We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Treetops Lodge to your Saves list
Treetops Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My family of 6 adults and 4 seven year old boys visited Treetops for my 75th birthday and we all could not have been more pleased. At dinner they would let the young lads eat in the breakfast area and then watch a movie in the living room. No other guests were bothered and we had pleasant dinners.

Daytime activities were varied with the family trek to Bridal Veil Falls a real highlight.

The rooms are to die for...spacious with all the amenities, breathtaking views, environmentally sensitive and remote from other rooms.

One day all 10 of us did the Maori Cultural Center, a helicopter trip to the active volcano at White Island and a catamaran sailing trip on Lake Rototiti and still came back to a lovely very late dinner at Treetops. Those are all musts if you visit Rororua but doing them in one day is a bit much.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
72
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had very high expectations for this resort, given it's price tag and the fact that it came very highly recommended. Let me first say, that the location is absolutely fantastic. The resort is tucked away in the trees with breathtaking views of the forest and a plethora of hiking trails at its doorstep. It truly is a special location, utterly peaceful and beautiful. The rest of our experience at Treetops, however, left something to be desired. There really is no room for error at this price point.

The general manager, Harry, was very charming, accommodating, and professional. However, it seemed like he had to wear too many hats and the staff could have been spread a little thin. On a few occasions, we had a sense that the lodge was understaffed. For instance, meal-time dragged a bit, because the short wait staff couldn't cover room service and the dining room guests in a timely manner.

Furthermore, the room offerings were unsatisfying. We were going to stay in the "pheasant cottage," which was totally inadequate. It shouldn't be a part of the property-- it's a 1940's refurbished barn without the charm about 2km from the main lodge. Good only for additional housekeeper/nannies that may be traveling with a family. We were given a room in the main lodge, which shares a kitchen and living room with 3 other rooms. The rooms are too small at around 30 sq. meters, and overall a bit underwhelming. I would not recommend staying in either of these options. The villas would be the only viable recommendation.

At the end of the day, realize that you are essentially paying a super high premium for the property's location. That being said, we enjoyed our stay overall, thanks to the good company of the other guests, the extraordinary setting, and the delicious meals. If you do make your way to Treetops, make sure you have a picnic lunch at Bridal Veils Fall-- a definite 10!

Room Tip: Don't get stuck with the "pheasant cottage" or the lodge rooms. Pop for the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnen
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I am hesitant to write about this wonderful hideaway .. because I hope it stays a secret for Special guests, who can appreciate this unique lodge. I can only say: wonderful poeple and high Quality and natural Food.. it is a place of peace and a place of power, where you can Charge your personal battery.

Hope to be back soon, and hope to eat some more of that eco vension meat :)

Thanks to all of wonderful poeple who work there :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I experienced 3 wonderful days of peaceful bliss. Our villa was beautiful and the staff was lovely. My husband was obsessed with the amount of beautiful rimu used in the place ( he is a carpenter) and definitely enjoyed the surroundings. Unfortunately it rained most the time we were there but it was great just having a quiet place to relax.

Harry was wonderfully helpful and definitely a keeper.

Thank you for the great experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

One night was not long enough, and the 24 hours we had there not enough time to do everthing we wanted. We enjoyed everything about Treetops immensely. Room was just perfect with it opening out onto the grounds, food was great and the Spa treatment we received was up there with the best facial I have experienced. The walk to the bridal falls was stunning with the bonus of a lovely table and chairs at the base of the falls to have our picnic at!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Only a one night stay, but totally enjoyed the utter peace and serenity of this location with its wilderness vibe, yet not far from civilization.

We stayed in the main lodge room overlooking the lawn, and I just didn't want to leave - the room is totally comfortable, the bed was the best ever, and the tranquil natural atmosphere seemed to grip me and say - stay longer. The lodge ambience is excellent with large spaces, high stud and pleasant outlooks with large glass windows. I would love to return if I needed to just be away from the world and calm….

We found the service and food excellent, and the hike to the Bridal Veil falls despite being a little average with gorse about, was rewarded by the beautiful falls. The other hike we did was Stairway to Heaven through stunning tall tree native forest, and back via the Rainbow Trout trail - very beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here again, and although it's a luxury lodge, somehow this time the service was below par. Having to re-park our own cars and get our own luggage to the rooms was disappointing.
It really is the little things that make these kind of experience special. And when you're paying that kind of money, those little things are noted.
Things like heated towel rails turned off, and coming into breakfast and finding they don't have a table big enough to seat the whole party. Instead we are all dotted around at 3 little tables. I did query with the very nice breakfast waitress whether they were understaffed. She said no, but it did kind of feel that way.
Overall, it was a very nice stay but not worth the amount we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTLodgeManager, Owner at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Management and staff changes have been made since this review | John Sax, Owner Treetops Lodge & Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: 351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Treetops Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Treetops Lodge & Wilderness Experience is a nature lover’s paradise. Set in more than 2,500 acres of private wilderness in New Zealand’s famed thermal region, Treetops offers trout streams, lakes, over 70kms of hiking trails, 4WD & Heli safaris, fly fishing, mountain bike riding and horse riding.The lodge comprises of eight private luxury villas, the Owners Wing and the new Pheasant House. Make your stay intimate or travel with family and friends – our secluded, unique suites all have private areas and are within easy access to the main lodge. Fine cuisine is an integral part of the Treetops experience; our talented chefs use only the finest locally grown produce to compliment our extensive selection of New Zealand and international wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.