We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sport of Kings Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sport of Kings Motel to your Saves list
Sport of Kings Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST ONLINE RATE!!
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We took our family of 6 adults and 6 children to Rotorua to celebrate my 70th birthday. Staying at Sport of Kings Motel was ideal and added to the great time we all had. Unusually, Sport of Kings has 4 single beds in the 2nd room of their 2-bedroom units which was excellent for one family with 4 children. All the motel units have been refurbished to a high standard and the cleanliness cannot be faulted. Pete and Tristen are warm, friendly hosts who went out of their way to make the children welcome, with Pete blowing giant bubbles for all the children in the units to chase, and he also held a treasure hunt which was a lot of fun for the children (it was school holidays at the time we were there). The motel heated thermal pool, which has new landscaping around it, was very welcome after a long day at the luge. We have had no hesitation in recommending this motel to our friends. The 2-bedroom family units are spacious with plenty of room for even a family of six, and the studio unit we had was away from the family units, quiet and perfect for us couple of "oldies". Well done Pete, Tristen and little Mikayla, you made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family here for your birthday - I think we enjoyed your stay as much as you did!
It is so nice to have families to stay and with the many different room configurations we have rooms to suit just about everyone - and the two bedroom apartments for large families are perfect!
It was so nice to see the joy on the childrens faces with the bubbles and treasure hunt and Mikayla enjoyed every moment playing with the 'big kids'!!!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is so nice after a busy day and it is such a great place for the kids to play and wear themselves out ready for a big sleep!!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it wold be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    143
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
249
324
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great motel. Lovely hosts, and the rooms are a little dated but kept clean. We booked a room with a private spa, which was fantastic to come home to after a day of bushwalking. Best value for money!

Room Tip: Go the private spa rooms, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
The private spa pools are wonderful and are fantastic to soak those weary bones after a day of bushwalking in some of our beautiful local areas!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

When we arrived at the reception, our family was warmly greeted by the staff. She was very kind and patient in showing us the amenities in the room. Sport of Kings Motel had a parking space for each unit. The motel had powerful heaters which was perfect for the winter. Additionally, the kitchen was tidy and well-equipped.
The highlight of the motel room was the attached private spring spa! My family had a soaking great time!
Hubby and I was pleasantly touched by a gentleman who cleaned our car's windscreen early in the morning before we set off. An awesome place to stay in Rotorua town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - it was great to have you to stay!
Our thermal heating is wonderful and means that your room is cosy and warm no matter how cold it is outside! And as our water is thermally heated your shower water never goes cold! So nice on a cold winters morning!
When our guests leave they are heading off on their next adventure and we like to ensure that you can see where you are going by having a clean windscreen, or de iced windscreen on the cold mornings!
Take care and let us know if you are back over this way it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took our 2 granddaughters on holiday to Rotorua & stayed 3 nights at Sport of Kings Motel. We had a wonderful time, thanks to Pete, Kirsten & Mikayla, they were so friendly & helpful with any questions we had. The girls had a great time in the pool & we enjoyed the spa. Good luck with your business we are sure you will do well. Jenny

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Jenny, thank you so much for your lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you all to stay and we look forward to your next visit!!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is wonderful as are the private spas! The best way to relax after a busy day!
Being Rotorua locals we know all the best pats of Rotorua and surrounding districts and it is great being able to share this knowledge with our guests so they get to see the best there is to see!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you all on your next visits!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good Location just off Fenton Street and a very nice place to stay. Pool was excellent and this place is a great family place. Pete and Tristen are wonderful hosts, very friendly and made us feel welcome.The rooms were very clean, warm and quite spacious compared to other places we have stayed. We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovey review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay!
Our pool is wonderful and having just been landscaped it looks better than ever - and is always the prefect temperature, winter and summer!! It is great for families with kids and it is many hours of free entertainment!
We like to make our guests feel at home and do what we can to make your stay perfect!
Take care and let us know next time you are down this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent only one night at the Sport of Kings Motel, but wished it could have been a month. The spa rooms have a large lounge/kitchen area, spotless, up to date bathroom, a comfortable bed, and best of all, a private naturally heated spa adjacent to the bedroom. It was quiet, Tristen was so friendly and helpful. I just can't say enough good things. If you are staying Rotorua, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us!!
Our spa rooms are wonderful, it is so nice to have your own spa pool to relax in and you sleep so well after a soak at night!
We are always updating our rooms and it is great to hear peoples comments on what we have done! Thank you!
Let us know if you are over this way again - it would be great to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed their and would not hesitate to stay again. Very accommodating. Very obliging and genuine hosts. The pool area looks amazing, and can recommend the private spa for relaxing in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review . It was a pleasure to have you all to stay again and we look forward to your next visit!!
The swimming pool does look great - it was nice before but is really amazing now! We have just added some fairy lights so it is now really magical at night - so nice to lay back under the stars and relax! The perfect way to end the day! And you sleep so well afterwards!!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you next time you are down this way!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#1 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the main street and away from busy traffic noise, Sport of Kings is a home away from home! All of our rooms and amenities have been newly refurbished over the past year to provide comfort and relaxation in a peaceful serene environment. We are Kiwi owned and operated and being locals have extensive knowledge of Rotorua and what our amazing city and surroundings has to offer and our hospitality is the best you could find - check out our reviews! Our 16 ground floor rooms range from two bedroom apartments that sleep 6 to one bedroom spa apartments where you can relax in your own private indoor spa pool day and night. Our studio units sleep two or three and are perfect for business travellers or those wanting a quiet comfortable room at a great price! All of our rooms have kitchen or kitchenettes, thermally heated hot water, individually controlled thermal heating, flat screen tv's, satellite channels and free DVD hire. Comfortable lazy-boy recliner chairs are included in most rooms and free unlimited filtered water is available in every room. All rooms are serviced daily! We have two public spa pools and a heated outdoor swimming pool for your use during your stay all year round along with a BBQ and BBQ table poolside which you are welcome to use - a great way to cater for everyone while enjoying the beautiful landscaped surroundings. And to entertain children we have a playground for hours of entertainment. Centrally located close to Rotorua CBD, Thermal Valleys, Maori Hangi and Concert Events and world renowned Mountain Bike Tracks, you have everything at your fingertips. We have a purpose built bike wash down area, storage for mountain bikes and a drying room to get your gear ready for your next ride!! Perfect for families, holiday makers, mountain bikers and business people alike. Our reception is a mini gallery showcasing our own original native bird art which also features throughout our apartments giving Sport of Kings Motel uniqueness not to be found anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sport of Kings Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.