We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Rotorua

Lake Rotorua
Rotorua, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$58*
and up
Lake Rotorua Jet Boat Ride
Ranked #17 of 33 Attractions in Rotorua
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest of a dozen lakes formed by volcanic activity, this clear, calm lake offers cruises, kayaking and sailing, as well as great trout fishing.
deventer, netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

we did some kaiaking on the lake and a very clear side river. On the way back we had some more wind, but the temperature was fine, also of the water.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    159
    46
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“When you come from a drought, this much water is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our resort was on the edge of Lake Rotorua. It was magnificent! Such a big lake, of crystal clear water! The edges were lovely and sandy and for such a big lake, it was surprisingly calm.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stunning lake, great fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

For an American, used to crowded inland lakes, this was a slice of heaven. Absolutely gorgeous. There was only one other boat visible on the entire lake. We took a half day fishing trip, even though we are not really fishermen, it was wonderful. We caught 7 rainbow trout in 3 hours, which the guide, Clark Gregor Fishing, smoked and vacuum packed for us. I highly recommend this!.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Geese, black swans and ducks all over the place. They come right up close to you for bread. Didn't do anything on the lake but plenty available.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“a nice walk around Lake Rotorua.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Amazing scenes & sight seeing.... You must go to believe... New Zealand is very well kept in cleanness, upgrade the roads etcc... I suggested a lot how my friends & i did... Feel free who wish any info.. that's why we are travelers.. Share the experience

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.