We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great FAMILY friendly motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Cleveland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Cleveland
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Cleveland Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great FAMILY friendly motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just spent a night here and our whole family loved the experience. We have four young children but the room was plenty big enough for us all. It was lovely and warm as the rooms are heated by the thermal water in the radiator heaters. The highlight for our children was the hot pools we managed to swim in them twice in our short stay. The hosts are very helpful and friendly too. This hotel is definatley great value for money.
We would like to come again sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging feedback. It is great to know you found the Cleveland ideal for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    70
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
102
54
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The motel was amazing. Brij and Ronette- the owners arewonderful people; so friendly, warm and helpful. They looked after us throughout the whole stay and made it so special. The rooms are pretty, spacious and clean and well equipped. The hot pools offered on site are awesome. The location is good. Would defiantly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We love what we do and we like giving value for money to our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The owners (Brij & Ronette) were lovely and very hospitable hosts. The room was spacious and comfortable as well as being in an accessible part of Rotorua. The 37 degree mineral pools were an added bonus

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you found our location handy to everything. It would appear you enjoyed our pools too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great hosts. Walking distance to town and lake. Great mineral pools to relax in. Close to Saturday market. Spacious clean units. Large grounds for families. Heated swimming pool. restaurants within walking distance too

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and the room clean & comfortable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Perfect Location, Upon my arrival I observed the duty manager/owner Bridge who was serving customers.

First impression are very important for me so Bridge "Awesome Service" your attitude in promoting sights, adventures, expos, Maori arts and crafts village experiences shows your passion for your local area Rotorua and ensuring that your customers are taken care of.

Our family room was very warm, clean and very comfortable, my husband and our mokopuna enjoyed the hot pool and the mineral spa.

We will diffidently be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It inspires us to do better in all areas of customer service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wonderful friendly service, (with chocolates on the bed). We stayed 2 nights on a sports exchange and would now like to come back with the family. Good sized family units, right next door to the pool. We soaked in the large 37 degree outdoor pool with a glass of wine on a very cold July evening and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the pool inviting. We are fortunate to have geothermal heating which enables us to keep the pool heated all year round. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights last week. It was clean and comfortable with everything you needed. Pools were great the kids loved them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cleveland

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Cleveland Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Cleveland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Econo Lodge Cleveland. Econo Lodge Cleveland is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. Econo Lodge Cleveland is an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in three acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make Econo Lodge Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.