We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, even better hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brylin Motel

Save Saved
You added Brylin Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brylin Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great place, even better hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is great, the rooms are great value for money. During our stay our car developed a fault, Phil & Bev gound us a repair shop, and offered us a lift to and from there.

They are people who understand customer service! Kerp up the good work

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place was excellent we had the best time and so did our kids thanks to the owners, They made us so welcome and gave us all the info we needed to get around. Room's where very clean and big and the balcony was great to have a beer on with our friends that where staying in the room next door. We would stay there again.
Brett and Nicole Morris

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have had the best stay at the Brylin in Rotorua. Bev and Phil were wonderful hosts. The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was very clean and had 2 TV's, an equipped kitchen with microwave and stovetop. Fantastic, would definitely stay with them again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are a lot of options in terms of accommodation in Rotorua and this is a pretty good one. We stayed 2 nights and for $130 a night we got a 2 storey apartment style room - bottom floor had bedroom and bathroom (spa bath and high pressure but rather small shower) and top floor the very spacious lounge and dining area plus another bedroom.
Seemed well maintained, quite good for our 2 year old, but if you have a child not confident / able on stairs it wouldn't be so good. Had some trouble adjusting the heating to the level we wanted but overall quite comfortable.
Hosts very friendly and they even did our dishes for us which was an unexpected bonus. Refreshments were also topped up and beds were made - not always the case in NZ motels.
Would benefit from a better range of tv channels - especially for youngsters.

Room Tip: There are units down the ramp and these are further from the road, which can be quite busy. We had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were booked to stay 3 nights here but left after one night. To say we wer disappointed is an understatement. This place is more like a backpacker hostel than a proper standard of motel. The apartment was dowdy, hadn't been painted for years and the furniture looked like it had been sourced from a second hand shop. Nothing matched. The bathroom fixtures were ancient and really basic. The fridge was bashed and rusty. I mean it was just rubbish ! My sister's room had a few hangers on a wall hook, that was the wardrobe ! The parking is down a steep narrow lane at the side where you can hardly turn your car.
We moved up the road to the Holiday Inn and boy what a difference!
Take my advice, avoid this place.,

Room Tip: I don' know if there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevandPhill, Owner at Brylin Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are shocked to receive such a derrogatory review, after we parted on such amicable terms. Your reason for leaving was due to there only being 1 bathroom between 3 of you ( we were unaware that 1 of your party had medical reasons for requiring seperate bathroom facilities) This should have been made clear when you booked through your travel agent.
Unlike the multi billion dollar Holiday Inn chain, we do not have an unlimited budget, we have spent the last 2 years improving and refurbishing these units. That said, we hold a 4 star Qualmark rating and offer free Wi Fi.
Our car park is small, but there was only 1 other vehicle when you stayed and if you had a problem parking, you could have parked on the front.
We welcome constructive criticism, to help us deliver a better service, but your comments are totally unjust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We love it. We spent two nights here. and it was my second time to stay in brylin motels. My family love here. it is very clean, and comfortable. It is good location and far away from famous Chinese takeaway. the owner were very friendly and helpful. We love it somuch and will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in Rotorua at the Brylin ,great hosts made our time more enjoyable by sharing their knowledge of the best tourist attractions. Clean, comfortable & in the perfect location, even though situated on a major road very quiet.Thanks for booking us in for the fantastic meal at Skyline.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brylin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brylin Motel

Address: 315 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brylin Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brylin Motel offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. There are 3 spacious Studio Units and 1 Access Studio Unit (sleep up to 4 people) and 7 Two Bedroom Units (sleep up to 6 people). All Units include kitchen facilities, a 42 inch Plasma TV, SKY TV, a spa bath (except the Access Unit), shower and internet access. The 2 Bedroom Units have a dining and lounge area and a outside balcony. There is a tour desk, laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, free offroad car parking and continental breakfasts are available. The Motel is located approx 1Km from the city centre and in close proximity to the racecourse, restaurants, golf course and many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Brylin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brylin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.