We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic array of ice creams” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour

Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour
1092 Tutanekai Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 146 restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
suffolk england
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“fantastic array of ice creams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Full of locals so that was a good sign so we had a couple of sugar scoop doubles in kiwi fruit and mango Quite exotic

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    18
    20
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over Priced and Certainly Disapointing Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived to thee line going out the door (which was an illusion) it was going out the door because the one and only eftpos machine is by the door and 90% of people were paying by eftpos!. Once we figured out that we could go in the girls working there have absolutely NO SYSTEM to serve their customers!! I actually asked one of the other servers "where do you have to stand to be served!!?? - her reply "We just go where we want!??" ??? Once I had been by passed twice by people who had walked AFTER ME, my sister noticed two young girls walked straight in to one of their friends who was serving and the server didnt even acknowlede me and my two children who had been waiting well before them. My sister spoke up and said "excuse me, my sister has been waiting here before them" ...their faces (including the servers) was actually one of **how dare you interupt my conversation!!!** The server served us well enough as we had gotten to that point of fustration and paid $18+ for three items...a waffle cone, shake and sundae...CRAZY! Will not be back there again and will defer people away from it...Im a local and I love to promote our businesses...Not this one! Blaaah! Really low class of serves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The grand kids enjoyed the ice creams after their pony rides.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Handily located at the corner of the Lake Rotorua park,Lady Jane's has a good range of ices to suit most wallets.We sat at the tables outside and watched the youngsters over in the ice-skating rink.I thought the service was good considering the shop was very busy.
Nice ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

- Ice cream isn't any better than Tip Top, staff aren't happy or friendly.

+ Wide range of flavours.

Overall: Drive the extra hour to Copenhagen Cones in the Mount - well worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avg icecream shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My first impression was that girl serving didnt enjoy her job! I was expecting so much but just the same old icecream but more expensive. Nothing exciting about it really.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.