We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and fun place with a good atmosphere. Can easily be improved.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cactus Jacks Backpackers to your Saves list
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
1210 Haupapa St, Rotorua, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent and fun place with a good atmosphere. Can easily be improved.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

3 nights in rotarua.
Cactus jack gave us a warm welcome. The main negative for us was that the room was uncomfortably hot and the beds were knackered, and mattresses need replacing and lights improving.
There are lots of friendly long residents, we liked that.
Kitchen good and social areas and tv good. Sad that the lions lost. . Bugger. Excellent location, helpful; slightly quirky staff - really helped us get to the best activities. Really disappointing that the hostel location shifted by 2 blocks when we went out jogging!!!! Lol

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for your kind words
Good eviews enourage us in our efforts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
7
15
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hostel is quirky; a host of long-term residents with varied personalities and stories to tell give it a more colourful vibe than your standard hostel. This may not be to everyone's taste - if you're not particularly friendly or a good conversation maker, then avoid this place. If you want to meet people and have some good chat, then stay! The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is pretty big for the number of people staying, the decor is cheesy western, and there is a pool table, internet access and dvd rooms. Staff are friendly and always available, and it's in the centre of Rotorua and hard to miss - look for the bright yellow building with a stetson on top and cacti outside!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for the kind words we will strive to maintain our standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at cactus jacks! Although it is a bit under construction that won't disturb your sleep at all, and we thought all the guys that worked there that we met in the kitchen were so lovely! Fantastic value for money, and both guys on reception were really helpful. Would recommend to any backpacker!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your review, it's nice to be appreciated. The upgrades are still continuing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Character? Lots. A Tijuana experience. I applaud whoever turned a pretty old, run-down place into that. But it doesn't compensate for the tiny, cramped rooms with old & dirty carpet, or for the feel that nothing is super clean, or for the loud noise at night (music, chatter). Not inviting or comfortable! Worst of all, we decided to leave 1 day early (couldn't take it anymore), and they refused to give our money back, even though we paid cash in advance. They argued, were rude and inflexible. :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Front Office Manager at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We thank the reviewer for this review because in our unequal world all opinions count
Our response to this review is
This reviewer made the following threat “If you do not refund my money I will be write the worst review of this place.” My parents taught me the values of standing up to bullies and that you can never live your life in fear with people who try to push you around.
The reviewer booked through hostelworld and their terms and conditions are
“By making a reservation with your credit card or debit card, you agree that in the event that you cancel your reservation less than 24 hours from your agreed check-in date or that you fail to arrive by your agreed check-in date, you authorise the travel services provider to charge to your credit card or debit card without further reference to you an amount not exceeding one night's charge in the case of accommodation.” You, (The Reviewer) failed to cancel within the 24 hours of your second booking and so by Hostelworlds terms and conditions you are obligated to be charged for your first night of your separate booking. Your family had booked during the Christmas period and consistently complained about how the majority of services closed down for Christmas. We in New Zealand are a Christian country, and celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ often means a number of businesses are closed. The reviewer was rather frustrated with these closures and moaned consistently as it limited their ability to experience many of Rotorua’s Attractions.
Much of this frustration was then, I felt directed at me, which I have little control of.. The reviewer’s consistent moaning disrupted many of the other guests stay who were trying to enjoy the festivities especially at a time when they would like to be at home with their families. The majority of people who stay at Cactus Jacks love their stay. We also noticed that some people commented on how the vibe of the place improved with the reviewer’s departure. .We have to congratulate the reviewer for the courage to carry out the threat that was made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The place was ok, to be honest not the best place we have stayed. Our room was soo hot it was really difficult to sleep at night and couldn't really open the window as it lead onto the roof of the next building. The kitchen was under repair and the pots we used to cook our food left our dinner tasting of Rust. The owner and his son however were very nice and were always there to help with any questions of the local area. They recommended we try the Canopy Tour which was really quite expensive @ $129 pp, and we nearly didn't do it because of this but it was totally worth it as it was a 3 hour event. We Stayed in a double private with own bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, When we are made aware of issues we address them.
We have placed a fan in the room to alleviate the heat that Rotorua has been experiencing.
Have checked the pots and couldn't find any dirty or rusty ones that is a mystery because the pots are stainless steel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I loved Cactus Jacks, a little rough and ready whilst undergoing some changes but was made to feel very welcome. Clean and spacious kitchen, clean bathroom facilities and social areas and very affordable too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We have a lot of renovations [planned to bring our place up to a higher standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

After staying in YHA, BBH and XBase hostels, Cactus Jack was a nice change. The fun murals and western decor added character to my stay. This was a very affordable option for me. I got a single room with shared facilities for the lowest price in town. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I enjoyed the help from reception as they were engaging and helpful. The hostel was under renovation so I expect improvements as things progress. There is the Thursday night street market just down the block which I really enjoyed. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwordKing, Owner at Cactus Jacks Backpackers, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for the kind words
Yes we are upgrading and this will continue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cactus Jacks Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Address: 1210 Haupapa St, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cactus Jacks Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Jacks Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.