We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Third Place Cafe

Third Place Cafe
35 Lake Road | Ohinemutu, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-349 4852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 153 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, New Zealand, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Third Place Cafe has great views of Lake Rotorua from the indoor and outdoor tables. Fresh food made daily. Breakfast, Lunch, Morning and Afternoon tea. Great Coffee and fresh baking.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Perfect Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Came across this cute little cafe then stepped inside and wow. The view from the windows are breathtaking. There was a great variety of food. Well presented and well priced. So clean and crisp surroundings. Nice having sofas at one end for a more relaxed place to read a mag and enjoy your coffee or sit up by the windows and take in the sights. Will certianly recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post positive feedback about our cafe on trip advisor. We really appreciate it and are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. See you again soon. Regards Fiona & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
1 review
“The Best Flat White We've Had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our motelier suggested we try The Third Cafe for our brunch. What a great recommendation! We traveled up and down NZ over this past Christmas and without a doubt, we found here the best cuppa the country had to offer. The staff were so friendly that our waitress, Marie Claire, offered to take our photo looking out over the lake. What a great experience and one not soon forgotten. Oh by the way, the food is superb too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Gary, Thanks for taking the time to post such positive feedback about our cafe on trip advisor, we really appreciate it. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again next time you come to NZ. Regards Fiona & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Quiet Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We found this café by chance while out cycling and visited it on successive days! It's tucked away from the main tourist area but only a short walk through Ohinemutu Village, up the hill and turn right. The café has great views over the lake and there is a quiet little courtyard out to the side of the cafe. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The food selection is excellent with a great choice. Coffee is just right. Loved all the up to date magazines and the plentiful supply of water. Keep up the good work. We cycled right around the lake and pedalled back to this café a 2nd time because of how well we were looked after the day before. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We found this place by chance and, to be fair, we probably would have driven straight past if we hadn't been so desperate for some lunch. However, we were so glad we went in.

We received a friendly welcome and could see immediately that they had some appealing things on the menu.

We ordered at the counter - we both opted for prawn & calamari salad, vanilla slice & coffee - and then went to choose a table.

The inside looked a bit basic but we were delighted when we went out onto the patio. What a lovely view overlooking the lake and St Faith's Anglican Church.

The food and drink (all courses delivered together - the only slight negative) were top quality, delicious and so nicely cooked.

It's a bit off the main centre but there is plenty of parking space right outside and it's definitely worth the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on our cafe.
We appreciate all comments and we will endeavour to ask our customers when they require their coffees to be served.
Thank you again.
Regards Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I found this cafe the night before leaving Rotorua and wish I would have found it earlier. The atmosphere of this cafe is very welcoming and the food is delicious. My niece was traveling with me and I ordered a single order of french toast, and before I could ask for a second plate and set of cutlery they asked if we were going to split this and said they would bring out the extra settings. When the breakfast was brought out they had already separated the serving and made it appear as this was a ordered separately. The food was excellent and the staff welcoming. I wish I would have found this cafe when I first arrived and I would have had breakfast there every morning while in Rotorua.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Third Place Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Third Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Third Place Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.