....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I feel this review has to be defended as it is a different story that was told at the time of the alleged accident and indeed different to what was told to the Department of Labour inspector that you put forward your complaint to. Department of Labour have since visited the Motel following up on your complaint and are perfectly satisfied that everything is in order, but then you new this because they also contacted you with their final report.


The alleged accident happen when your wife came up behind you, tapped you on the shoulder gave you a fright you slipped and fell spraining your wrist [your words not mine], it wasn't until a couple of weeks later that you emailed me informing me that you had in fact broken you wrist.


The Motel along with the pool complex was built in the late 1970's to the building code of the day which did not require two hand rails to be installed.
The tiles feel slippery due to the silkiness of the mineral water, we do tell all our guests this when we are showing them the pool complex on arrival [some listen some choose not to] this is also written in the pool rules on the wall. I do not recall an ambulance coming onto the property during this time and am wondering if this was the case then why would I give your wife directions to the hospital?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Here's a slice of the real Kiwi experience in the heart of Rotorua. The Union Victoria Motel is, as you might expect, an old-skool motel, probably built in the 1960s, with a victorian style to it that is in that grey area between tasteful and cheese. The rooms are clean and comfortable (a rare thing in Roto-Vegas' motels), but very unassuming. The painted cinder-block walls keep out the noise and the cold. The kitchen is dated but very functional. Nice shower. Clean toilet. The beds are comfortable. The TV has Freeview and a handful of SKY channels that includes SKY Sports for you rugby fans (if you are a visitor to NZ, watch some ruby. It's a part of the experience). The location is brilliant, but just far enough off the main street to keep traffic down.

And don't forget to try their spa and mineral baths. They are a nice and somewhat unexpected feature for any motel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
WOW! what a great review thank you so much, being an older property does have it's advantages with much larger rooms than a lot of the newer properties.
We do take the cleanliness inside and out very serious and it becomes personal if it's not quite right.

Incidentally it was built in the late 70's of a Colonial Style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were fortunate to stay here and were surprised to find that it has its own "Thermal Pools"...We found the Host very knowledgeable about the area and enjoyed our stay here very much.
We had a 2 bedroomed unit and everything you would expect was there.
The "Bonus" was the pools and that is more than enough to recommend you to stay here above all others...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Robert, Thanks for your positive comments, I'm glad you enjoyed a relaxing dip in our heated pools. I hope the rest of your time was as enjoyable while visiting New Zealand and hopefully you will come back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I visited New Zealand for a 2 week holiday this March, and Rotorua was one of the places we visited. We stayed at this motel, which is good value for money. The host was very helpful, but seemed a little grim faced (haha). The actual accommodation was clean and nice. Location is good, and it even has some thermal hot spa pools.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi, Thanks for the nice review, I'm glad you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and especially Rotorua, it's a shame you only had one day here as there is so much to do, hopefully we will see you again.............not sure what you mean by a little grim faced??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This motel was good value for money and our host was very pleasant and helpful. The actual accommodation was slightly old fashioned but clean and comfortable. The added bonus of thermal pools was good. The location in respect of downtown restaurants was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Rose, Thank you for the positive review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Bruce and Cheryl are lovely hosts....they make sure people's needs are taken care off, always a smile, a suggestion...... whatever the reason for the visit to Rotorua........the hotel is close to amenities, its kept clean, tidy. with range of pools for aching muscles..........privacy is assured if you want it, or if you're social......you can certainly strike up a yarn with the hosts or others staying near by.......

Room Tip: apartments offer space and kitchenette...great for families and a busy schedule........shops are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
"Wow" what a great review, the pools are great aren't they? you certainly get a good nights sleep after you have had a dip especially the Mineral Pools and there is always around to strike up a conversation with, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First impressions last! To be greeted genuinely and be interested in how my day was going spoke volumes.Then to be shown to your room and made to feel welcome - good old fashioned hospitality. Although dated, the rooms gave a homely, relaxing feel. Exceptionally clean and the beds were most comfortable. Loved the water pressure in the shower!. Shopping mall across the road for all necessities and close to restaurants but yet set in a quiet location. Real value for your money. Recommend this Motel to everyone. Thankyou for a wonderful stay. Will certainly look you up when next in need of accomodation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Wai, What nice comments....thank you, I'm glad you had a relaxing stay with us, we do try and give that personal touch that sets us apart from the others, thanks again hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Victoria Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Victoria Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.