We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sport of Kings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sport of Kings Motel

Save Saved
You added Sport of Kings Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sport of Kings Motel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BREAKFAST OFFER
Ranked #3 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sport of Kings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this motel. The staff were very family oriented and very helpful. It was clean and quiet and I would recommend this as a good place to stay. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay.
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and it is great to hear that people appreciate the wonderful work our cleaning staff do! Our location is fantastic, being located amongst all the other motels but just off busy Fenton Street, it is so quiet you feel as though you are miles away!
Take care and let us know next time you are in New Zealand, it would be great to have you to stay again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    119
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
179
246
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth W.A
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a few days travelling we were pleasantly surprized by the standard of accomodation. Our hosts Pete and Tristen were welcoming, pleasant and helpful with knowledge of the area. The apartment was clean, and very comfortable. Their was a seperate room with a wonderful spa,(at 40C) with extra towels for our use. The lazyboy armchairs were a real bonus in the unit. The only negative was that it was a one bedroom unit....the extra bed required for our son was in the lounge area. Wifi was free. The location was close to town. Staff attentiveness was excellent. Laundry facilities were available and we were really impressed when Tristen(host) offered to do our Laundry, what a wonderful gesture. Highly reccommend this accomodation, and if in Rotorua would definitely stay

Room Tip: Parking is a bit tight but right to your door and free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovelyr eview - it was a pleasure to have the three of you to stay!
The lazy boy chairs are great - the perfect place to relax after a busy day!
And our spa pools are perfect to soothe these weary bones - and you sleep so well afterwards!
Next time you come and stay let us know you would like a two bedroom apartment. These rooms have two seperate bedroomsso the lounge area is free in the evening when the kids go to bed! These rooms have just been renovated and have new kitchens, bathroom, flooring, and new curtains coming soon - they look wonderful!
Take care and let us know next time you are over this way - it would be great to have you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had two nights at this motel in Rotorua. It was a nice room and you parked at your door. Everything was clean and in good shape. We particularly enjoyed the very warm thermal heated pool. It didn't have a sulfur smell because the pool water is heated via a heat exchanger. The room had a small table in front with one chair which was not good for an evening break with a glass of wine. We did move to the pool area which is pleasant and has plenty of seating. The managers are exceptional. They know what you want or need to know to visit the area and go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. There was a light rain one night and in the morning we found that they had washed the windshields on all the cars. Now that is service!!
Our only complaint was not related to the motel. The air quality can vary but one night the wind direction was such that the heavy smell of sulfur was so strong I could not sleep. I suppose locals adjust to this odder from the thermals but I could not stay more than a few nights.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the pool if that's something you enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for our lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms and are always upgrading and updating to keep our rooms fresh and new. We have just fininsehed renovating a few more of our room and they look great!
Our pool is wonderful and next week we are landscaping the pool area and the plans look amazing - we are very excited! Next time you are in New Zelaand, please come back and see he pool lookng even better than it is now!!
Yes, the sulphur smell in Rotorua can sometimes be quite strong - but this is why people come to Rotorua so we don't mind it!
Take care and let us know next time you are in Rotorua - it would be great to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely, bright and very relaxing accommodation. We loved our stay here and just wish it could have been longer than 2 days. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again. Thank you! Maureen Burgess

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Maureen, thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleausre to have you both to stay!!
Our rooms are nice and bright and airey and we are constantly upgrading and updating to keep things bright and new. And being located just off busy Fenton Street we don't get the heavy traffic noise making our motel the perfect place for a nice quiet relaxing break away!
Take care and let us know when you are back this way next, it would be great to have you to stay again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights out of our week-long holiday in Rotorua during the First Term school holidays. It is located off the main street in a residential area. It has a lovely, thermally heated outdoor pool and 2 indoor separated spa pools.

The kitchenette and the bathroom are separated from the living area. We had a Lazyboy in our unit which my son and my husband had to learn to share at times.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time ther. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleaure to have you all to stay! I am so pleased to hear your enjoyed your time with us!
Our heated outdoor swimming pool and spa pools are wonderful! Some of our rooms have their own private spas and we have two others available for people who choose rooms without a private spa.
Please let us know when you are coming back this way! It would be great to have you to stay again and to show you our new landscaped pool area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were upgraded to a room with a hot tub and quite enjoyed it. We loved the heated pool under the stars and had a lovely swim the evening of our arrival - the only night with clear skies. We also enjoyed the hostesses suggestion for dinner at the Skyview and an evening visit to the Kiwi house at Rainbow Springs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleausre to have you to stay and it is always nice when we can upgrade people!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your spa and had a nice night in the heated outdoor swimming pool! It really is beautiful on a nice evening undewr the stars, at any time for that matter!
Next week the pool area is going to be landscaped - the plans look amazing and we can not wait to see the finished product! Pop in and see us any time you are around so we can show you what we have done!
Take care and let us know if we csn help you in the fuure! It would be great to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. It is in a nice quiet street. The distinct odour of Rotorua is apparent outside but you soon get used to it. We were grateful that we could have our dog with us in our room but we did bring her crate and beanbag so she felt at home. The hot tub was well used and relaxing. Our only negative comments are the hot tub room needs redecorating as it was a pity the excellent hot tub was in rather dowdy surroundings and there is not much clearance when driving to your unit.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The hot tub is well worth getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacerotorua, Manager at Sport of Kings Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you and your little dog to stay!
Being located just off the busy Fetpn Street, we don't get the noise of big trucks and heavy vehicles, as our street name says, Peace Street!!
I am so pleased you enjoyed your spa pool! They are such a wonderful way to relax after a busy day!
We have just replaced all of the chairs in our spa rooms and are looking at what we can do to brighten the room - come and see us next time you are down this way so we can show you how they look! We are constantly redecorating and upgrading our rooms and the spa rooms are on the agenda!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you next time you are down this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sport of Kings Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport of Kings Motel

Address: 6 Peace St | Fenton Park, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sport of Kings Motel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sport of Kings Motel Apartments provides you with all the extras you can only find in the better hotels together with homely hospitality and a wealth of local knowledge. Situated among all of the motels on the main street of Rotorua but just off the main drag on a quiet side street, you don't hear all of the heavy traffic noise - the perfect place to get away and relax in a quiet peaceful environment.All of our rooms are thermally heated and have never ending hot water for your shower!! Our thermally heated outdoor swimming pool is set in a private lawn and garden area and has been newly landscaped. It is kept at the perfect temperature in winter and summer and features poolside furniture and a BBQ. We have comfortable roomy studio units, 1 bedroom spa apartments and large two bedroom apartments which sleep up to 6 people. Something to suit everyone!! We have 2 private spa pools available if you choose a room without it's own private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sport of Kings Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Of Kings Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sport of Kings Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.