We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours

Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours
The Landing Tarawera Road | Lake Tarawera, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
+64 7-362 8080
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 72 Activities in Rotorua
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our ecotour at Lake Tarawera, Rotorua includes Hot Water Beach and the Natural Bush Hot Pool. You will experience its unique geothermal wonders and relax in crystal clear warm water, under a canopy of unspoilt forest. Other tours take you to the Tarawera Falls, one of NZ's outstanding short walks or other popular walking tracks. All tours include commentary on the amazing local maori cultural, and volcanic history. All weather boat. We have regular summer summer services to Hot Water Beach Campsite.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Memorable Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Thank you to David for such an awesome, unique experience. Mum and I both loved the natural hot spring and were amazed at how hot the sand was at hot water beach. While there are hot pools such as Waikite Thermal Valley and the Polynesian Spas they can be a bit too commercialised. David's tour provides a completely natural experience. The day we booked our tour happened to also be the 127th anniversary of the eruption of Mount Tarawera so it made the tour extra special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to do a review for us. It means a lot. To be on my tour on the anniversary of the eruption of Mt Tarawera is something special as you can relate to the very time when everything changed for the local tribal people of this area when their lives were devastated. Luckily all those wounds are healed and as you witnessed the place is a very beautiful now.
Thanks again for you kind words.
David
Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Ecotours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wynyard, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What an exceptional example of how to give visitors a very special trip. Dave was the perfect host showing us and our friends a beautiful natural area of New Zealand. Lake Tarawera and the Water Taxi & Eco Tour to Hot Beach is something to put on your 'Bucket List'.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. It is great that you enjoyed it so much.
It means a lot to me to receive you feedback on our ecotour.
Many thanks again.
David
Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Ecotours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip! Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked a trip on Lake Tarawera with David at Water Taxi & Ecotours. We couldn’t have been happier. He is extremely professional, friendly and knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and it was made perfect by David’s in depth knowledge of the area. We had a wonderful trip to Hot Water Beach and a relaxing swim in a perfect spot.

We recommend this trip highly for a couple, family or small group. It’s a great way to get out of Rotorua and see more of the surrounding (beautiful) environment. I would also suggest that Ectours is perfect for a fishing trip on the lake as well. David also pointed out their lodge on a bluff above the lake. It might just be a great option in lieu of staying in Rotorua.

Everything was better than we expected. Thank you!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks you for your awesome review. Thank you for your fine description of our ecotour. It makes me proud and yes humble at the same time while inspiring me to strive for continued fun and excellence.
We love our area of the planet and loved sharing it with you guys.
Many thanks again.
David
Lake Tarawera water taxi & Ecotours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical Hot Water Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

An amazing trip to see the hot water beach and hidden pool. It was a beautiful tranquil experience on a lovely sunny day. The pools were astonishingly hot and have to be experienced to be believed. David was an excellent guide who made us feel as if we had known him for years . He was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the geology and history of the area and helped us to get the most out of our visit .Because the taxi can only accommodate a small number of people the is an easy atmosphere in which to chat and ask questions . Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi,
It was great having you on my ecotour. It is when you have had a cold wet winter in the Northern Hemisphere you can think of yourself sitting in my hot pool in the middle of the forest and all your cares will go away. Thanks for taking the time to place this review and best wishes for the future.
David
Lake Tarawera Water taxi & Ecotours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You Can't Go Wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were the only people booked in, and were lucky to have an absolutely perfect autumn day with a stunning blue sky. David our captain and tour host was extremely knowledgeable. These are the guys to book in with for sure, and the hot water springs are simply magical!

David and his wife are very dedicated to the area, among other things they also manage the DOC Hot Water Beach campsite (which we stopped at and had a fun wander around before heading on to the river springs bush site) and are working with DOC to create a chain of walkways through the area (fingers crossed that this will one day include a hike up Mt. Tarawera itself).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertaxiRotorua, Owner at Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for making the effort to do this review for us and your recommendation. We love this place and love to share it with people like yourselves.
Kind regards,
David
Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Ecotours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tarawera Water Taxi & Eco Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.